We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and very well situated B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mardon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mardon Guest House
Ranked #57 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and very well situated B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Situated at a few minutes' walk from Inverness town centre, Mardon is a very welcoming and lovely guest house. When arrived, I was warmly welcomed by Val who provided me with useful information about Inverness attractions. Val and Chris are very kind and thoughtful hosts. Rooms are comfortable and you can find delicious home-mad ginger biscuits: a little detail that make the difference with other GH. Breakfast was also delicious, with a variety of choices and excellent scrambled eggs with salmon which I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    44
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
73
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a nice place to stay! Mardon Guest House is situated in the heart of Inverness, a charming place to stop when on holiday in Scotland. The guest house itself is beautiful and I felt very welcome by the very hosts, Val and Chris. I stayed in a single room, which was bright, comfortable and nicely furnished. I really liked the small details, such as finding delicious home made ginger bars and facilities to make tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and included a choice of English breakfast or other menus for those guests who like me needed a change from sausages,eggs and bacon. As a matter of fact, on the second day, I opted for a dish based on salmon and scrambled eggs which I really enjoyed. Val is always ready to provide tips on places to visit, which I really appreciated. At the end of the visit, when we returned back home, a relative who stayed in another room in the guest house stated that he rated Mardon Guest House as the accommodation he enjoyed best during our stay. I agree 100% with his choice! I will recommend Mardon Guest House to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenrotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My extended family and I (all 8 of us!) stayed at the Mardon guest house when we visited Scotland. It was a wonderful experience. The location was convenient, the rooms were lovely, the breakfast was delicious, and Chris and Val were extremely friendly and hospitable. When my daughter left some clothing in her room by accident, Chris mailed the items to her, a gesture which was certainly above and beyond the call of duty. We highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were introduced to Mardon Guest House by friends who had stayed there before and recommended it. We were not disappointed! It is very convenient , being only a short walk from the centre of town. The walk takes you over the footbridge which is quite a feature of Inverness. The breakfasts are cooked by Chris and are wonderful. Don't forget to ask Val ,his wife, to bring you some 'Tatty Scones' These are little 'pancakes' made with potato and fried crisp. A zillion times better than hash browns!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We ended up in Mardon House quite by accident after being stiffed out of our guaranteed reservation at another B and B around the corner. It was a lucky break. The owners are very nice, the rooms were quiet and comfortable, and it was an easy five minute walk to the city center. The nicest B and B we stayed at in our trip to Scotland.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I traveled for fun for a week to Inverness in May and stayed at Mardon House the entire time. Val and Chris, the owners of the place were wonderful, always glad to share some advice when we asked about local attractions and all of their suggestions were spot on once we told them what we enjoy to do. The room was lovely with a great bed and pillows. Breakfasts were excellent and the only problem we had was to make ourselves stop eating. The B&B is very close to everything, but is situated on a quiet street, so we didn't have to worry about the closing time for restaurants or bars. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZDTSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Mardon is perfectly situated for exploring Inverness as it is a short walk to restaurants and places of interest. We chose it as we were travelling by train to Kyle of Lochalsh and were able to get to the station easily. Chris and Val were most helpful and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The house is on the A82 which can be very busy at times but was quiet at night. Off road parking was a bonus.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, ask for one at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#9 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#112 of 247 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Craig Villa Guest House
Craig Villa Guest House
#40 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#51 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mardon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardon Guest House

Property: Mardon Guest House
Address: 37 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mardon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mardon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing