We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place to stay in Inverness”
Review of Heathmount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heathmount Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have stayed here a number of times now and loved it everytime. The decor in the rooms is fun, each one completely different. They are spotlessly clean with nice bathrooms. The staff are lovely and helpful. There was a mix up with our dinner on our most recent visit which was handled brilliantly.
We especially love the breakfast. Great coffee, good cooked selection and delicious toast.
We're in Inverness once a month but as we have to book last minute there's sometimes no availability at the Heathmount. The only complaint would be that we wish they had more rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blastatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

When we booked the Heathmount Hotel we were aware that we wouldn’t be in the center of Inverness, but we didn’t mind because we had already visited the city a couple of times, and anyway we knew we would be arriving there late in the afternoon and would leave early the following morning on our way to Edinburgh. We chose it because it looks nice on their website, it is reasonably priced, and has a parking lot. What seemed to be another strong point is their restaurant, which seemed quite good after our 4-hour drive from Thurso.
Upon our arrival we had the impression that the hotel was up to our expectations: the reception area looked nice, and the staff welcoming us was extremely friendly. We were assigned to one of the two loft bedrooms – the one with the en-suite bathroom – on the third floor. There’s no lift so if you are carrying a heavy suitcase do make sure that you book a room on the first floor! The halls are a bit dusty and dim-lit, but apart from that our room was quite good. Not too big, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom looks like it has been recently renovated, and features a high-tech, huge shower. There are tea and coffee making facilities, as well as complimentary snacks and bottles of waters. They also have a DVD library so you can borrow a film from the reception free of charge, which we appreciated. Plus, there’s also free Wi-Fi connection in all rooms.
After settling in our bedroom and considering that we were positively impressed by the standard of our room, we decided to book a table for dinner at the downstairs restaurant. And that was a huge mistake! Apparently the menu offers a good choice of starters and mains, but we were rather disappointed when we got the two starters we had ordered: green salad with feta and sun-dried tomatoes for my husband, and a bowl of marinated olives for me. The olives were kind of ok, meaning that they were quite tasteless so no harm done here, but when my husband was served the salad, well, that was a really sad dish, what with the feta tasting like cardboard and the salad leaves being withered. But that wasn’t all, and we were even more disappointed by our mains: a watery, greasy steak pie and a sadder looking chicken salad, which consisted of a few withered green leaves with a thick, cold and cloggy chicken steak. Needless to say, we didn’t finish our meal.
All things considered, we were disappointed by the Heathmount and still can’t understand why a place that offers good, clean and affordable accommodation cannot at the same time try to offer better quality when it comes to food. I guess that it could be a place with a lot more potential if they change their dishes and their ingredients – and possibly their chef?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, Owner at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your pleasant comments regarding our rooms and hotel. However I am disapointed to hear of the standard of your meal whilst dining in our restaurant. I shall investigate further with the Manager and staff who were on duty that evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Small hotel with excellent food and lively well stocked bar - Rooms well appointed, with quirky furnishings. Helpful smiley staff too. Convenient free parking immediately outside. Traditional breakfast with black pudding to die for !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caramel-cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great, rooms and location! Very helpfull & cheerful staff. Rooms nicely designed our stay was completed with super tasty breakfast this morning (try smoked haddock), We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant your but based on the quality of the breakfast I believe that it must be good!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartekboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights based on good TripAdvisor reviews. Although not cheap this pub and hotel was excellent. Although about ten minutes walk to the centre of Inverness, on a five-way road junction and with a dining area and pub beneath the rooms we heard nothing of the outside world at night. Each of the rooms is decorated in a unique and rather startling fashion. Our room was in contemporary style with a black and gold theme and a four-poster bed as seen in the photograph above. On entering the room for the first time we both went “WOW!” The only significant criticism is that there is no lift and the rooms are accessed by narrow winding passageways with many fire doors and stairs. It was very difficult to get a suitcase up and down stairs and disabled customers would find the rooms almost impossible to access.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorset_Food_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Everything they say on here is true. This is a lovely hotel for people who don’t want a hotel. Intimate, nicely designed and incredibly friendly staff.

Stayed in room 2 which was very nicely decorated and well appointed. Nice little touches in the room included apples, robes, mineral water, some lovely Tunnocks chocolate goodies and real, fresh coffee with a cafetiere. Very comfortable beds, bathroom a little small but more than adequate and a good-sized shower with superb water pressure.

Didn’t get to eat here in the evening sadly but had a wonderful breakfast. There was a small mix up with breakfast timing but the lovely lady running breakfast dealt with it magnificently and when the full Scottish breakfast arrived it was of the finest quality. I so wish I could recall her name as she had to be the friendliest and loveliest person who has ever looked after me in a hotel – just the thought she put into breakfast when I passed on the egg (which my travelling companion had!) and she came back saying she’d given me an extra sausage. So apologies for not remembering your name from that Sunday morning but thank you! Your enthusiasm and friendliness should be bottled and given out by the NHS. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firstclasslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Very nice place. People working there know what travelers need. POssibly the best looking girl in the whole of Scotland behind the bar !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Overdommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathmount Hotel

Address: Kingsmills Road, Inverness IV2 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#7 Family Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £64 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heathmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathmount Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Heathmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathmount Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing