We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
34 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Cottage 1 Bedroom 1 Bathroom Sleeps 2 Ask about pets Save
Bothy in July
Bothy in July
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
gallery bedroom
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Logs
side of Bothy in u-shape
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
View of Cottages
Bothy front door
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peggy3019
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Cosy Cottage

We arrived at around 4pm on the Saturday to be met by home made cookies on the table, Barbara soon popped over and explained how a few things worked.
The cottage its self was cosy with all you could need for a weeks stay - we just wished the weather was a bit colder so we could light the fire.
The location is good, 9 miles east of Inverness on the A96 within 15 minutes your on the A9 heading north towards Thurso or south towards Aviemore, within 25 minutes you're driving along the banks of Loch Ness. A nice quiet location, close enough to amenities such as restaurants or supermarkets.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liddy L
Newport-On-Tay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
A long overdue return visit.

Ours was a return visit, this time without our family and after a gap of 14 years.
The standard and quality was just as good and Barbara and family were just as welcoming. The weather was at it's best and showed off the area at its finest. Lots to do and see in the area and loads of information provided at the cottage. We had a very relaxing week and will certainly try not to wait another 14 years to return.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: No change in super quality from previous visit 14 years ago
Liked least: We couldn't stay for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frm1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
Absolutely Wonderful

The Bothy was an absolute gem of a fine in beautiful rural scottish countryside. The cottage is absolutely adorable with everything you could need, beautiful walks on your door step and a whole host of activities a short drive away.

Barbara and her parents were extremely welcoming and approachable and we could have asked for a better weekend away.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Kearney...
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
The perfect place

What a wonderful find! The bothy and its surroundings are beautiful. The cottage has everything you need and is wonderfully clean. Barbara the owner is very helpful and friendly, and is at hand if you require anything further. It is ideally situated for many site seeing adventures. Cawder Castle is a must see! We had a most relaxing holiday, and can't wait to be back later in the year. I definitely highly recommend a stay here you won't be in any way disappointed. Thank you so much Barbara!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJH21
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
Fantastic Cottage in a Fantastic Location!

We stayed on the Bothy in February for a long weekend and had a fantastic holiday. Barbara and her family were very welcoming. The bothy is in a perfect location to explore and close to shops if you want to cook for yourself. (Which we did in the well equipped kitchen).
The log burner made it very homely and cosy, we hope to return soon.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and...
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
The definition of best!

You sit down and write all the features and equipment you would want to find in your ideal cottage for 2 plus 1 dog: location, peacefulness, accessibility, general location, standard of decor, furnishings and equipment (including log-burning stove with plenty of fuel!), helpfulness of owner, warmth of welcome, value for money etc. etc. etc. Now you rent the Bothy unseen. You go there and laugh so happily because you've just described it!

Thank you Barbara.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Too big a choice to select one.
Liked least: Too short a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania21...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
Perfect Highland Getaway

The Bothy was perfect as a holiday cottage for my boyfriend and I. Barbara and her family were so accommodating and welcoming, we felt very much at home. The Bothy is cosy and warm, a lovely place to return to after a day's adventure. We had everything that we could have possibly needed and with such beautiful weather, we felt very lucky. The kitchen had everything that we needed, even a roasting tin for a Sunday roast and an electric whisk to make biscuits. The stove and spiral staircase are beautiful features and we loved having our own little patio to have breakfast "al fresco". The closeness to Inverness itself is wonderful and the little towns and villages were a delight. We were also thankful that a Tesco was only a short drive away.
All in all, we had an absolutely idyllic holiday and would love to return to the Bothy sometime in the near future. Thanks again for the delicious shortbread! Absolutely recommend the Bothy to anyone.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.