We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place we would return to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dionard Guest House
Ranked #7 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This guest house seemed more like a small motel, than an inn or bed and breakfast. The hostess said she needed to know what time you wanted breakfast because she couldn't be hanging around waiting for people, which was a bit of a put-off. It's not that she asked, which seems efficient, but the reason she gave us. The breakfast was just okay, nothing special. The carpet smelled awful in our room and there were signs posted about rules such as no eating in the room except snacks. You had to turn the shower on and off outside the bathroom before you went in to take a shower, which was odd. Traffic noise was very loud. Not a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiRobTLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doris g, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

I am very disappointed with your review as it is not strictly accurate. The reason for choosing your breakfast the evening before is so that you " the guests" do not have to wait and it cuts down on food waste and I would never say to anyone that I didn't want to hang about "waiting for people." There is one sign about eating in the rooms.( Would you eat a meal in your bedroom at home?) The showers in the house are all electric and yes they do need to be switched on. This is for health and safety and is normal in our country. I take a great pride in the cleaning of my house and am confident that there is never a smell coming from any of my carpets. None of my other guests have complained about the traffic noise, normally they comment on how quiet it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from a spur of the moment break in Inverness and spent 2 nights in this lovely Guest House which is blessed with good off-street parking. Our room was spotless and the Scottish breakfasts excellent. The landlady, Doris, makes really lovely porridge. She was also very helpful in recommending some really good restaurants. All in all a lovely place to stay, especially as only about a 6 or 7 minute walk from the town centre.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 - the Superior room and it was very restful on the eye. Did not see the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraftaholicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Dionard Guest House. Our rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated not to mention the memory foam mattress was heaven.Doris was very friendly and recommended many restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was very good. We were able to walk very easily into town. Thank you Doris. If we are ever back in Inverness we hope to stay with you again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimijoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a great stay at the Dionard Guest House. Really clean and well kept. Breakfast was excellent. Short walk to city center. Doris is an excellent hostess. Just note the entrance to parking is on Southside Road (although house faces Old Edinburgh Road)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonTXUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I had a wondeful stay at the B&B. Very friendly and pleasant of a stay. wondeful breakfast and gave us wonderful places to eat in town while there. It was a nice short walk to get to town to see the sites as well.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank stang6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and would recommend it. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. It is located centrally and is within easy reach of city centre amenities.
Breakfast is very tasty and a great selection.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed in the twin en suite in this B&B in late May, as my daughter and I were traveling throughout Scotland.This B&B is extremely clean, comfortable bed, has all amenities needed in the room fridge, tea, cookies, tv, internet. Couple kind and welcoming with the fabulous breakfast. Porridge was the best of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our 10days. We should have gotten their recipe. A short walk to dining and downtown. Would highly recommend and we would like to come back.!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Hope you enjoyed your horse riding trek and you weren't bothered too much by midges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 232 in Inverness
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionard Guest House

Address: 39 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £107 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Dionard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionard Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing