We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Inverness”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed a couple of nights in this hotel with my son and was overall pleased with our stay. Inverness is not as great as a town as I was expecting but a great starting point for beautiful excursions and sceneries in northern Scotland. First our room was comfortable, well furnished with all the amenities. On the negative note, our room was on a lower ground level on the side of the road and we could hear the cars passing by and the road is quite busy until late at night and early in the morning. A double pane window would be welcomed. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and professional. Service was 5 stars and the restaurant is worth it's reputation. We had dinner twice and the food was delicious. Breakfast is the best one I had in Scotland and perfect. I will definitely stay at the Rocpool when in Inverness and can only compliment the staff and recommend this hotel. I suggest however for the future guest that they ask for a room not on the side of the road if they are light sleepers as I am.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank talamenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Rocpool Reserve and the meal you had in our Chez Roux restaurant.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to the extent you did and you are more than welcome back when you decide to visit the Inverness area for a second time.

I appreciate your comments with regards to the road noise due to the location of some of the rooms but you are very much correct when you say that it dies down in the evening. We feel however that we are able to compensate for this possible inconvenience by offering a very high level of accommodation. Happily, this is something that you kindly mention in your review and believe you received whilst staying.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we look forward to you having a possible return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    99
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
56
399
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The service and amenities at the Rocpool combine to make this one of the most relaxing and interesting holidays my husband and I have had. The staff are very eager to help and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Little tips about restaurants (all of which turned out to be different and splendid in their own way), arranging for a wonderful tour guide, organizing taxis, and, of course, the delicious food all make this a very special trip. The rooms were spotless and spacious, with good heat, room service, etc. I really cannot rave enough about our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your experience had at Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux with the Tripadvisor community.

It is very important that we don't just serve wonderful food with service to match, but offer that all round experience such as information of our surroundings. I am happy to read that upon your request of this information, we were able to deliver to a level that made your experience of Rocpool Reserve that little bit more special.

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great evening, everything was excellent, from the minute we arrived to be warmly greeted, the special touches in bar for drinks, i.e. olives and nibbles, then taster, then to restaurant, the meal was amazing. We had set menu, the presentation was a work of art and the taste was delicious. I have no negative comments as the whole dining experience was exquisite. Thank you for a wonderful evening, i felt very special. Next trip to Inverness we shall stay at rocpool reserve too, i cant recommend highly eneough. *****

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. It is always good to read that our guests enjoy their dinning experience as our team of highly trained chefs work tirelessly to create some fantastic looking, but of course, fantastic tasting dishes.

We hope to have you back in the not too distant future and as you mention, perhaps for a stay over to complete the experience.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for one night with an itison.com voucher in a decadent room.
The location is great for walking into town as it's very central. The room was beautiful, fantastic size and lovely decor with a seperate living area. Only thing is the location is a bit funny with no gardens etc so looked onto a neighbouring house so not that private.
We dined in the restaurant which was excellent, highly recommended. And if you went for the set menu would be excellent value for a high end meal.
The bar is very nice if not very busy, typically just one or two couples on a Saturday night waiting to dine.
In the morning we had breakfast in our room which was lovely and at no extra cost.
The best thing about our stay was the staff. They couldn't have been more accommodating. We enquired at short notice about an in room massage, when that wasn't possible they arranged it for us at a nearby salon which was fantastic.
Overall was a wonderful stay. Would have been perhaps a bit too pricey in our view without a voucher/special offer though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for deciding to write such a lovely review of your stay at Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. At Rocpool Reserve we strive for excellence in all areas and aspects of the Hotel in order that we may receive such accolades as you have offered in your review. I am fortunate enough to have a wonderful team behind me and if not for them, Rocpool Reserve may not be as highly regarded as you or others. I thank you for your comments with regards to the staff and I will pass them on.

All the staff at Rocpool Reserve hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Looking for a lunch venue we decided to try this Roux establishment. Location very convenient, front of house staff highly trained, facilities high quality but sadly, food below the standard expected from an establishment of this standing

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I wish to thank you for deciding to join Rocpool Reserve for the afternoon. There is a lot of choice in terms of where to dine in Inverness so to be first on your thoughts is wonderful. I am indeed pleased to read that you noted the high level of service that we wish to portray at Rocpool Reserve. I will pass these comments on to the team for their benefit. I am of course very saddened to read that the food wasn’t to your expected standard. Within our Chez Roux restaurant and under the close guidance of Albert Roux OBE KFO, we wish to produce an outstanding standard of cuisine. We are able to boast that we have some of the finest produce that Scotland has to offer and along with our team of highly skilled and trained Chefs, we wish to promote not just Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux but Scottish cuisine mixed with a Classic French style as a whole. Of course, my sincere apologies that on your recent visit, this wasn’t evident. I do hope that in the not too distant future, you will be able to join Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux for a better experience.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen-shire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the Rocpool Reserve and can only think of one word to sum it up. Awesome!

I booked the hot tub room, room 10, as a surprise present for my girlfriend. And it was everything we could have dreamt of. The service received was amazing. From the moment we parked the car the staff couldn't do enough for us.

Room was fantastic, the hot tub was just amazing.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night and it was simply out of this world.

We will definitely be returning later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reply with regards to your visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux. I have to agree, the hot tub rooms are very special and that little something different for any occasion. I am happy to read that you also took the opportunity to dine in our Chez Roux Restaurant and it was enjoyed so much.

I look forward to you delivering on your word of a return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Second visit to the hotel. Can't fault it in any way. Stayed 2 nights in a chic room and had breakfast in bed both days. Effortless service that was attentive but not overbearing. Breakfast each day was gorgeous. As for the cheese soufflé - can only describe it as eating cheese flavoured clouds!! Looking forward to returning at New Year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve and I thank you kindly for reviewing your stay.
Breakfast in bed is a rare treat which I am glad you made the most of during your stay and enjoyed the food prepared by our fantastic Roux Chef’s, hopefully setting you up for your days of exploring Inverness and the surrounding area.
You have certainly described our Cheese Soufflé in the best way I could imagine and I hope you can look forward to enjoying it once again during your stay with us at New Year as much as we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
David Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#4 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing