We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King's Highway
Ranked #29 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PERTH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and was very pleased. Hotel is very convenient right in centre of Inverness.Very close to bus / railway stations. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and roomy. The Hotel is part of the Wotherspoon Group so we had expected it to be a bit busy and noisy.Did get a bit busy but found no problem being too noisy. Some very good offers with meals which we thoroughly enjoyed.Would certainly recommend and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    204
    77
    31
    23
See reviews for
62
217
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here recently on a hectic weekend o travelling and work. The room with its enormous bed, decor, etc was superb. So homely and comfortable. Staff were very polite and helpful. Would stay again and recommend it. Great value for money. (when trying to locate via sat nav it will take you to buildings at rear of hotel so need to turn left then left again if on passenger side or right then right if on drivers side- assuming left hand drive vehicle)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is situated very conveniently for the City Centre of Inverness, in Church Street. Very clean and spacious rooms. Had doubts initially about the room as it faced onto the main street. But there was little noise, even though the Hotel Bar served food until 11pm. Staff were very helpful and the food was good. (Wetherspoon's). It was unfortunate that due to no fault of their own, there was no water nor electricity first thing on the day of departure. If visiting Inverness again this is the first choice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here recently, and again, had the same room I've been given 5 times now! It's starting to feel like home! I'm quite happy with it, and I was surprised to see it had been refurbished this time I stayed there, new walls, furniture, bedding and carpet. The bathroom has also been very nicely done, its smart and stylish. It was very clean too.

Still the bathroom fan is very noisy, but its bearable. I'm certain I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

After a tour if Inverness we eventually found the hotel in a very good location. The entrance and public areas are on the dark side and slightly oppressive. The room was clean, as was the bathroom which provided a nice range of toiletries and very good quality towels, also a good shower. Parked my car in the long stay car park at the railway station which is a 5 min walk from the hotel. Cost for 24 hours £6.00.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead , Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We were up in the Highlands to watch Ross Co v Manchester Utd and because we live 120 miles away we thought it best to stay in Inverness for the night.
This is a Weatherspoon pub which deals in bargain prices for food and drink but also has well kitted out family rooms. Ours was up on the third floor well away from the bar area which we liked as we have two young boys.
Down in the bar we had supper which was very tasty and plenty of it. Only thing I could say is that the presentation could have been a wee bit better instead of 'bunged on a plate' as we use other Weatherspoon pubs and know they have better presentation. The bar was lively but not too crowded so that meant I could enjoy a wee bit of the Open on tv in relative peace.
As for location it is in a side street just off the town centre which was handy for a walk after supper, it just took a while to find it in the first place even with Google maps.
All in all , very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room was really nice & the overall look and feel of the hotel and pub was nice.
The place (mainly the pub side) was still having a refit but even though they seemed to be working 24 hours a day didn't disturb my sleep.
There are two doors which you need to swipe your room card to enter, one from the street to reception and the other from the pub directly to the lift/stairs to rooms bypassing reception. These were generally left unlocked even when there was no-one at reception (I presumed to allow the workmen access).

However, upon returning to room on first night and placing card in slot to activate lights, we were shocked to see a man lying asleep on our bed !
The night receptionist came and checked all our room cards to find that this other mans cards did not activate our room door.

In his drunken state he had gone to the wrong floor and, because his card obviously didn't work, went to a member of staff who let him into our room without even checking his card !!
The receptionist couldn't apologise enough and said a full investigation would be done.

Apart from this one incident, we really enjoyed our stay and would have considered this and other Wetherspoon hotels again.
But 2 weeks after this we still haven't heard a thing from Wetherspoons, even from the direct complaint I sent to them after returning home, so can't add their response about it to this review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
0.3 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Property: King's Highway
Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing