We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Golfing paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Muilean

Muilean House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Muilean House
terrace area Muilean patio doors with burnside view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Muilean House
terrace area
Muilean patio doors with burnside view
Muilean woodlands
cosy twin room
kitchen dining area with panoramic views
large master bedroom with ensuite shower and bathroom with large walk in wardrobe
view from bedroom
lounge area with double bed settee
Sunny Lounge area
small decking area leading from lounge and front doorway
downstairs back bedroom rear facing onto garden and woodland
bedroom 2 with panoramic views of dolphins in moray firth
bedroom 3 rear facing onto garden and woodland area
master bedroom with king size and single bed.  Fantastic views of Inverness area
master bedroom en-suite with bath
3rd bedroom en-suite
living room with outstanding views
kitchen dining area with panoramic views of Moray Firth dolphins
dining area with beautiful views over Moray Firth and towards Inverness
back garden with new decked seating area
front entrance hall
living room with exceptional views to Moray Firth and beyond to Castle Stuart Golf Course
bedroom 2 en-suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CameronsF...
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Golfing paradise”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a weekend golfing around the Morayshire Coast and used this house as our base again. Our group had a fabulous time here, with such spacious rooms and plenty of en suites that no one got in each other's way. We will be booking again next year.

This is the third time I have stayed in the property in the last year or so, and I continue to be delighted by the very high quality of the accommodation and facilities. The owners continue to develop the site and there is now nice sheltered deck area for BBQs and a double garage with plenty of parking for several cars. The house is kept impeccably clean, and we wouldn't have know there was a hen party staying in it just before us!

The house is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Firth, and just a short trip into Inverness. Using taxis to and fro into town is no bother either if you choose not to drive. Caroline is very attentive and if there is anything needed that isn't already there I am sure she would do her best to supply. We forgot to ask whether there is any plan to have wifi in the house, as that would be a useful additin. But there is now a very good 3G mobile signal, so no need to feel cut off unless you want!

Thanks again Caroline for providing such a beautiful place in the highlands. See you next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with beautiful views”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My 'Hens' recently booked this beautiful home for my Hen Party. All was a surprise so when I arrived at Muilean I was absolutely blown away at the beauty of the home and location and couldn’t believe we had it to ourselves for the whole weekend.
The house is situated just outside of Inverness and a short taxi ride or drive away.
The home is decorated well and the kitchen is to die for. All rooms were impeccably clean, comfortable and spacious.
The views are out of this world and the big open windows really accentuate this.
I didn’t meet Caroline until the end of the weekend as everything was arranged as a surprise but when we did meet she was lovely.
I absolutely loved staying here, my friends and I are already planning another trip with our partners and family. We really did not want to leave.
There really are no negatives that I can think of. Apart from if it had a hot tub, then it would be out of this world :)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmck0104
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I recently stayed with a large group of friends for a Hen Party and we had a brilliant time. Not only was the house amazing but the views were superb. The owner of the house was very accommodating and helpful. I would definitely recommend the property to any others as it was amazing and also was very well priced for what you get, in fact me and my friends are going to return to the house with our partners. The house was only a 5-10 min drive from the city centre of Inverness and was ideal for the Hen Party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luke c
Magor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made a good New year a great New year!!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Muilean over the New year period. 8 of us travelled and were all in agreement that this was the perfect. The house is of a great standard, the location is stunning and value superb.
Photo's do not do it justice and we felt at home from day one. The owners were very helpful. when we couldn't get the stove working they came to the house to take a look over a what is a busy period for all.

Rather than point out what is good about this place I tried to find a negative but honestly can't.
15 minutes from Inverness (£20 in taxi for 8) so not an issue if you want to go and sample a few Whiskey's......

In summary a real gem for people who are looking for value for money but are not willing to sacrifice quality.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camy30
1 review
“This amazing house exceeded our expectations. We will definitely return.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Muilean house is really beautiful. It is so big, clean & functional and we all felt at home straight away. It is a hidden gem, although trying to find it in the dark wasn't so easy, but a phone call to Caroline and she put us on the right track. Can't wait to return, thanks again Caroline.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable house and fabulous location
Liked least: Some outside areas appear unfinished and not particularly safe for very young children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2013
We are at present building a large double garage for our larger groups of guests who may have 3-4 vehicles, boats, canoes and other water sport equipment. Whilst we have guests staying we do not do any of the building work. Due to the busy first year we have had and July being the peak holiday season where the house is fully booked, for safety reasons the garage area is cordoned off with fencing. I have noted on the website that there is open sea views to the front of the house with a beach and also a natural babbling burn coming down the boundary of the property. The woodlands and rear garden is terraced on a slope. Therefore young children would require to be supervised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westhill, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: The property didn't offer wi-fi/internet access
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$277
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing