We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Everything's premier except the price" - I don't think so!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Everything's premier except the price" - I don't think so!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at £115 per night due to the Tattoo being held that weekend. Breakfast at additional cost but I can't comment upon the quality of the food because we chose to get Breckie in town at a coffee shop which provided WiFi at no extra cost. Premier Inn wanted to charge £5 per hour for use of their WiFi. I wouldn't say that I am tight but then I also don't like being ripped off either. I notice that premier Inn also use a premium rate number if you wish to telephone them to make a booking - they seem to be fast becoming the Ryanair of the hotel world. My only surprise is that I wasn't charged a fee to pay for the room with my debit card (are you missing a trick here Premier Inn??).

Room was OK but no air conditioning - OK, it doesn't get warm in Inverness very often, but it was pretty warm at night when I stayed and it was too noisy to have the window open due to being next to the main road and railway line. The floor in the bathroom was uneven and the grouting and silicon sealant was also dirty. Otherwise, our stay was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Burgesspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    224
    52
    19
    4
See reviews for
160
226
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Great value for money. Staff were very helpful and informative. Room clean & comfortable especially the big high bed ;o) We stayed here for a couple of days and did the "Meal Deal" for £44 extra per day............worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This a very budget space which runs everything on a self service mode. Only interaction you would have with the only staff is during checkin/checkout.
Restaurant closes by 10pm and very few choice available in restaurant spread too.
Has large free parking space. Away frm city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VnKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This Premier Inn is very handy for Inverness City Centre and fairly easy to find. We took the meal deal and room offer at £117 for the room, 2x 3 course dinner and breakfast. The food was great quality and the service efficient and friendly. Room was clean, comfortable and warm.
Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teuchter36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel was welcoming, clean, and comfortable. The location is great as it is a short walk to the main shopping centre. Breakfast is very good value as the kids eat for free. Self service cold buffet with something to suit everyone. Hot food good quality. The only negative point was that we could hear the people in the room above us walking around. Otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donronrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

superb weekend great food lovely room very friendy staff what more can you ask for .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I’d booked in to the Inverness Central hotel for the weekend of 1 October. I was in the area to take part in the Loch Ness Marathon, and so chose Premier Inn because, as a guest, you’re pretty much certain that you’ll get a decent night’s sleep and close proximity to a reasonable restaurant for a reasonable price.

The check-in process was painless, and the receptionist (Suzy) was friendly, welcoming and chatty. She’s lovely, and is a real asset to the hotel.

We’d decided to eat in the attached restaurant, The Auld Distillery, rather than trek in to the city centre, knowing that we might struggle to find a table given that about 8,000 runners and their families were due to be in Inverness that weekend.

Both the service and the food were great. Leah, our waitress, was attentive, efficient, and friendly. She, too, is an asset to the hotel.

However, Saturday night’s experience in the restaurant was something quite different. I’d booked a table for 8pm to ensure that we could be fed & watered before retiring for an early night. We had a 6am start on the Sunday morning, so we didn’t want to be eating after 9pm. As we were waiting to be seated something didn’t look quite right. The efficient buzz of the previous evening was gone. Diners were sitting at tables, but many of them looked bored, disappointed, or a combination of both.

We were seated on time, and our drinks’ order taken immediately. However, it was twenty minutes before the drinks arrived. Our food order had been taken five minutes earlier.

Although our food order had been taken at about 8.15, there was no sign of either or starters or main courses. Our waiter re-appeared at about 8.50 to ask if we’d had our food yet. At that point we were on the phone to other restaurants in the city to see if we could get a table.

We decided to drop the starters and just go for our main courses - time was already short. We were tired and hungry, and had a very long day with an early start ahead. A few minutes later the waiter returned to tell us that they couldn’t cater for our main courses, so could one of us make another choice. I opted for gammon with pineapple.

Twenty minutes later the food arrived. Beef lasagna and gammon with egg. I sent the gammon back while my girlfriend got started. At about 9.25 my meal finally arrived.

A couple seated next to us sat in silence. I got the impression that they’d come out for some sort of occasion and were less than happy with how the evening had progressed. Eavesdropping on a conversation between them and their waiter it became apparent that they had been let down by either the waiting or the kitchen staff, so they had been offered desserts at no charge.

A family on another table queried their bill, saying, “I didn’t expect Scotland to be this cheap.” They’d been given a bill that was for their table number but for an entirely different order. When the bill was replaced, after the waiter asked them what they’d had, it was still wrong. Third time lucky, perhaps?

Another couple of diners, clearly there for the Marathon, were also sending food back, chasing orders, and so on.

The restaurant was not even half full, and by my reckoning at least half of the diners complained about long waiting times, mixed up orders, and incorrect bills.

The staff covering breakfast times were far more on the ball, particularly those on duty on Sunday (an early start for runners) and Monday mornings.

Like many people, I’ve stayed at a few Premier Inns and have found the service at the attached restaurants to be fine. The Auld Distillery, however, is something else. It was clear that there was no one at the helm, and the waiting staff were on their own - probably inexperienced and inadequately trained. I have no idea what was going on on the kitchen, but it can’t have made pleasant viewing. If Suzy hadn’t been around I imagine that nothing but chaos would have prevailed.

On the whole, the weekend as great. The marathon event was superb, the city of Inverness stunning, and the support from the crowds along the way inspiring. However, my experience at the Premier Inn has left a very sour taste. If it wasn’t for Suzy, Leah and Shona I’d be launching a campaign for a national boycott of Premier Inn hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intermanaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you for your review at Premier Inn our main objective remains to delivery a high level of service in all our establishments. We are very pleased that the service your received from our team especially Suzy, Leigh and Shona met your expectations. We do apologise for the service your received during your dinner service on Saturday evening, your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our Inverness Centre hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness East Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.7 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel
Address: Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Inverness
#7 Family Hotel in Inverness
#10 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#10 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Inverness Centre is conveniently located on Millburn Road, the main road as you enter the centre of Inverness. All bedrooms have en-suite with both bath and shower, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and freeview on 40" wall-mounted plasma TVs. Our windows have also been replaced so, despite being close to the road, traffic noise is barely noticeable within the hotel. We also offer free wi-fi with the option to purchase 5x faster ultimate connection at £5 for 24hrs. This is available to purchase at reception and online and can be used across 3 different devices for the 24hr period. Our restaurant and bar is open for breakfast, and dinner and offers a wide selection of food. We are also open to non-hotel residents. Interestingly the restaurant and bar is a listed building as it was one of the last remaining distilleries to operate in Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel Inverness
Inverness Premier Inn
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing