We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great display.”
Review of Castle Gallery

Castle Gallery
Ranked #27 of 87 things to do in Inverness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castle Gallery, described in the Independent newspaper as 'one of the best reasons to visit Inverness' shows landscape, figurative and abstract work by artists from Scotland and throughout Britain, with pieces by established artists and emerging talent. Exhibitions of contemporary paintings, original prints, sculpture, crafts and designer jewellery. Open Monday - Saturday 9.00 - 5.00.
Western Isles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great display.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A visit to the Castle Gallery is always a treat for us. We never fail to find something to enjoy and admire. The standards of the art and crafts skills are consistently high. You can relax and spend as long as you like looking round. There is no pressure on you to buy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegallery, Owner at Castle Gallery, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sandra
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us. We are glad that you enjoy our displays so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Denise and the team at Castle Gallery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Things to dream of”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I just love a wonder around the castle gallery. As well as all the gorgeous art on display I find it such a serene place, so usually save it until the end of a hectic shopping trip. So many lovely things to try not to buy, a great place for gifts and the staff are lovely too.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegallery, Owner at Castle Gallery, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, I suppose we are a quiet, aesthetic haven amidst the bustle of the city and we are more than happy for people to visit just for browse with no pressure to buy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I won't ever visit Inverness without a visit to the gallery. There's a wealth of items, and always something of interest, whether it be paintings, ceramics, jewellery...
A very friendly place too, and I always feel I can take as much time as I like to peruse the exhibition. Have bought items more than once, for myself as well as presents for others.
The gallery has a very good selection of contemporary artists, very interesting to follow their work over the years.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Birgitta559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegallery, Owner at Castle Gallery, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Inverness. I'm glad you like our selection of artists. We try to promote artists with a distinct aesthetic quality to their work (not run of the mill) and it is great to follow their careers and see them getting the recognition that they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

the gallery never fails. Denise chooses artists carefully and I ALWAYS go out coveting something I have seen. Occasionally I end up buying it anyway and worry about where to put it later! I may not like it all, but I know it is quality stuff and because of the range of stuff (big pictures to small trinkets) there is always something I will like. I have grown to like glass art more as a result of the stunning things I have seen there. Recommended!

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank thomasprag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegallery, Manager at Castle Gallery, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for recommendation. I like your style - buy now and worry about where to put it later! This way you will end up with a diverse, eclectic and very interesting collection of art in your house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Gallery”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I cannot praise this gallery too much. Excellent diverse stock, friendly, helpful, but not "pushy" staff. Great location near Inverness Museum and handy for Cafe 1!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank peenkodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegallery, Owner at Castle Gallery, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for your praise of the Castle Gallery. You are right - there are great places to eat on Castle Street including Café 1 and La Tortilla Asessina (we are regular visitors!). I think what makes this street so special is that all the shops and restaurants are locally owned, friendly and independent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Gallery also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Castle Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing