We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view, nice ambiance”
Review of Cobbs Restaurant

Cobbs Restaurant
Ranked #175 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, nice ambiance”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The food didn't overwhelm me, but I thought it was good. Everyone at our table was happy with their meal. But, the fact that they drove us to & from our B&B, and the view & ambiance, and they had a game room for the kids made it a great night. I recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmutt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A break from the rain”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It is a nice cafe that you can spend some time in if you need to stay out of rain or waiting for your bus.
Me and my fiance stopped by after our walk on the Old Coffin Track to wait in the warmth of this pleasant little cafe. We really enjoyed the hot chocolate, it was tasty and foamy and as it should be, but the selection of cakes was not as they advertised, was very few left. And what was left was dry and wasn't fresh at all. And it was only around 3 o'clock, it wasn't closing time. Wanted to try out some more cakes but was disappointed a bit by not having much choices nor freshness.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sightseeingbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food not so good, but view was great”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The food was ok to say the least, the staff was nice. But overall it seemed like they was trying to be a 5 star place and was just average with tourist in mind and only a few different places to eat dinner at. The view from the second floor was great, sat in front of the glass windows.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bolewis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorneding, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average to Bad”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Good view over the Loch, but otherwise nothing to recommend this place. Warmed up ready prepared meals. Risotto was awful. Scampi OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_H_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Unsurpassable views, passable food.”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is situated on the side of the main A82 road between Drumnadrochit and Inverness and is in a fabulous position. The hotel restaurant (Cobbs) is on the first floor with a glass sided room providing fantastic views over Loch Ness. It is worth dining here just for the views but do not go out of your way if you want a culinary experience. There is nothing bad about the food - it is just ordinary and quite expensive.
On the plus side, the staff are engaging and friendly and the service was good although the restaurant was not full when we visited. Another major plus for us is that the hotel offers a pick up and return service - we were staying in a B&B in Drumnadrochit and the proprietors telephoned to make a reservation for us and arranged for us to be picked up. The young man who came to collect us was Polish and very chatty and friendly but quite bizarrely he also turned out to be our waiter for the evening and switched roles to drive us back again after the meal.
To recap, the views and the service get this place a " very good " rating but the food lets it down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peeceecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobbs Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cobbs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing