We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and wouldn't return”
Review of Beaufort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beaufort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my parents for a few days. The restaurant and reception areas of the hotel are nice but give a false impression of the hotel. We had booked one single and a double room and when we were shown to them were very disappointed. They were very basic and certainly not value for money. We mentioned to staff that we were disappointed and within a short time we were moved to two upgraded rooms which were much nicer. To be honest, if we had had to stay in the first rooms, we would not have enjoyed returning ot the hotel after our day out. The staff were very nice and attentive and the food was good although the portions were far too large. The breakfasts were slightly disappointing and there could have been a better selection including black pudding, beans and mushroom, which is the normal for a Scottish breakfast along with what was already on the menu. It was a bit annoying to have to always ask for more coffee at breakfast and would be a good idea to have a pot of coffee instead. We felt the hotel could benefit from providing toiletries rather than soap / shampoo in a container on the wall and also something to eat with the beverages provided. This hotel is rated 3 star but not worthy of this grading.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

This old hotel has a variety of rooms scattered across various landings and staircases. The rooms appear to have been or are going through a slow makeover with cheap materials. Structurally this is essentially a motel, with thin walls, floors and doors and run down furniture / beds if it has yet to be replaced.

The breakfast room and bar seem to be refurbished but expect inexperienced and disorganized service. There is free wifi but is intermittent and only in the front area of the building (like the lobby).

We stayed here primarily due to the fact that the rest of the town was sold out and prices were fair. This may be fine to stay for one night or with a group since there are many rooms but I wouldn't rush back here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halpren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stopped here for a night while touring. Room rate was reasonable for family of four. They made up the sofa bed for us.

The young lady who seemed to do everything (make up spare beds, serve food, keep bar) was absolutely delightful, a winning smile, pleasant, helpful manner, hard working and with the fantastic lilting local accent. If I ever have a hotel I'd want her working for me to run it.

Our meals were reasonably priced and served quickly. The kids liked theirs.

Plenty parking, short walk to the city centre.

I'd go back here again, can only give it three stars though as the room was a tiny bit tired.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Beaufort Hotel, in a room they called a suite (though it was really a regular room). It had recently been renovated and it was in beautiful condition. The staff were all very friendly, especially Mary, who helped us find a fantastic restaurant (Rocpool), choose a wonderful Loch Ness tour, and took care of a shower issue seamlessly while we were out and about. Breakfast was very nice both in terms of generous amounts of tasty food and lovely service. The Wifi service in the lobby was very helpful. The bar was friendly and lively in the evenings. It's an easy walk from the hotel to all of the town's center (it's pretty steep uphill coming back but still very quick) and to stroll along the lovely Ness river. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snicks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Have stayed in this hotel many times and never had a problem. Staff are friendly and attentive and the food is second to none in the area - the steaks are superb! Parking is plentiful and all rooms are generally quite even when there is a wedding in the hotel.
This is not what I call a box hotel with rows of identical box rooms but is full of character tastfully decorated by the owner. Can be a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an en-suite jacuzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The reception staff at check in were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and adequate. We have a baby and were given a room up a few flights of narrow stairs and because there is no lift in the hotel we were unable to take the pram up to the room. No big deal for us as we could leave it in the car but might be annoying to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sink0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My internet booking wouldn't work so I called the hotel to confirm our stay. Graham the General Manager was simply charming on the the phone and assured me all was fine. I mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary and we booked a table in the restaurant.

On arrival Graham had upgraded us to suite. The room had been refurbished and the decor was fresh and everything felt and smelt new. The staff were all excellent and the food that night was great. The night finished on a high with a complimentary drink from the hotel.

Convenient location to the city, easy to find and parking out the back. Will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: If it is a special occassion let hte hotel know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanya_liddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#16 of 36 in Inverness
769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Hotel

Address: 11 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Inverness
#12 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaufort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaufort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing