We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at Inverglen Guest House, Inverness, Scotand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Good location. Excelent room and breakfast. Susan make a very good cake and cookies. John and Susan, the owners, were very nice and helped us with restaurants and other informations that we need. The small garden in front of the house was beautiful. We will came back if ever we go again to Inverness. Tank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Inverglen.

Please do come back and stay with your family if you visit the Highlands again! Susan promises to send you the recipe for her Breakfast Tea Loaf, so that you can try it at home.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at Inverglen for two nights in August during our week-long trip to Scotland. Of all the places we stayed, this was by far the best. John and Susan were warm, welcoming, gracious, and run a top-notch business. The room was large, very comfortable, and bright. Breakfasts were excellent. And it was a very easy walk into the heart of downtown. But by far the best part of our stay was the excellent recommendations they gave us on places to eat and things to see. One of the top days of our entire trip was a long drive to Shieldaig and Applecross that never would have happened had they not suggested it.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Firstly we're absolutely delighted that you made the trip over to Applecross and enjoyed the fabulous scenery and great drive! We think it should be a "must see" on anybody's list when they come to the Highlands, but so often people travel around from one town to the next and don't take time to really explore the beautiful countryside that is all around us here. We're looking forward to the autumn and having more time to explore it ourselves fairly soon!!!

Secondly, thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Inverness, and your trip to Scotland overall. It was great to meet you both, and we hope that your dogs were pleased to see you when you got home, and quickly got over their depression at your absence!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part as a party of four, we were visiting due to a friends wedding and John and Susan were so accomodating when I called last minute to request an early check in. They rapidly cleaned one of the rooms so that we could get ready. The rooms were immaculate and spacious. Free chilled milk and bottled water were unexpected suprises! Fantastic choice at breakfast, the menu changes daily. It's about 10 minutes walk from inverness. Cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in room one- double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinesefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us when you were up in the Highlands for your friend's wedding, and it was lovely to meet you all! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and to share your positive experiences with others. We do try our best to accommodate our guests requests for early check-ins when it is possible, so we're glad we could help on the day you were here.

Maybe we'll see you again if you fancy a trip up here to explore the sights and countryside around Inverness?

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The highlands are reknowned for their warm and welcoming hospitality and Inverglen lives up to this. John & Susan are excellent hosts providing lovely clean modern rooms, a great introduction of the places to see, best pubs etc. Its in a lovely wee street so close to the town centre but you would never know it and is very easy to find. Breakfast is fantastic, as are Susan's hombaked cakes. If I'm planning a trip to Inverness again, I know where I will be planning to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thanks for your kind review, and we are so pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us whilst you were up here for the Runrig concert. If only we could have supplied better weather to go with the cakes and breakfast!!

We would be delighted to see you again and to welcome you back to our home if ever you are in the area again!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Perfect location..plenty of parking...excellent room..Breakfast is excellent..those homemade cakes..can we have some more on our next trip please...clean friendly and welcoming what more would you ask for..just the recipe for those super cakes..we shall return.
Leslie & Millie..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thanks for your kind review, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just let us know which recipes you want, and Susan will supply them!! Many of our guests leave with recipes, and we like to think they take more than just memories of their holiday home with them.

We hope your rocks from Loch Ness and John O'Groats are safely installed in your rockery?

Look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the perfect location to see inverness. It is only a 5 minutes walk to come to the center of Inverness. The car park allows to leave the car at a save place away from the road. We had the family room which has plenty space for 4 persons. Breakfast is wonderful and John and Susan are very friendly people who always help to find best opportunities about what to visit and where to have dinner. So it was a perfect stay in Inverglen Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in Scotland, and your visit with us at Inverglen.

We are very lucky to have ample off-street parking for our guests, and to be in a quiet road but so close to the town.

Please do come back and visit us again if ever you return to holiday in the Highlands!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have stayed in Inverness and at Inverglen Guest House before, but, I can honestly say that this is the best B&B experience we have ever had.

As all the other recent reviews say, John & Susan are very welcoming and accommodating we had the twin room as it was the only room available when we booked in April (so book early), but they very kindly made it up into a super king bed which was HUGE and very comfortable.

John gave a brief talk about restaurants, things to do, events etc with tea and delicious lemon drizzle cake made by Susan. It was informative even though it is not our first visit. In fact we had never taken a walk down the River Ness before and it was lovely.

There is now a guest lounge which is decked out with all "mod-cons" including Blu-Ray player, the library and CDs. There is some wonderful photography gracing the walls too which adds to the homely and welcoming feel.

On our previous stay we came with our parents and it would have been nice to meet them before dinner in the lounge rather than waiting in the hall - the Lounge is a welcome addition and we would use it if we were with a group. I also think it's more likely to be used if you are on a longer stay - if you have 2 days in Inverness then you won't want to stay in, there's far too much to see and do.

And the Breakfast....There is now daily Special to choose from if you so wish. On our first morning I chose the Orange French Toast and it was to die for. There is lots of choice but be adventurous and try a special!

We really think that Inverglen House deserves at least a 4 star rating with the Tourist Board and wish John and Susan all the happiness in the world in their new home/venture.

Rachel&James

Room Tip: Book Early if you want a choice of room, but, it's not the end of the world if you don't bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our improvements made your holiday even better! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an informative review for other prospective guests, and hopefully we'll get to see you again when you venture up to the Highlands with your friends.

We'll be happy to give you more advice and support/training if you do decide to run your own B&B in the future! Nothing like learning from other people's experience... and Susan is always happy to share her recipes!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach Cottage B&B
Beach Cottage B&B
#4 of 232 in Inverness
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing