We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King's Highway
Ranked #30 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed three nights whilst touring Scotland by rail. Pleasantly surprised at the standard of room and facilities considering price. Some early morning noise from bin collectors at fron of hotel but no trouble with noise from pub even on Football nights Hotel was very convenientl located if travelling by tyrain and close to several restaurants etc. We dined in the hotel a couple of times and whilst we could criticise soem aspects - cold plates comes to mind - tghe quality of the food was fine and the value exceptional. Their nightly special deals were well worth having.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi, thanks for your review. I'm concerned about the cold plates-the blue patterned plates are new and one of the reasons for getting them is that they heat quicker. We also invested in a plate warmer, the plates heat so well now we have had to buy rubber pads for the staff to carry plates with. So it is a definite concern that cold plates are still making it out there. Thanks anyway, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    210
    82
    31
    24
See reviews for
63
228
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Took ages for me to find it in the rabbit warren streets my sat nav was taking me, and when i did find it, its in a major street! Sat Nav humph!. The "Hotel" is part of the Wetherspoon Company and my room was on the front so it was bit noisy. Biggest gripe is that to park my car involved checking in, then driving to a public car park 10 minutes walk away next to the bus station, it was cheap, but I was concerned it would get nicked or broken into. For that reason I won't go back.
The food was typical pub fare (breakfast) but for the evening meal I went to Hootananny over the pad which is what a pub should be, Wetherspoon take note!
The single room was cosy and why do Single rooms always have a small tv high up on the wall? Take a telescope, you'll need it to see the screen.
OK stay but there is better places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi, thanks for your review.

I'm afraid being in a 200 year old building in the centre of an old city, a car park was an issue (the building has always been a hotel). Rose St car park is right next to the bus station and is a modern secure multi-storey car park with all modern conveniences for £4 for 24 hours. Inverness has one of the lowest city crime rates in Scotland, if not the UK and is 4 minutes walk away, so I'm not sure you chose the best car park if you felt your car might have got knicked? The 120-room, 4-star Penta Hotel at the back of us doesn't have a car park either?

Anyway, Hootenany's is a live music venue split across 3 floors. I'm not sure what we could learn from them as our 'offer' is completely different and we don't consider ourselves to be direct competitors. They do their thing, we do ours-and win award for it.

Thanks for the review but I feel you've judged us on our lack of car park and as you ate in another pub, never gave us a chance!

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We got a very warm welcome on arrival. All was explained to us including the use of the Key Card. Very happy with the security. Room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The Bed was most comfortable and the range of 'Goodies' on the Tea & Coffee Table a nice touch. Shower looked very new and has a choice of 'Rain' or Standard. The Food menu is usual JDW fare, which we both enjoy and the choice of ales excellent. We were directly over the entrance (although three floors up) and there was nothing to keep us awake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondance42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Excellent work by us. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at the Kings Highway in Inverness whilst en route to Wick. Everything was perfect - from the very helpful girl on reception, the very clean and well-appointed room, the very good choice of real ales and food menu, and the location - so close to the town centre. The price didn't include breakfast, but it was available for a nominal price.
Would we return ? most definately!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchidlover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Excellent. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spend the weekend at my future daughter in law's hen party. What a great hotel. The rooms were some of the cleanest I have seen. Much cleaner than the more highly priced hotels I have stayed in Inverness. Location was so central and a few minutes walk form the rail station and a from the river. Felt so safe walking at night too. Will stay here again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdowalllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your review, will aim to get 5 stars next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nicely priced, comfortable and once the additional inner door was closed, very quiet. Spacious room, very well decorates, friendly staff, good shower, room was very clean, could not even find dust on top of door frames, mirrors etc. breakfast was one of the best wetherspoon breakfasts we have had!! And only a 2 min walk from the railway station!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
"breakfast was one of the best wetherspoon breakfasts we have had!"
Excellent, thanks for the review, especially that bit. Kitchen team will be stoked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night at the King's Highway and the room was clean and spacious. We were in room 306 and if you looked out the window to the right had a cracking view. The hotel was in a good location right in the middle of Inverness. If you are driving there is a few parking spaces out front but are pay and display 1GBP per hour no return within 2 hours and free after mon-Sat I'm sure. Not a great place to park but would recommend this hotel. I had my dinner downstairs typical Spoons menu but quick service and decent prices. Overall good experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ted I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the excellent review. We recommend Rose St car park, 4 mins walk away and £4 for 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Property: King's Highway
Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing