We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodge in a lovely setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Well equipped kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed Twin room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed
Twin room
Living room with TV, DVD and freeview
The view across to the west from living room
One of our local visitors
The local Reelig glen forest walks are just a 3 minute stroll from the door.
Even the tallest people will feel short next to the giants in the 'Fairy Glen'
Stunning local sunsets, although in summer they are rather late in the evening.
Views to the North with Ben Wyvis and its longer walks.
Local beaches have stunning views and plenty of room to exercise dogs (and children!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
karen_mal...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights early Oct 2015 with our two children and dog. We all had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys the outdoors. The lodge is cosy, very clean and comfortable with everything you need. The Tall Trees walk is just a short stroll away and we were lucky to hear the deer calling in the morning during our stay. We also had regular visits from a red squirrel. A lovely "away from it all" spot but still close enough to pop into Beauly for provisions in just a few minutes drive. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you all had a lovely time. It is definitely a great "away from it all" spot, enhanced by the surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grumpy-3G
DOVER
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge in beautiful rural setting.”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Four night stay in this very comfortable and well equipped lodge sited in a really beautiful rural woodland surrounding. All mod cons provided in this warm chalet.
Ideal for total relaxation with little in the way of interruptions. Lovely woodland and country setting on hand, ideal for walking and dogs alike.
Inverness approx. 8 miles away for shopping and services. Many vistor attractions in the area although a car is essential.
A most enjoyable stay and would recommend this lodge. We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Off the beaten track!
Liked least: No internet access and poor mobile phone reception.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you in the coming years!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowlesy79
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Spent 4 nights at Satchwell and loved every second! The open planned living room and big windows make the cabin really cosy. Although we stayed in autumn the cabin was very warm with electric radiators supplied in the rooms and living room. The kitchen was complete with all appliances, utensils and crockery. The bathroom has a bath/shower with all towels supplied. A double bed in one room with 2 single beds in the 2nd room. Vacuum, washing machine and airer are also available. There is a digi TV with a variety of channels. Our dog, Jasper had a great holiday. The forest walk is beautiful, this is a short distance from the cabin. Inverness is a short 15 minute drive, and Chanery Point for dolphin spotting is 20 minutes. This cabin is a wonderful get away for a quiet and peaceful break, it's especially good if you like the country side and hiking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for staying and we appreciate the feedback we are doing our best to keep cosy and comfortable at the top of our priorities. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceK...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Great House & Location / Do recommend”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great Place for visiting Scotland and touring the Highlands, but also very cosy when you come home! Inverness with its shops and supermarkets is close nearby (about 12km), but renting a car is advised. The house itself is located in a beautiful forrest, directly beside a river.
We hope to return sometime, definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review and delighted you had a great trip. we are glad you found the chalet a good place to return too after a day exploring, it is something we always look for when going away. we look forward to seeing you again. Sarah & Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDIE J
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent chalet in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Satchwell was a really excellent cabin. It had all one could hope for in self~catering accommodation. Also a great base for touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and brightness of cabin
Liked least: poor Mobile phone signal and no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for staying with us and really pleased you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you back one day.

Sarah & Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenjohn...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cabin in beautiful forest setting.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in Satchwell for a long weekend trip to the highlands. The cabin is situated in a very peaceful and pretty location and the cabin itself is comfortable and well equipped. There were even fresh flowers on the table! We would love to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh flowers, soft towels and good shower.
Liked least: No wifi connection and poor phone signal.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBJWales...
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Rustic on the outside, cosy and modern on the inside! A beautiful cabin in the woods with all the mod-cons and wonderful attention to detail. Ideally located for walks and exploring the countryside. The visiting wildlife were wonderful, squirrels, wood peckers, deer and a resident badger! Thanks for a fantastic stay, we'll be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded in the woods, visiting wildlife!
Liked least: Nothing, we'll be back!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you, we have tried very hard to keep the essence of Reelig unchanged whilst bringing it up to date. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing