We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day tour in the Highlands”
Review of Scenic Routes

Scenic Routes
Ranked #15 of 50 Tours in Inverness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Provide luxury bespoke tours and executive transport in the Highlands from Inverness and surrounding area.First class gold standard service with owner/driver.So leave bus tours and overcrowded minibus tours behind and enjoy seeing what you want when you want!We can give you lots of ideas on where to go and what to see and we can also organise extra special tours of distilleries, castles and other places of interest.Available for golf tours and also tours from the Port of Invergordon where many of my guests are from cruise liners visiting for the day.Let me show you around the beautiful Highlands of Scotland - you will not be disappointed!
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I had a lovely day touring the Highlands. David Laidlaw is a professional who knows the area. We were off a luxury cruise ship, and their tours of just one of the places we visited, was more expensive. We were taken to Dunrobin Castle(a gem), the town of Dornoch which was charming and away from the crowds. Saw where the soldiers trained for D day. Fishing villages, lovely views, and the Heather on the hills. Choices of what to see was ours, with help from David before we left by email, with links to what he suggested. Very comfortable Mercedes SUV, with wonderful shortbread, and Scotch if we wanted it. Very hospitable guide. We spent about 6 hours on our tour.

1  Thank CeilK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL502, Owner at Scenic Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for a great review.
It was my pleasure to show you around the Highlands and I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Take care and best wishes.
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We travel extensively and almost always hire private guides at our destinations especially when we cruise vacation.
Our Azamara cruise docked in Invergordon, Scotland and we had booked David for about 10 hours to show us some sites. Prior to arriving we learned about some different sites we were interested in and David was most accomodating to change the itinerary upon meeting us.

First impression when entering the van was the cold water waiting, hand sanitizer, and candy! Other guides provide water, but not the other welcome amenities.

David's driving was comfortable and his demeanor pleasant, his knowledge of the area is very vast and informative. David had arranged a lunch stop in the country at a very nice family operated diner, we were the only tourists present and definitely the only Americans.

The tour wrapped up with an optional wee dram of "the water of life" and it was another added unexpected bonus that David provided.

It was sad to end the tour and we can only hope to visit again.

David also followed up with an email making sure we enjoyed the trip and when we arrived home a month later, there was a postcard awaiting from David thanking us again...the card was a picture of the wife and I that David had taken at one of our beachside stops. A VERY NICE TOUCH!

We HIGHLY recommend Scenic Routes and David Laidlaw.

Thank O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL502, Owner at Scenic Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hi guys, thank you so much for your kind and generous words.
I had a great time showing you around and the last minute change of plan added to the fun!
So glad you enjoyed your time in the Highlands.
Thanks again and take care.
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

By choosing Scenic Routes as our tour service, the day we were with him became the most memorable of our entire trip. The driver, David Lairdlaw, was friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. As well, unlike other tour services we used, the vehicle that we drove in was spacious and comfortable. Also, the price was cheaper than the other companies we had used before. For the day we had David as a tour guide, we drove up to the Scottish Highlands at an outdoor activity center. As well, he suggested sight seeing areas for us to go see that we did not even know existed. Without Scenic Routes, our day would not have been as perfect as it was.

1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL502, Owner at Scenic Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Rebecca, appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words.
Had a lovely time showing you around the Highlands. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Thanks again
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We did not pre-book, but were lucky enough to meet David at the Inverness airport. He was very knowledgeable about local attractions and was able to recommend several lesser-known sites such as the Clava Cairns. We arranged for a one day tour to the Drumnadrochit area. David picked us up in his beautiful Mercedes and drove us along the River Ness. He kept us entertained with stories about the area and provided cold water and Scottish biscuits to eat along the way. I highly recommend David for any future Highland tours.

1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL502, Owner at Scenic Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Anne, thanks for taking the time to write a kind review. I had a lovely time showing you around and it was a real pleasure meeting you.

Thanks again
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Many of the tour guides in Scotland use your car. David had a beautiful Mercedes SUV! That made touring so relaxing for us.
We corresponded with him by email about our interests and he planned our tour accordingly. If you spend the money to get to Scotland, it just makes sense to hire a knowledgeable guide. It was money well spent!
Judy & Jim
Oklahoma

1  Thank OKLAEdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveL502, Owner at Scenic Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Judy and Jim, hi and thanks for your kind review. I really enjoyed my time with you, the sun shone and it really was a lovely day.
Take care
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scenic Routes also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Scenic Routes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing