We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Excellent B&B "”
Review of Moyness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moyness House
Ranked #19 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“" Excellent B&B "”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We received a very warm friendly welcome from our hosts Jenny and Richard. I stayed at Moyness House for 3 nights with my wife,mum & dad and my mother in law for the Loch Ness marathon in September. The room was spacious and very comfortable,bathroom spotless with nice big fluffy towels. Breakfast in the mornings served by Richard was delicious and so much to choose from it set you up for the day ahead. I had a 06:45 breakfast on the Sunday morning as I was running the marathon and it was no problem for Richard to get up early to serve. Quiet location,short walk to the city centre. Warm, friendly and highly recommend B&B to stay at when in Inverness. We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEPOSTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    41
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
83
282
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Without a doubt, a lovely homely B & B. We stayed for four nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. Our room was spacious, comfortable and above all, so clean. The bathroom was an absolute treat - something which I personally appreciate very much when on holiday. Breakfast every morning was delicious, with a great choice for all. Its location is so central, 5 minutes walk into the city centre. I would definitely recommend Moyness House to anyone visiting Inverness. We were with our two young children who also thought Moyness House was the business!! Unlikely that we would even bother trying other B & B's in Inverness in the future, this was the one for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Jenny and Richard were wonderful hosts when we stayed here with our young family. They made us very welcome and advised us of great places to visit in the area. We were very comfortable and happy with all amenities, and the breakfasts were delicious! All in all a warm, friendly and relaxing place to stay....we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in many B & Bs, but our stay here convinced me that we really must do so more often. We received a warm and friendly welcome from our hosts Jenny and Richard, making us feel relaxed and right at home from the start. They provided us with all the information we needed about Inverness and its surrounds and were very helpful in offering their advice about which restaurants were best to frequent. Jenny's breakfasts were delicious, fresh and healthy and I loved the fruit salad with Greek yoghurt. Our room was perfect - spacious, well appointed and so comfortable that I slept better than I usually do while travelling - I think the quiet location also helped contribute to that. The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean and the thick, fluffy towels added a touch of luxury. It was just a short walk to the shops and restaurants so we hardly needed to use our car at all. All in all, our stay couldn't have been better - I would highly recommend this B & B to everyone. If we are ever back in Inverness, we will be staying here for sure!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here for one night after hiking the Great Glen Way.
B&B is located only a few minutes' walk from the centre of Inverness. Supermarket etc. is nearby.
Nice room with a very modern bathroom. Breakfast was good, no buffet - everything is served.
Coming in late was no problem and our delivered luggage was already brought to our room.
On our departure our friendly host gave us some useful hints about bus connections, scenic routes (by car) and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A perfect B&B to stay, from A to Z, starting with Richard & Jenny's warm welcome, through the wonderful Ness Soap products in the bathroom to the individually prepared breakfast (the fresh-cut fruit salad is just gorgeus :-) and the overall quality unrivalled).
Our bicycles were looked after and safely stored, too.
We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Our room - Morning Tide - was one of the smaller ones, but perfectly ok. Bathroom with bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heike1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This was a fantastic B&B. We had a large, spacious room and bathroom. The location was quite central with only a short walk into town and off street parking available. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth19m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#18 of 231 in Inverness
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 231 in Inverness
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyness House

Property: Moyness House
Address: 6 Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyness House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful and immaculately restored Victorian house was once the home of acclaimed Scottish author, Neil Gunn, and is now a highly regarded bed and breakfast inn, offering high quality accommodation and warm hospitality. Moyness House is ideally located in a quiet residential street, less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre and many excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moyness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moyness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing