We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Old North Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old North Inn
Ranked #177 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a quick review based on one night at the hotel. OK rooms but a little dated (very clean though). Good food. I had the homemade burger with fries and lovely salsa. Nice breakfast with tatty scone and black pudding. Friendly staff and locals. Yes Id stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
28
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

i stayed here for a couple of nights and i must say the room i had was a throw back to the eighties.....a carpet in the bathroom!!!!!! single glazed windows, very old furniture and a shower that is not the best atall........the food was lovely though and the staff very nice and courteous.........would i stay there again .......NO.

Room Tip: ask if they have a
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Didn't stay in the Inn but we did have dinner here. It was the best venison pie I have had for a long long time, and the nicest dinner for miles around. The staff were very friendly and polite. We had sticky toffee pudding for dessert, was so good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I had read some reviews about the Old North Inn before we left on vacation and was a little worried about how our stay here would be. I need not have worried at all. First - this is not a luxury 5-star hotel - my impression is that it's a good, honest family run hotel. I prefer that any day over a chain hotel. Some people had complained about the rooms being dated - this is an old building and that is to be somewhat expected. That being said, they have done some updating to the rooms and while the Inn may not be the Balmoral it's cozy, clean and wonderful to come back to after a long day out in the highlands. We had a pint in the pub most evenings after returning and the locals were alway friendly. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel restaurant (which looked very nice, by the way), unfortunately, but the breakfast each morning was wonderful. The staff go out of their way to help you and ask how your day was when you come back in the evening. If you're looking for a clean, cozy, friendly place to stay around Inverness give the Old North Inn a look. We would certainly stay here again if we go back to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Infinite_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flinders, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I will start by saying how cold it was in spring!! -0.5, it was snowing and i have never eperienced wind rattling my bones before. There is only 2 words for it. STUPIDLY COLD.
I picked this place to stay as it wasnt very far from Loch ness, which is the only thing in Scotland that we wanted to see. We had 2 nights there thinking we still wont have time to see it all. How wrong i was! Our first night was ok, we were tired from driving from Carlisle that morning so we had dinner and a pint then went to bed. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was a good size and i am ever thankfull for the heaters in both rooms, we had them cranked up to 7. I dont even know if they are meant to go that high.
We thought we were in for a big day so next morning we were up early, had a fantastic breakfast ( minus the black pudding, YUK) and set off for loch ness. I would like to say we had a great day but by 11am i couldnt wait to get back into England. I hated the area that much that we sat outside the pub in the little smoking shelter and drank the rest of the day away, got up early the next day and left without breakfast.
The old north inn is a really good place to stay (even when its freezing outside). The people are friendly, the food is good and the bed was comfortable. What a shame its in scotland as i will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here for one night as we were going to a wedding nearby. Location was perfect - there is a little noise from the road, but it's a very quiet "main" road and didn't bother us at all. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and more welcoming - the real highlight of this hotel. The room was a little dated, but big and comfortable, as well as spotlessly clean - with tea/biscuits, TV, bath and lots of hanging space in wardrobe. Cooked breakfast was delicious. Overall, a perfectly pleasant stay (for what we wanted) with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Restaurant and meal is great. The rooms need a little work. The rooms are neat and tidy ..... but they do need updating. The restaurant has been updated... but now the rooms need to be updated as well. A little bit like going back to the 70's. However, a nice place to stay and the meals are great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.4 mi away
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
Aberfeldy Lodge Guest House
#124 of 231 in Inverness
76 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#216 of 231 in Inverness
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Achnagairn Estate
Achnagairn Estate
#2 of 3 in Kirkhill
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Melrose Villa
Melrose Villa
#213 of 231 in Inverness
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Christine's Guest House
Christine's Guest House
#105 of 231 in Inverness
48 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old North Inn

Property: Old North Inn
Address: | Kirkhill, Inverness IV5 7PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old North Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old North Inn Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing