We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gastro Pub Eatery”
Review of Heathmount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heathmount Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Gastro Pub Eatery”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Did not stay here but was recommended to try Restaurant. Even though this was a pub, the food was fantastic and very well priced. If nearby, this is an excellent choice for dining.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    102
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
57
166
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

What a lovely stay at the heathmount, the staff were so friendly. the hotel was spotless and the room was great although on the small size. We had a kitchen fan on morning and evening so had a few kitchen smells. But apart from that I have had one of the best holidays for a long time up in the Highlands, in fact not bothering going abroad next year, we are coming back up to Scotland. The place has a lovely atmosphere. Inverness is wonderful we were visiting my partners son so he took us to a few places especially the Black Isle where you could see Dolphins in there natural habitat Brilliant !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This stay was an overnight to celebrate Mrs B's birthday - and be able to share a few wines and not have to drive home.
The room exceeded expectations (Room 3). Large en-suite bathroom with separate high powered shower, very wide four poster bed which was superbly comfortable and great attention to detail - mineral waters, fresh coffee, fruit etc as well as good quality bathroom 'bits'. Very clean, and extremely hard to fault anything (one side light bulb had failed and one bath robe only so we're struggling here!!). I can't mention the price, which includes a fabulous breakfast choice, as my wife may read this but suffice to say whilst not cheap it was worth every penny.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was good, but not outstanding - while many of the wines were not available due to list changing, waiter very helpful in advising of alternatives.
The bar atmosphere was more like a gathering of friends, tremendous atmosphere to go with tremendous range of cocktails. The service: first class, friendly and professional.
This review reads almost as too good to be true. We are just so pleased to find a hotel which for once seems to really care about giving a first class experience, and the Heathmount did. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessChoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I booked an overnight stay in the Heathmount as a surprise for my boyfriend who had just come back from an overseas tour with the armed forces. I had specifically booked one of the 4 poster rooms after seeing it on the website and had been quoted the price of £100.

When we arrived at the hotel I was told that my booking had been cancelled the day before - which obviously I hadn't done. I was told there were still rooms available but ,unfortunately, not the one I had booked. We were shown a lovely room with a double bed and the other option was a twin room - as I had booked a 4 poster bedded room, did they really think a twin room was an option ?! While my boyfriend went to get the bags from the car I signed the register and explained to the receptionist just how disappointed I was, and explained it had been booked a surprise for my boyfriend. The receptionist said he would "do something about the price" and that we could have a complimentary bottle of wine. He also asked if we wanted to book dinner in the hotel, but under the circumstances, I decided I would rather eat somewhere else.

After taking our bags to the room, we went back down to the bar for a drink. My boyfriend went to the bar and while there the receptionist offered him a bottle of wine for us to take to our room later and said that we could have the room for £90. As I had made the booking, and explained that it was a surprise for my boyfriend only 10 minutes previously, I was really angry at the receptionist then discussing the price with my boyfriend. To add insult to injury, the standard price for the room we were now booked into was £90 so we were paying full price, despite the offer of "something" done about the price. As the reception is in the bar, which for a late Saturday afternoon was fairly busy, I decided not to say anything.

When we checked out the following morning, there was a different receptionist on and when I explained the situation to her, she dropped the price to £80. She was very apologetic about all the confusion.

The Heathmount Hotel is a lovely hotel, the room we stayed in was clean and relaxing and if I had just booked "a room" I would have been more than happy with it. The mix up though put a real downer on my weekend, I had been really looking forward to seeing my boyfriend's face when he saw the 4 poster bed. Nevertheless, I would recommend the Heathmount, but would advise double checking before you get there that they have not cancelled the booking !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This hotel is a short walk from the railway station and was perfect for our 2 night stay.
it was clean, friendly and the rooms are modern and fresh. Our room was room 4 and it was done in plum with all curtains, wallpaper and bedding matching.

We had lunch and diner in the hotel and both were good value and enjoyable. The pub and lounge was very popular with the locals which is a good sign.

The breakfast which was included in the cost was freshly made to order and most enjoyable.

This is an ideal base for short trips to Inverness as everything is nearby. There were no noise issues even although the room looked onto a bust street.

I would return here without hesitation

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StirlingGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2010

As a last minute booking we stayed on Hogmanay at the Heathmount.

Initial thought, with reception in the bar, was a little disappointing however the friendly staff quickly checked us in and showed us to our room.

Room was large and well furnished; large double bed was very comfortable. Minor niggle with noisy radiator in the bathroom but easily solved by simply turning down the thermostat a little.

We booked our meal early to attend a concert and therefore the dining area was quiet. However the set menu, specially in place for Hogmanay, had varied choices and each of our selections arrived well cooked and presented. Excellent value for £30.00 each.

Evening entertainment (disco) and atmosphere was good; friendly locals without the drunken "loons".

Power shower quickly dispelled any sleepiness and full cooked breakfast certainly set us up for the day.

All told a well run, comfortable and reasonbly priced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliballibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel was recommended to us by friends of ours from Canada, they said we would love it, and we were not disappointed! The room was great, the food was amazing and the staff were so friendly and helpful! We would definitely come back to this well run boutique hotel.

Darrell and Colleen
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathmount Hotel

Property: Heathmount Hotel
Address: Kingsmills Road, Inverness IV2 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#10 Family Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heathmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathmount Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Heathmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathmount Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing