We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a mixture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heathmount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heathmount Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit of a mixture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is really rather difficult to describe. One reviewer described it as:

"a pub with rooms – no separate reception for hotel guests"

which is true but not the full story (at least in my opinion).

The Hotel has a Service Promise that customers should "want to visit the Heathmount ....and....want to come back" and everyone from Fiona the Owner down (no anonymous "Manager" skulking away out of sight and sound of customers here!) tries their best to achieve this. Little things like making one feel genuinely welcome, carrying one's case up to the room and a breakfast freshly cooked to order (bacon as crispy as you like) lift it above the pack.

Our room was pleasantly furnished, spotlessly clean, with bedding that was changed daily and nice fresh towels.

The location, just a short walk from the town centre, is also very convenient.

What's not to like?

Well the price for a start which, at least in our case, seemed pretty steep

Not all the rooms have baths (you will know from my other reviews that this is a very hot topic!) although, to be fair, our walk in power shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water)

Our sleep was interrupted twice by bottles being emptied into a skip late at night!

Parking is limited when the hotel is busy (to the extent that we left our car and walked everywhere for fear of losing our space)

There is no place for guests to go when they leave their room apart from the bar and restaurant, both of which were packed like a London tube in the rush hour (believe me that is no exaggeration, we literally had to push our way through the crowd in the bar to get from the restaurant to our room) when we were there.

Overall 4 out of 5 but I would happily stay there again for the location - especially if I had one of the rooms with a bath that was more reasonably priced.

Room Tip: As you will have gathered, this is an old building and the rooms are not all the same. Check the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passepartout_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your detailed and balanced review following your stay with us at the Heath. We are extremely sorry that you were disturbed by the emptying of the bottle bins. Which I'm sure there were plenty off following the busy night which you have described! We generally do not empty the bottle bins after 10pm. We have recently employed some new staff for the summer season which might explain the late emptying time. We have taken measures to ensure that it will not happen again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    101
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
56
163
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Whilst the majority of review concentrate on the restaurant our comment are specifically about the room in which we stayed on 1 March 2014 for one night. Having been led up the dingy red and black backstairs of the pub (yes, the Heathmount is really a pub with rooms – no separate reception for hotel guests) our hearts sank. The corridor outside our room was cluttered with spare foldaway beds, chairs and piles of plates – not a very welcoming site. No one seemed to be tasked with tidying them away. Our room (number 7) was a bit of a joke – an attic that you could barely swing a kitten in. We could touch the ceiling with our hands – and we are not very tall. When we were in bed we couldn’t sit up as we would bump our heads. The bed was about six inches away from the bathroom and once we put our suitcases on the floor we had barely any room to move at all. The décor was pretty hideous (urban chic circa 1980s in purple and fluorescent lime) and the whole room stank of damp. We had to turn on the radiators to try to get rid of the damp smell but soon we were choking with the stuffiness of the place. The towels smelt of some really repulsive washing powder – not fresh at all. The tap in the sink had come away from its fixings and it was impossible to find its hot water setting. Breakfast the next morning was down in the pub with all the attendant smells of the previous night’s party. A few lacklustre packets of Kellogs cereal and tinned or dried fruit graced the bar counter. The whole experience was really depressing, although we would say that the staff were friendly. At £75 I would say this is, sadly, one of the worst value experiences we have had in Scotland.

Despite other seemingly glowing reviews we would have to question whether a hotel that leaves all its debris out in the corridors can really be so wonderfully managed. We seriously question the integrity of these reviews – they will undermine the whole Tripadvisor model for honest genuine customer experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, Owner at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the congestion in the corridor. That was entirely my fault and a momentary lack of memory to return these items to storage. With regards to your other issues I regret that you were not satisfied and wish you had highlighted this the staff at the time, for we could easily have moved you to one of our more spacious rooms. As you see from the rest of the reviews here we work hard to make sure our customers are satisfied and usually receive positive feedback about the accommodation and the breakfast, which focuses on the use of fresh local ingredients.

Sincerely,

Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in the Heathmount Hotel for a weekend visit. The family room ( made into a double) was lovely, spacious and and very clean. We couldn't access the internet on our iPads, could of been something we were doing wrong in setting it up. Breakfast was lovely and lady who served us was lovely and friendly. We would and will stay here again and look forward to staying in one of the four poster rooms. Keep up the good work Heathmount staff, everyone one of you were polite, friendly, approachable and appeared to be happy at your work which makes a big impact to customers :) :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words. We have recently changed service providers for our Wi-Fi due to an incompatibility with Apple products. Everything will be in order on your return visit.

Best regards,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've been in several hotels in Inverness over the years. Really liked this one. Got a great deal on the rate. Almost a steal considering breakfast was included. Everything was spotless. Staff are all friendly and efficient. The meal in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was really good. Plus they made our little dog welcome in his place of course.

Room Tip: Get a luxury room when the deal,is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Dogs are welcome in the hotel rooms and in our public bar also. While we clearly value the quality of our rooms and service offered we do occasionally discount for last minute deals, depending on availability. Lucky you for scooping one!

Best regards,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I came to inverness on business and came across this hotel being a female on my own I dont normally go down for dinner however the staff were so friendly and the hotel has a very cosy atmosphere i didnt feel at all uncomfortable .the food was beautifuly presented fresh and very tasty
The rooms clean and well decorated I have stayed in many hotels over the years in Inverness and I would say this has ranked as one of the best in the area I will definitely stay again and recommend to others

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are fortunate to enjoy a high volume of business guests throughout the week; both male and female. Good to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and that you are planning to return.

Many thanks,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I called the hotel after looking at another late booking website to check room availability, I then called hotel to book direct and from first contact. Everything went great, was lucky enough to get room 4 which was lovely. Very spacious, very clean very comfortable. Great shower too.
There is nothing I have to say which is negative at all. Have stayed in a few places in Inverness and will definitely return. Restaurant was superb I had the red Thai curry which was amazing and good wine selection. Staff very friendly at all times and owner manager couldn't do enough. Breakfast was excellent too black pudding is awesome and poached eggs to perfection. I'm coming back in fact will be booking tomorrow for this week again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paddyc173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review. Since posting we have enjoyed the pleasure of your company on two or three occasions. Chef's curry really is that good...


Best,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Central inverness,friendly welcoming staff, Very comfortable room with clean crisp linen, large double bed with quality pillows. Lots of finishing touches and extras above the usual standard. Cafetierre, with fresh ground coffee was most welcome. The morning was completed with a delicious perfectly cooked breakfast (especially the poached egg). Fresh fruit buffet breakfast was also available. Great nights stay thank you, looking forward to tonights stay too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewoodlifeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

After all breakfast is the most important meal of the day. And it's even better after a good night's sleep!

Than you for your custom,

Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathmount Hotel

Property: Heathmount Hotel
Address: Kingsmills Road, Inverness IV2 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#10 Family Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heathmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathmount Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Heathmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathmount Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing