We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bog roy inn has returned in a bad way”
Review of Old North Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old North Inn
Ranked #155 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2012

we only went for the restaurant....the old north inn is no more - now under new owners and renamed bog roy inn, which is what it used to be. Food doesn't appear to be home cooked and the chef maybe new but cannot cook in a commercial kitchen as we waited over an hour for our main course. The staff said they were busy with bookings - if you know you have bookings get more staff! Still no real ale either. also new menu not very inspiring. Not keen on returning even though it is our local which would save us having to drive to our current favourite 3 miles away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have been to old north inn annually with our group for several years. Hugely dissapointed to find all the local regular staff gone including chef. The food was terrible could have gotten better in a local chippy. The food was truly awful and any complaints were not taken care of. The end of an era for us so looking out for something better.Frozen food fried does not make a restaurant,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We went for dinner as a family on Easter Sunday, on the basis of both the hotel website and past experience. The food is billed as unashamedly Scottish with nothing French or fusion etc, accompanied by a range of real ales from Skye. That has been the experience of those of our party who'd been before. So we were very disappointed, and surprised, to be given a menu comprising Cajun chicken, Thai fish cakes and other such very un-Scottish dishes! The closest to decent beer was IPA. What we had was good pub food, so if we hadn't been expecting something else we would have been happy, though certainly not wowed. However, it definitely ŵasn't what was advertised online.

The service was very good, with the vey young lad waiting on us proving that the younger generation can be lovely, polite and hard-working.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank AnnaF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We're local to the area & decided to head to The Old North for dinner as my partner didn't feel like cooking. Our meals were very good & were served quickly by a smiling & very polite young lad. I had a couple of pints of Guinness which was first class. The total bill was pretty good too. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

we had a hard time trying to find the Inn, our GPS was confused! we called for directions and the gentleman there told us to "have faith in our satellite, if we don't mind travelling over a few hills, we would be fine" well the few hills were mountains and we saw alot of interesting wild life. when we arrived one man said to us "You must be the Canadians that went through those hills, you are braver than me, I wouldn't have done that" that made us feel sooooo good. the gentleman who gave me the directions was waiting for us and made us feel at home immediately, all the staff was wonderful. yes the room was dated, but we went there to experience the real Scotland, the inns and small historic hotels, not the big chain hotels. we were absolutely delighted with our accommodations, the food and the overall experience. we would definitely stay there again. we stayed 2 nights, making the Inn our base to explore the surrounding areas, Loch Ness, Inverness, and Culloden. i must say that our visit to Culloden was one of the highlights of our trip. we arrived close to closing time, which seemed to be the theme of our trip, since travelling in the UK takes longer than what our GPS led us to believe. at Culloden, the sun was starting to set, the fog was rolling in and there was a very surreal feeling to the place, what else could one expect though as it is a grave yard. we really got a sense of all the horror that happened there, all the bloodshed, it really had a great impact on us. back to the Old North Inn, stay there, its worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a quick review based on one night at the hotel. OK rooms but a little dated (very clean though). Good food. I had the homemade burger with fries and lovely salsa. Nice breakfast with tatty scone and black pudding. Friendly staff and locals. Yes Id stay again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

i stayed here for a couple of nights and i must say the room i had was a throw back to the eighties.....a carpet in the bathroom!!!!!! single glazed windows, very old furniture and a shower that is not the best atall........the food was lovely though and the staff very nice and courteous.........would i stay there again .......NO.

Room Tip: ask if they have a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.6 mi away
Christine's Guest House
Christine's Guest House
#112 of 232 in Inverness
51 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glasdair Bed And Breakfast
Glasdair Bed And Breakfast
#122 of 232 in Inverness
64 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ord Arms
The Ord Arms
#9 of 11 in Muir of Ord
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Gun Lodge Hotel
The Gun Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ardersier
238 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#218 of 232 in Inverness
218 reviews
6.2 mi away
Parkhill Guest House
Parkhill Guest House
#139 of 232 in Inverness
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old North Inn

Address: | Kirkhill, Inverness IV5 7PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £58 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old North Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old North Inn Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing