We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Okay but...”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First the good.

The hotel was clean, in good condition and the room we had was very quiet. The staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiast and it was an easy walk into town.

Now the not so good.

The hotel was significantly overpriced. By the time we arrived, we had already stayed at several 5 star hotels in Ireland and Scotland and, while this one was nice, it was probably GBP 150 nice at best not the GBP 220 starting price it had. The food in the restaurant was pretty good but the service was uneven and slow. Again, I felt it was a little pricey for what you got and other restaurants in town were a better bet.

The only room that had any kind of a view was the one we were given. We had booked a basic room and were "triple" upgraded to a room with a large deck and and broken down hot tub. We peeked in to the room category we had actually booked and it was probably a better layout and only lacked the deck with the view. Otherwise, I would say it was a more desirably room unless you planned on spending the majority of your time outside of it.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the Extra Decadent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhny2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

I am saddened to read that you feel your experience wasn’t to the high standard we wish all guests to experience when visiting Rocpool Reserve.

Your comments regarding the staff and cleanliness of the hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to them.

Pricing of both the hotel and restaurant are very important to us and both are monitored regularly against other local hotels and restaurants. As there is no other 5 star establishment in Inverness, we gauge our rates against our nearest 4 star competitor which don’t offer many rooming options for as low as £150 so we feel our starting rate of £220 is very competitive and falls in line with our more elaborate product.

Similar can be said with regards to the Chez Roux restaurant. As an avid diner in the Inverness area myself, I take the time to reflect on what the other local restaurants with like-minded standards have to offer. This time, we fall in the same pricing bracket, if not slightly cheaper but manage to offer a more intricate, balanced and overall finer product.

I must apologize for the hot tub not working during your stay. When we can, we like to offer an upgrade to make the Rocpool Reserve experience even more special. With extreme short notice, it became apparent that the hot tub wasn’t going to be operational. Regardless of this, we felt it would be a shame to deny you a triple upgrade to a noticeably larger room than expected and with a private outdoor terrace overlooking river ness and the outer city.

Should you have requested another room, we would have of course done our utmost to accommodate to help ensure an enjoyable stay.

I thank you for your helpful comments and I hope the issues raised don’t stop you from returning in the future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    101
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
58
411
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts,UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here at the start and the end of a short trip to explore the Highlands and had 2 different rooms, both very comfortable with interesting features like the downstairs bathroom and air con to save opening the window and hearing the traffic noise. For a change a hotel too that has really excellent beds that you can sleep in, unlike so many that forget this is a basic they should supply. Manager and staff were really friendly and helpful from arrival in the car park to paying and leaving. They sorted out meals in the restaurant, drinks in the bar and provided a wonderful breakfast. When we had an issue with the booking agent on the 2nd stay the issue was sorted in a totally professionally way with no fuss at all, really great work. The decor is excellent, facilities 1st class, great location and we would happily stay here again.
Having the Roux restaurant a few yards from your room is great too, really good food and not too expensive wine (by London standards). All together a real top class experience.

Room Tip: If you are a bit older or creaky on your legs at night maybe avoid the rooms with a downstairs loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rocpool Reserve.

I am so happy that we were able to offer the high standard of facility and service that I expect all guests to receive, not just on your first visit, but on your return also.

You are correct, a very basic rule of any hotel, of any standard, is to have comfortable beds. We were fortunate enough to have all 11 bedrooms upgraded with new mattresses not so long ago. The amount of requests I receive for the make of the mattress is immense and a good sign that we have an exceptionally high standard of mattress.

I am happy to read that you are so impressed with the outcome I managed to produce due to the problem with your booking agent. It goes without saying that we will accommodate and provide the best possible conclusion in such a circumstance, especially when it is of no fault of your own.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the staff with regards to the meals you enjoyed so much. We are fortunate enough to have Mr Albert Roux on our side who has nothing but the guest's experience on the forefront of his mind.

I do hope your able to visit Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always wanted to stay here and it didn't disappoint. We were greeted in the car park by one of the front of house staff which was a lovely touch. Even better that we were upgraded to a suite with the most amazing bathroom downstairs! Can't comment on the restaurant for dinner but the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and beautifully presented. Look forward to a return visit soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely words of praise with regards to your recent visit to Rocpool Reserve.

It is very welcoming to read that after your long awaited visit to Rocpool Reserve, you didn't leave disappointed.

In your review, you describe the room you had which is room number 1. You are very much correct that the bathroom does possess an amazing bathroom. Forgetting about the Extra Decadent rooms with hot tubs, I think room 1 is my personal favourite on the basis of the bathroom. I am happy you enjoyed and appreciated the complimentary upgrade.

Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were lucky to arrive in Inverness on a gloriously sunny day. All we really wanted to do was to relax in our own company (my wife and I). We had splurged and booked an "Extra Decadent" room, and Room 5 was just that, filling the bill for us perfectly. The bed was huge and comfy. The bathroom was very well laid out with a waterfall shower and an extra large bath. Then there was the private balcony with hot tub where we spent the next couple of hours catching the sun, drinking champagne, and being at peace - magnificent.
We had not booked to dine in the hotel as we wanted to leave our options open till the last minute, and as it was such a lovely evening we wanted to walk down into town. The manager was very helpful in booking us a table at the "Rocpool" in town (no connection seemingly) which was a 15 minute stroll, and where the food was magnificent.
Just a great night away from start to finish (the breakfast in bed the next day was also fantastic).

Room Tip: Room 5 (Extra Decadent) will have the sun from midday till sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you first of all for choosing to stay at Rocpool Reserve and secondly for such a pleasant review of your time here.

I'm so happy that you managed to enjoy Room 5 to the extent that you did. It truly is a lovely room and for it to offer a terrace and private hot tub, it really does leave a "WOW" factor with guests.

I hope you'll be able to return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff at this hotel is beyond excellent! They were not only attentive and friendly, they treated my like one of the family. There are only 11 rooms in this hotel, so the whole staff knows which room is yours, so there is never any need to sign for drinks or food in the excellent restaurant.
The room was very comfortable, with a fireplace and heated towel rack.
The food in the restaurant was wonderful, easily the best I've had in Scotland.
The only very minor suggestion concerns the stairs in my room: the bottom stair was not very visible, especially at night, and I almost missed it once. Perhaps it could be lighted? Or carpeted like the rest of the stairs? Otherwise, my stay in this hotel was as close to perfect as it could get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La-arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very valuable feedback and kind words.

At Rocpool Reserve, we like to think of it as "a home away from home" so to read that you found our hospitality to be similar to how you'd be treated by a family member, is quite the accolade indeed.

With Rocpool Reserve being a small 11 bedroom boutique hotel, we feel it very much within our capabilities to offer a more personal style of service that you may not always receive elsewhere. I am so happy that this impression was noted by yourself.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the neat future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a road trip around Scotland.
From the personal welcome in the car park to the settling of the bill our stay was perfect. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable and the food was excellent.
We stayed in room 6 and didn't notice any noise pointed out by a previous reviewer.
I left a pair of cuff links on the bedside table and they posted them to me without delay. Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful and very much appreciated review of your stay at Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux.

It is because of feedback such as yours that we continue to go from strength to strength in providing the highest of standards possible for all guests who visit.

I will make sure to share your kind review with my team who I'm sure will be as thankful for it as I am.

I hope to welcome you back at Rocpool Reserve in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moray
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just back from a lovely break at this gorgeous hotel. To start with we were greeted by a member of staff with a brolly as it was raining. Showed to our complimentary upgraded room and it was stunning. The attention to detail was amazing. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was gorgeous, and cocktails in the bar. Compared to cocktails in a bar in town this was amazing, and again the small details made it even nicer. Once we retired to our room we found the beds turned down, a card on the bed for breakfast in bed and also water and shortbread. Breakfast - amazing! The best I have tasted. Even the check out was flawless, you really deserve the fantastic reputation you had, keep it up. You made a birthday girl very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portaventuralovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with Tripadvisor the praise kindly given with regards to your recent stay at Rocpool Reserve.

We believe very strongly that the little things and attention to detail are very important to every guest's stay so every effort is given to hopefully surpass expectations and offer an unrivalled service from check in to check out.

It is indeed a privilege to receive such a glowing report from you and indeed very pleasing that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room, to the bar area and of course the food.

It would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing