We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really nice for a special occasion”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for our 25th anniversary. Got a free upgrade to an extra decadent room from the management; much appreciated. Stunning room and beautiful food. Only a five minute walk to the centre. Great welcome from the staff and shown all round the hotel. I wouldnt pay the full rate but got a half price deal online so well chuffed. Best service weve had. Brilliant

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddawidd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    101
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
57
409
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Husband surprised me by taking me here on the night of our anniversary. Wasn't even out of the car and we were greeted with a huge smile and the door being held open for us.
Our room was huge and very comfortable.
We got an upgrade where we had a hot tub and sauna outside our patio doors which made it even more special for us.
We didn't have an evening meal there but we did have breakfast which was 1st class, very tasty.
Hotel was just a 10 min walk from the city centre with plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your review. I am delighted to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to make every guests stay feel special, and I am pleased that you were able to appreciate this. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had been to Rocpool Reserve for a meal three years ago, the food was really good but the service was poor, so hadn't gone back. We were planning out for a meal last night, so thought we would try again. The Valentines menu was still available, for a set price of £45 per person, it looked good so we went for that. When returning the menus to the waitress, we noticed on the bottom of the menus, that a 10% discretionary service charge would be added to the bill, why should a "10% tip" for service be added before you have had the service? As from our last visit to the restaurant, the food was lovely, absolutely no complaints there, but after placing our order (which they were slow to come and take), our wine seemed to take an age to arrive (other tables were being set at the same time for other diners to come to, and their wine was already at their tables). After the meal, we asked for the bill, all the tables around us seemed to be getting cleared or served, but no one seemed to be interested in taking payment we had to ask if we paid here or through in the bar?

I am not a big "tipper" by any means, as I believe everyone is employed to carry out a job, and are paid for the job they do, but if I feel I have had service of a level above "standard" I am willing to leave a "tip". The service we received last night would not have been left a "tip", but maybe the staff already knew it was in the bag, as it is added to the bill anyway.

I would have scored our night 3 1/2 out of 5, but I don't seem to be able to. Very disappointed again, and I'm afraid, we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S16_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Please be advised that I have passed on your positive comments to our kitchen team, all of whom appreciate every piece of positive feedback provided.
Our aim at Rocpool and Chez Roux is to provide each guest with a luxurious and relaxing experience, which is something most guests do enjoy. Certainly, had we have known you were anticipating a faster service we would have endeavoured to have provided this in order for you to have departed in the time which you had expected.
Payment of a bill is certainly not something we would ever rush, though you most certainly should not have felt that you needed to ask where to make payment.
Our 10% discretionary service charge is by no means compulsory. We do advise that is discretionary in order for each guest to feel as comfortable as our staff do to remove this from a bill upon request.
Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, please do tell of us any particular time requirements which you may have and we will accommodate you with pleasure.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Where do you start....from the moment we arrived and were greeted at the reception by welcoming staff, to our final farewells on the doorsteps, we were treated as if the staff and management had decided that we were VIPs.
They all were attentive, without being overbearing, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had booked the balcony room, which was superb, with the jacuzzi hot tub, which was secluded but still offered views over the river Ness, and this was pure indulgence, but worth going the extra £££.
We had one evening meal in the hotel and this was a delight and we dined regally on local fare.
Breakfast both mornings were a good selection, especially the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs.
All in all, this hotel will be a " first choice" if we ever visit Inverness in the future..

Room Tip: Room No. 5 is the balcony & jacuzzi suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markovansparko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your extremely positive review based on your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
In our eyes, as soon as you step foot through the door and onto our infamous Red Carpet, each guest is the most important of VIP's. It is with pleasure that we aim to treat each guest like royalty and have them departing feeling relaxed and rejuvenated after a blissful retreat from the real world.
I am thrilled to hear that we will be your first choice in Inverness and myself and the Rocpool Team very much look forward to your future return.
Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We are just back from a one night stay in the Rocpool. It was amazing. The Check in was very smooth, told us everything we needed to know and there was no fuss at all. The room was beautiful with everything you need and more. We enjoyed some cocktails and nibbles in the bar area before having a great meal in Chex Roux. The service was wonderful, my only disappointment was not managing any dessert! Breakfast was equally as good and check out was very smooth. We will be back again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ec17381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed each aspect of your stay with us from our reservations team, to bar and restaurant and finally our talented kitchen staff. Here at Rocpool we all enjoy giving each customer a personal, yet professional level of service in order to simply enhance each guest's experience.
I sincerely hope that we will have the good fortune to welcome you back to Rocpool reserve in the future, perhaps next time you will be able to manage dessert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Booked a one night stay. We were met at the door immediately on arrival and taken to our room. We were delighted to be told we had been upgraded and found we had an outside balcony with jacuxzi. Room was lovely. Thouroughly enjoed the jacuzzi. Sadly did not eat dinner in hotel as we had other arrangements, but had breakfast. Again welcomed at door, shown to our table and served very promptly. Breakfast was excellent. Staff all very friendly and smartly dressed, nothing was too much trouble. Only disappointment for me was that I wasnt staying another night, and missed eating in the restaurant. Will just need to return on another occasion to rectify.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
At Rocpool, we believe it is all of the little things that add up to make a guest's stay enjoyable, be it a delicious meal, a surprise room upgrade, or even just opening a door to welcome each guest with a friendly smile. Customer satisfaction is what we strive to achieve, and it is with great pride that I read about your positive reaction to our hotel and staff.
I am certainly glad to hear that your only disappointment is not having had the pleasure of experiencing the masterpieces created by our Chez Roux chef's , but do feel that this is a great excuse for us to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Had a brilliant weekend at the Rocpool , Our room was amazing , The view from our balcony was beautiful , The hot tub was the icing on the cake . The food was amazing as were all the staff , their attention to detail was exceptional . A very special place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting , a relaxing , amazing weekend away .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
It is lovely to read your kind words and your appreciation of the Hot Tub in your room. All of our bedrooms are styled to give a sense of luxury, and we are delighted you were able to appreciate this. It is also great to hear of your positive experience in our Chez Roux restaurant, our hard-working Front of House and Kitchen team will be delighted to hear your positive response and we all sincerely hope that you think of Rocpool Reserve next time you need a well-deserved, relaxing and luxurious break away from the outside world.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing