We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thread bare carpets.”
Review of Beaufort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaufort Hotel
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thread bare carpets.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed 1st December 2012. Having come from Inverness you aspired to have a meal and stay in the Beaufort Hotel, it was thee hotel in Inverness, sorry to say that in now a distant memory. The front off house is still impressive, l am afraid that's were it ends, proceed up stairs to your room and you notice the decor is needing attention, thread bare carpets lead us to our room, number 29. Inside the heating was off and the room carpet was full off various stains. The on-suite was off a reasonable size, TV was faulty and the room in general needed an upgrade. Breakfast was good along with the service, would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We go up to Inveness on a monthly basis and will certainly not use this hotel again.
Went to the Mustard Seed for a meal and was not disappointed, the venison dish was first class. Excellent service from our waitress Simone and will go there again.

Room Tip: Don't get room number 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    151
    81
    26
    26
See reviews for
104
174
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed here recently with my husband, sister and brother to attend the Cremation service of my dear Auntie. We can't say enough about the service we received from the very friendly helpful staff. The rooms were warm, the bed comfortable and the bedding immaculate. We had evening meal, breakfast and lunch; it was delicious and plentiful. Well done to all at the hotel. I know I speak for the rest of my party when I say that we recommend this hotel highly and if we were ever to return to Inverness, which, we would love to do under happier circumstances, we would stay there again without hesitation. They waiters and waitresses wear tarten aprons which are just lovely and you'll want one!

Room Tip: The Beaufort Room is really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Booked on the day I stayed - a monday night in late November 2012. Booked through laterooms.com - got a single with no breakfast for £35 - and ended up getting upgraded to a very nice double.

Used to live in Inverness and have drunk in the hotel bar several times, and have attended several functions so no problem finding it; however it is in a very prominent location so would be easy to locate.

Large car park
Access to hotel from rear car park during standard hours - keycard access at front otherwise.
Nice ambience on entry
VERY friendly and helpful reception staff
Large room
Large shower room with HUGE shower
Shower like Niagara Falls!
No noise from other rooms; however I did get woken up by people in corridor leaving early
Fairly good blackout in room

The one thing I would raise is the lack of an exit/reception sign for the upstairs rooms - it's a bit of a maze, and all signs appear to point towards the rooms!

Overall - very very good and would definitely stay again if the price was right.

NB: didn't have breakfast, but anecdotally I have heard the food is good. Also - it's only ten minutes walk from some good places to eat. My sleep rating is based on the fact I was woken up - otherwise it would have been very good. Also - my value rating is based on the fact I got such a good deal on the day.

Room Tip: Room 33 - quiet and away from main road outside. Very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraserburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The staff are very nice you are greeted everytime you meet them. The food is very good and a nice and relaxing place to be will stay again. Would like to thank everyone for a lovely weekend
wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here recently for a large family trip for my Mother's funeral and at such a difficult time the staff were brilliant and our stay here made a difficult time all the better. The rooms were clean and spacious. A very warm welcome and most of our rooms had been made ready especially early for us (9am!) so we could rest and shower after the sleeper service up to Invermess. Extra sofabed in our room was perfect for our little ones and a cot was offered before we'd even asked. My wife unfortunately knocked the bathroom radiator off the wall and this was fixed immediately without question. A great space for entertaining (3 restaurants / bars in fact) with a roaring fire. A super buffet for our guests, other events were also going on all weekend but not so as you'd notice and the staff were extremely attentive. Babysitters were provided for us for two nights and were top class. All the girls in the restaurant and bars were very helpful and friendly. I can't recommend these people enough, thank you so much!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Spent two nights in the Beaufort the staff were fantastic, everyone smart and friendly, with the neat "Beaufort Hotel" tartan aprons on all waiting staff.

Met by the manager at reception and was warmly met as if we were regular customers which provided the friendly atmosphere that we enjoyed over the next two days.

We were in the Beaufort room in the hotel which again was to a high standard and had two nights of comfort and peace, even though the room was facing the back of the hotel looking over the car park.

We ate dinner on the first night in the hotel and the food was of a very high standard and quantity, no spare room for a dessert.

Breakfast was excellent with a hearty scottish cooked breakfast with superb sausages, bacon and black pudding.

Service was also excellent in the dining room

I am looking forward to returning to Inverness in the future and will be looking to book the Beaufort again, as it was excellent value, high quality and only 5 minutes walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: The Beaufort room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyBrookes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Me and my parter stayed here for one night, when we arrived the receptionist was terrible, insulted my partners english, we then went to the room where there was dirt everywhere, unclean bed sheets, so when i thought it could not get any worse, there was a large party making noise at 11, i called reception and asked about it, they assured me they were leaving, then 3 hours later they were still making so much noise, I would say this is the worst place to stay in inverness.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aleckowalczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Hotel

Property: Beaufort Hotel
Address: 11 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Inverness
#12 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaufort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Beaufort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing