We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going the extra mile….” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardconnel House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardconnel House B&B
Ranked #8 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blagdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Going the extra mile….”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very comfortable B & B made so much better by the warmth of the hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. Whether help with choosing a golf course to play, an introduction to the suppliers of the superb Orkney black pudding they offered for breakfast or posting home a forgotten mobile phone charger John & Elizabeth were always thoughtful with their advice, helpful with their recommendations and warm with their greetings each day. A house and hosts to cherish!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    57
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
266
156
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed two nights at the Ardconnel House in Inverness for our trip (2nd of five B&Bs) around Scotland. Ardconnel House definitely deserves its 4-star rating. This is a well maintained establishment managed by the very nice Elizabeth and John.

Located on the street by the same name, the property is next to a number of other B&Bs. Despite being in a quiet neighborhood, it is within a few minutes walk to the main shopping area (as well as the Eastgate Mall), the Inverness Castle as well as numerous restaurants. Do make reservations at the better restaurants (John will recommend you a few of his favourites) as they can get quite full during peak season.

The rooms are well appointed. Nicely furnished and cosy. We were assigned Room 7 at the top floor (2nd floor) which is a family room with a queen bed and a single bed. The bathroom had a small shower area only and no bathtub. Though small, it was adequate for our purposes. The room has good wifi connection and a small wall mounted TV.

There's also a separate common room with TV and DVD player as well as the all important brochures and information of attractions in the area. Breakfast is served in the dining room on the ground floor. Do let the hosts know your time preference as the tables are set beforehand with the required number of people in the group. Tastefully decorated and immaculately set, we strongly suggest you enjoy a leisurely breakfast while looking out into the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_James06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ardconnell House is a comfy, cosy, clean and convenient place to stay in Inverness! We had an attic room and found it perfectly fine, yes there was a sloped ceiling but to me it added to the character of the place! Our room was scrupulously clean and had generous tea and coffee making facilities. Another plus was a separate lounge area for the guests, it was that little extra that not a lot of B & B's offer.

The big plus for us were the hosts John and Elizabeth, a lovely sweet couple that we so enjoyed meeting. So helpful, so friendly, they are the reason that you stay at a B & B over a hotel.....local people running their own business.....they take pride in their B&B and you can tell they really care about their guests!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I highly recommend this great B&B with its lovely and extremely helpful hosts, John + Elizabeth. They gave me the warmest welcome and it felt like home from the start. The house as well as my room were tasteful and cosy and each night I was looking forward to the extraordinary delicious breakfast on the next morning. Ardconnel is only 5 minutes from the bus and train station and the great castle tavern. I really enjoyed my 4 nights there very much and of course will return one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ardconnel House is the perfect B&B package. The rooms are immaculate with everything you need at your fingertips. The lounge and dining areas are warm & welcoming. John and Elizabeth were friendly and helpful from the first time we emailed our enquiry right through till we said goodbye after staying there 6 days. Sue's breakfast banter is charming and sets a happy mood for the day. And you couldnt get a more convenient location - just straight down the steps and into town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had the only single room without an ensuite so instead I had a private bathroom across the passage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargRobPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ardconnel House typifies the reasons to stay at a B&B in Inverness. We stayed there for 4 nights following a hiking trip in the Outer Hebrides. We were on foot, and used busses, trains, and guides to see the areas near Inverness. Ardconnel House was clean, quiet, centrally located. Breakfasts had lots of choices of well prepared food, and the dining room was a lively place to engage other travelers thanks to the dining room hostess Sue who engaged us all. John and Elizabeth went out of their way to help with a myriad of typical, little traveler issues including excellent recommendations for sites to see and good restaurants.
We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

John and Elizabeth made us feel at home fom the moment we met them. Great advice and tips about where to eat and sightseeing trips in the area. Fantastic hosts, and dare I say, new friends. Stay here, you won't regret it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brouwertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardconnel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardconnel House B&B

Property: Ardconnel House B&B
Address: 21 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardconnel House is a perfect base for exploring the Scottish Highlands. Situated in a very quiet leafy street, guests are surprised to find it is only a few minutes walk from the city centre & all amenities, including numerous shops, restaurants, bus & rail stations. It is a very quiet and comfortable house, containing 6 comfortable & tastefully decorated bedrooms, a well appointed guest lounge with TV, DVD player, books magazines etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ardconnel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardconnel House Hotel Inverness
Ardconnel House Bed And Breakfast
Ardconnel House B&B Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing