We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Trip but Too Much Traffic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Trip but Too Much Traffic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have recently returned from a two day trip to Inverness, whilst there we stayed in the Rocpool. We purchased our accommodation via a daily discounts company and were therefore fortunate enough to get a 50% discount on standard rates. The hotel is contemporary and the rooms are quite luxurious, we stayed in Decadent Room One which has the bathroom downstairs from the bedroom. The breakfast was amazing....we are still dreaming about it. We had dinner in the hotel from our anniversary. The food is expensive but it was a different class, we would really recommend it. The point that did spoil it was that the hotel is on a very busy main road so the traffic is constant, even late at night. I did complain and was offered two alternative rooms but to be honest there did not seem to be a huge reduction in noise. A couple of smaller annoyances (potentially a bit pedantic)......as you enter the hotel there is a long red runner carpet which is not straight, they should be striving for perfection and sorting this. Also, there were really squeaky floorboards outside our hotel room, a bit annoying when you hear it late at night. All in all a nice break but I would not pay full rates for the hotel as I would not feel it is value for money. But with our 50% discount it was an enjoyable break. We may return but would specify a room away from the main road.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
I am pleased to hear of your positive reaction to the Chez Roux food which you experienced, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our kitchen team.
I do apologise for the disturbance caused by the road, we do advertise ourselves as a City centre hotel and im afraid that sometimes light traffic noise can be heard.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocpool Reserve.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    98
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
396
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February and it was just perfect.
We had one of the rooms with a hot tub (room 10 - try it) and lazing in it in the afternoon with a nice drink, prior to going for dinner was a great way to relax.
The pre dinner atmosphere and the atmosphere throughout our stay was very relaxed and all the staff were first class. Meals could not be faulted and breakfast in your room was a very nice way to start you day.
Any time you left or returned to your room it had been tidied - but you nver see any cleaning staff - how do they do that?
Hopefully we will be ale to visit again and i would recommend it as a treat for anyone.

Room Tip: Try room 10 it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayScot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review based on your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve Hotel.
Room 10 is certainly a stunning room, further complimented by its private hot tub and sauna, so I am glad to hear that you made the most of these amenities.
Our wonderful team of staff will be very pleased to read your positive comments and I will make sure to pass on your mention to our stealthy housekeeping team who work very hard to keep Rocpool Reserve looking pristine.
I do hope that you will be able to visit again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I went for a meal with my daughter and her boyfriend. It was brilliant. Although it is possible to have the short menu at £29 we had a la carte and we weren't disappointed. Surprisingly, we were most impressed by the styaff and the ambience. There was no pretension and much laughter. Just take a credit card!

Room Tip: Sorry, we just had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,
How delightful to hear of your positive experience with us in our Chez Roux restaurant, I am glad that we could exceed your expectations.
Our staff are our best asset and strive every day to provide a faultless 5 star service, whilst ensuring a relaxed and ambient atmosphere to further enhance each guests restaurant experience.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Chez Roux and maybe even possibly for a night in one our of luxurious rooms.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a cracking boutique hotel with friendly efficient staff.
Our room was in the basement. Large, clean and comfortable with a very stylish bathroom containing a large bath and separate shower cubicle.
Natural light is from a small transom window, looking along the floor of the car park. This didn't particularly bother us as we were only there one night.
Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. This is stylish tasty cooking.
It was our first experience of a Chez Roux restaurant, and we will be seeking out more if this is an example of their standards.
Above the basement rooms there are public rooms, and a main thoroughfare to reception and the bar. In the late afternoon we heard sounds of footsteps above. Maybe a child running up and down or staff re-arranging the
restaurant furniture.There was no such problem during the night.
We would definitely return, even if they initially got our bill wrong!

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms in case of noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review of your stay at Rocpool Reserve Hotel.
I must firstly apologise for the mishap with your bill, this is certainly not within our usual standard of service and should certainly not happen. I am aware that this was fixed immediately for you, so I hope that you departed the hotel in good spirits..
I hope that the positive aspects of your stay will see you return to Rocpool Reserve in the future, in which case I will do my utmost to ensure a perfect stay for you and your partner,
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here shortly before Christmas we live on the Isle of Lewis wishing to combine a romantic and shopping weekend. This is a wonderful hotel, absolutely fantastic room, staff very friendly and helpful, cannot praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay at Rocpool Reserve Hotel.
I remember your visit fondly and am so glad that we could provide you with the romantic break which you wished for.
I look forward to welcoming you once again to Rocpool Reserve.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and perfect service! Although I have a few niggles about the room. For a 5 star hotel I shouldn't have to complain about anything....
We stayed in room 8 - there was a brown stain (damp patch) on the roof by the door which I should not expect to see in a luxury hotel. Also all we could hear through the night was water dripping by the window, not sure if it was from a blocked drain pipe?? Also the room above us was an open tv like room for quests and most of the time all we could hear was stomping feet and the floor boards squeaking. The bathroom was perfect although the shower door seemed to not stay shut properly which resulted in water on the floor. Overall a perfect stay, all staff were very friendly and met all are needs. But for me the few things I've mentioned above I do NOT expect to see in a 5star hotel especially for the amount of money that it cost.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K20SPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Rocpool Reserve.
We take all feedback on board and it is when we receive feedback such as yours that it allows us to sort out these little ‘niggles’ which impact on a guests stay, and allows us to improve on what we offer here at Rocpool Reserve.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocpool Reserve in the future.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed on recommendation from a friend. Not often do you find the personal and friendly service that this small boutique hotel has to offer, with the quality of food to match. Relaxing luxury! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on Rocpool Reserve Hotel.
How excellent to hear of your luxurious and relaxing stay with us, it was certainly our pleasure to provide you with our signature 5 star service and Chez Roux food and we very much look forward to your return visit.
Kind Regards,
Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing