We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Food at Decent Prices in Warm Friendly surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Auctioneers

The Auctioneers
Ranked #57 of 252 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They keep 'em busy all day at this roomy city-centre pub built as the name suggests, on the site of an auctioneers (and before that, a church). From the regulars calling in for breakfast to the upbeat weekend revellers dancing till late, this is a bar that offers something for everyone. Whether you're enjoying your Belhaven Extra Cold over a meal, joining your mates to watch LIVE SPORT on one of the 12 television screens or meeting a fellow shopper for an afternoon coffee, The Auctioneers will make you feel at home
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Decent Food at Decent Prices in Warm Friendly surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

After a recent tour of a northern Distillery we were changing trains in Inverness, and had sometime to kill, so we went looking for a place to eat that was reasonable, yet a decent place.

Nice and warm inside on a cold night, and the service and food quality was very respectable and decent also.

Not sure what this place is like at the weekend but during the week it was acceptable, and we enjoyed our dinner before heading back for our next train..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    83
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ended up here tonight by mistake as the place we had planned to go was shut. Visiting from Australia I decided to try the haggis for entree as I had never had it before. It was delicious I loved it, so much flavour, for main I had the chicken and chorizo pasta which came with garlic bread it was so yummy. My husband had the ribs for entree and the bad boy (or possibly may have been called big boy) it was massive and exactly what he was after. We were looked after by two nice friendly guys and we sat in a booth which had a tv. Loved it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

In area for weekend and called in here for a drink (surprisingly inexpensive). As there were menus on the table we had a look and decided to stay for dinner. Both the sea bass and the mixed grill were perfectly cooked and very tasty. Staff were cheerful and helpful. Atmosphere very relaxed. Prices of wine and food were very reasonable. Would highly recommend paying a visit if in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auctioneers, Manager at The Auctioneers, responded to this review, 12 March 2016
Hi
Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your visit hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not sure?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have visited 3 times. First visit was good the fish looked lovely so I took my husband next visit who thought it was very good value and the fish again was large and we were both pleased with our meal.
On our third visit unfortunately the fish was small and curled up with 10 chips and a few peas. Thought we had found a regular haunt but probably want get my hubby to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avril W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A favorite of Me and of the lads for the football on the weekend. provides decent priced drink and good facilities to watch the sports on. The food is also top notch as me and my friend cleared our plate in what must have been record time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJMwasHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Auctioneers also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Auctioneers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing