We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite food shines at this top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Exquisite food shines at this top hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A true luxury boutique with little competition in town. Whilst the hotel is excellent, the gem is Albert Roux's cuisine complemented by friendly and efficient service. A little out if the way but still within walking distance of the town centre and it's attractions, with easy road access

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review your visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux.

It goes without saying that we wish every guest who visits for Dinner, Lunch, Accommodation or even just for a look, to leave happy and feeling like they have experienced something special with then the hope that there will be a return in the near future for much more of the same.

Thank you so much for your generous comments and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    101
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
59
411
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved this hotel. The room was large and comfortable, with a huge bathroom (with an awesome shower), and a private hot tub and sauna. The staff is excellent, making sure you do not want for anything, special shout out to David who was just incredible! The food is so delicious and freshly prepared!! The dining room staff was so friendly and attentive!!
Our stay there was perfect!! This is a place we would definitely return to!!

Room Tip: The bottom floor room with the hot tub and sauna!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with Tripadvisor.

The team as a whole are very dedicated, passionate and hardworking with the hope that such efforts are going to make the Rocpool experience that much more special and memorable. From your kind words, it seems that we have achieved this for you.

There are many aspects of Rocpool Reserve that we wish to show excellence and one aspect is very much the service. We like to feel that we offer a formal service but one that isn't obtrusive but still attentive and friendly. The comments received regarding the service you were offered are very much appreciated.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Rocpool Reserve in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I and two other couples stayed here for one night after walking the Great Glen Way.
After reading some mixed reviews I was a little nervous that I would be wasting money on accommodation and for the meal at Chez Roux restaurant.
I need not have worried as I found that this is a very good boutique luxury hotel with the level of service one would expect and that the rooms provide the luxury amenity commensurate with the amount paid.
I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of meal at Chez Roux. We had an excellent dinner and lovely breakfast.
Having dined in many countries over a number of years at some pretty nice places it is my view that Chez Roux (along with some other places we dined at during our recent Scottish holiday including the Lovat, Fort Augustus, Monochyle Mhor, Balquhidder and Loch Ness Lodge, Brachia) can match it with any of the best dining options that I have experienced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMORGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words with regards to your visit to Rocpool Reserve.

After the exertion of walking The Great Glen Way, I feel it very important that you received a long awaited special experience and I am so happy that you chose Rocpool Reserve to offer this and that we delivered.

It is very important to us that we know a guest feels as though they are receiving the service, experience and overall value for the money being spent and I am happy to read that you did.

Your comments regarding the food are very much appreciated and I am looking forward to passing these kind words on to our Chef and Mr. Roux.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you once again and kind regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overrall we had a lovely weekend, it was quiet, the service excellent ( greeted at door, great advice on places to eat and drink , perfect location for the city and our meal at Chez Roux was lovely.. ( in fact that was the great surprise for us that the food we had experienced in Inverness was so good and so reasonably priced) the room was clean and big, toiletries Thierry Mugler. Our friends had a nice bonus in that they had a free upgrade ( we checked in late ) and got a room with a hot tub on their balcony so it was very chilled to be out in the late evening having a 'hot' dip with champers.... but was it worth it ? I would have to say no having stayed in some lovely hotels on my travels... it is a lovely hotel but starting to get a little tired and its in the little details.

Room Tip: Our room was lower ground and quiet but looked onto the car park so kept the blinds down (9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley_md_memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for deciding to review your visit and stay at Rocpool Reserve.

It is with great appreciation and thanks that I read your wonderful comments regarding your welcome, food and service received whilst here at Rocpool. I'll be sure to pass these comments on to the staff who will I'm sure be equally delighted.

Where possible, we try to make a stay even more special and to do so, we feel a complimentary upgrade may aid in the overall positive experience. I am happy that the group as a whole were able to enjoy the benefits of this upgrade.

Even though you had a lovely weekend, found it peaceful, experienced excellent service and had a lovely meal in our Chez Roux restaurant, I am disappointed that you felt it wasn't worth the value. With this being said, I hope this doesn't put you off making a return visit in the future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at the Rocpool, and would happily commend it to anyone visiting Inverness. Very well located, about 5 minutes walk to the centre of town, very comfortable rooms, friendly staff, on site parking & the restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best meals of our (7 week) trip. Really pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rocpool Reserve and chez Roux.

It is always pleasant to read of a guest's enjoyment with regards to their time spent with us. At all times we wish to give and offer perfection from every aspect of the Hotel and I am so happy to read that it seems we've managed to achieve this with yourself.

Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros Food delicious. Staff very nice. Room clean and bed comfortable.

Cons Extra decadent room on small side for price paid, was disappointed on arrival nothing above average to make it decadent . Paintwork on balcony/terrace needs attention, looking worn. Cold showers in morning as no hot water in hotel but still charged full price. Inverness was a great place to visit but sorry Rocpool the premier inn family room is more spacious and just as comfortable for a third of the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Rocpool Reserve and Chez Roux.

Your kind words regarding the staff, food and cleanliness of the room are very well received and appreciated. Thank you.

I am saddened to read that you found your experience less than the perfect we aim to provide. As on the day, I can only again apologise for the problem encountered with the hot water. Once a fellow guest had made us aware of the situation, action was of course taken and the hot water was then freely available with in 10 minutes. Not ideal by any means but hopefully this unforeseen issue didn't ruin your time here too much.

We grade our rooms by the measurements obtained as a whole and the decision to grade your room as an Extra Decadent was made solely on larger measurements taken compared to other rooms. When taking in to account the size of the room, bathroom and balcony overlooking the outer City, which then also houses your own private hot tub, we feel the price reflects fairly on the standard received.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First the good.

The hotel was clean, in good condition and the room we had was very quiet. The staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiast and it was an easy walk into town.

Now the not so good.

The hotel was significantly overpriced. By the time we arrived, we had already stayed at several 5 star hotels in Ireland and Scotland and, while this one was nice, it was probably GBP 150 nice at best not the GBP 220 starting price it had. The food in the restaurant was pretty good but the service was uneven and slow. Again, I felt it was a little pricey for what you got and other restaurants in town were a better bet.

The only room that had any kind of a view was the one we were given. We had booked a basic room and were "triple" upgraded to a room with a large deck and and broken down hot tub. We peeked in to the room category we had actually booked and it was probably a better layout and only lacked the deck with the view. Otherwise, I would say it was a more desirably room unless you planned on spending the majority of your time outside of it.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the Extra Decadent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhny2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

I am saddened to read that you feel your experience wasn’t to the high standard we wish all guests to experience when visiting Rocpool Reserve.

Your comments regarding the staff and cleanliness of the hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to them.

Pricing of both the hotel and restaurant are very important to us and both are monitored regularly against other local hotels and restaurants. As there is no other 5 star establishment in Inverness, we gauge our rates against our nearest 4 star competitor which don’t offer many rooming options for as low as £150 so we feel our starting rate of £220 is very competitive and falls in line with our more elaborate product.

Similar can be said with regards to the Chez Roux restaurant. As an avid diner in the Inverness area myself, I take the time to reflect on what the other local restaurants with like-minded standards have to offer. This time, we fall in the same pricing bracket, if not slightly cheaper but manage to offer a more intricate, balanced and overall finer product.

I must apologize for the hot tub not working during your stay. When we can, we like to offer an upgrade to make the Rocpool Reserve experience even more special. With extreme short notice, it became apparent that the hot tub wasn’t going to be operational. Regardless of this, we felt it would be a shame to deny you a triple upgrade to a noticeably larger room than expected and with a private outdoor terrace overlooking river ness and the outer city.

Should you have requested another room, we would have of course done our utmost to accommodate to help ensure an enjoyable stay.

I thank you for your helpful comments and I hope the issues raised don’t stop you from returning in the future.

Kind Regards,

David Robertson,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing