We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing little cottage. Perfect for couples!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bothy in July
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
side of Bothy in u-shape
Logs
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
Bothy front door
View of Cottages
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RaduV6
1 review
“Amazing little cottage. Perfect for couples!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Bothy cottage last month in March and we enjoyed it so much! Great little cottage where you have absolutely everything you need (electric oven and hob, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge freezer, underfloor heating, wood burning stove, tv, hairdryer, iron and so on). The local area is absolutely wonderful.. perfect to get away from the hustle of everyday life. This is the perfect place to escape to for 2. We visited the local area like Nair, Fort George, Inverness, and then we visited the Cairngorms and the Highlands, Loch Ness,Isle of Skye and Edinburgh. We had such an amazing holiday! Agnes and Bruce were very helpful and welcoming. We haven`t managed to meet Barbara, however we are planning to return at some point as we really enjoyed the entire experience.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A cosy cottage for 2....perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It's comfortable and cute with everything you could need for your stay. Barbara and her family are very friendly and welcoming and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend here if you want to explore Inverness, Moray and higher Cairngorms. We had a lovely week- thank you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngryA...
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Angry Ant”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very quaint 1 bedroom cottage, joined to two others in a half a square shape, parking and you over look in the distance Inverness and seeing sometimes the planes arriving and departing...NO Noise factor in this or anything really!
Great sun setting (if in Summer even better) and a great place for a chair and suck on either a beer or wine to do so, has a washing machine, small dishwasher and all the mod cons in the kitchen and bathroom...all good...even bring your "iplod" with you! Bring your groceries along and enjoy. It's about a 10 minute drive into Inverness and 6 min drive to Narin for groceries at the co-op.
IF your elderly or have a bad back...this little cottage is NOT for you as they have a spiral narrow staircase that takes you UP to the loft bedroom...try the other two cottages attached...in all a pleasant and quite stay for a week

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Dear Angry Ant
Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and have you stay at Balblair Cottages. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and the amazing sunsets we get here in the Highlands. Best wishes, Barbara@BalblairCottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetP138
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little gem ”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week at Bothy Cottage. Great hosts, lovely location, very clean and quiet. Log burner and wood provided and a small patio area outside. Added extras included such as cleaning products, tea towels and crispy white bathroom towels. We would definitely recommend this place. Great for couple to just chill and relax. We will be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladnyl1
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Idyllic farm accomodation”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were given the opportunity to assess both the 1 and 2 bedroom units when we were offered an upgrade. Both were delightful, and we chose the 2 bedroom unit because the main bedroom was on the ground floor. Well maintained and very comfortable, with all facilities including a washing machine. Everything worked well. Views over the horse paddock and pasture, down to the Firth. On a working farm surrounded by countryside. Close to everything: Culloden, Cordor Castle, megalythic chambered tombs, Loch Ness, the Black Island, and of course, Inverness. Barbara our host left some Scottish edible treats for us. Much enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Cavendish, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to escape to for 2, very clean, well equipped and comfortable”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very clean, well equipped and comfortable, perfect for the two of us. Lovely and quiet location ideal for seeing a wide variety of places of interest by car. Barbara, the owner, was very helpful and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the situation was ideal for me, out in the country but not far from all faciltys
Liked least: Wi-Fi could have been better, but this is really a minor problem
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing