We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inverglen Guest House on part of our Honeymoon. We visited various parts of Ireland and Scotland, and our visit to Inverness was the highlight of our trip. This B&B is highly rated, and it did not disappoint! John and Susan were very welcoming and helpful, providing insight in all that there is to do in Inverness and the nearby area. Our room was nice and cozy, and the water pressure in the shower was amazing! They had various options for breakfast, ranging from a traditional Scottish breakfast with haggis and blood pudding to more normal fare, with one special item each morning. As we had been traveling for over a week, the laundry service was a nice service that we took full advantage of. The house is located in a residential neighborhood, but it is a short walk down the hill into the center of town, with plenty of options for shopping and dining. We were only there for two nights, but I wish it would have been longer. I look forward to making a return trip to Inverness at some point in the future.

-J & M from US

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review for us. We really appreciate the feedback we get from our guests, and any suggestions for improvements that we can make. If only you had told us you were on your honeymoon, we would have made more fuss of you!!
Anyway, we are really pleased to have met you both, and are glad you had such a great time in Inverness - please do come back and see us again if you return to the area.

Kind regards Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
269
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

John and Susan have a way of making you feel comfortable and welcome. I am a senior citizen and was traveling alone. I arrived late in the evening but they still greeted me with smiles! Even when my son called later that evening (after I had gone to bed) to make sure I had arrived safely, John assured him, cheerfully my son says, that the call wasn't a bother. The location is great, the room and en suite bath roomy and clean. Susan makes shortbread biscuits (yum!) and puts them on the tray in the room that has the coffee/tea pot and cup. The food is very, very good. Susan packed me a lovely, big breakfast to take with me the day my tour left the bus station at 7:15 a.m.! John provided me with a map of Inverness, directions, and restaurant suggestions. They are great Innkeepers and I would recommend the Inverglen to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Inverness.

Room Tip: John and Susan choose the room for me and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strangetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a delight to meet you and to share your joy and excitement about visiting Orkney after your 30 years of planning!! Maybe next time you visit you will be able to stay with us for a bit longer, and spend some more time visiting the historic sites up on the islands?

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Leakey's bookshop in the town, and hope that you didn't have to pay excess baggage on the airline with all your new purchases! I'm sure all your family will enjoy hearing the tales of your trip to the Highlands now that you are home, and sharing all the reading treasures that you bought.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Two friends and I stayed at Inverglen for 5 nights at the end of August. What a lovely welcome: tea accompanied by the most delicious chocolate and banana muffins, baked by Susan, and a very useful 'welcome talk' by John. His ongoing advice regarding day trips enabled us to enjoy some fantastic scenery. We occupied the family room, which was just perfect, and so was our entire stay. There were several options for breakfast to choose from, all delicious, and the accommodation was clean and offered everything we needed. Though within easy walking distance to Inverness city centre, the street was very quiet. John and Susan are very friendly and helpful hosts - the best ever, I am sure.
We all agreed: next time we visit Inverness, we would not want stay anywhere else but at Inverglen.
Thank you, John and Susan, for making our stay at your house perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Inverglen, and thank you so much for taking time to write a review for us. We're really pleased that the hints and tips helped you to make the most of your stay here, and that you were able to plan your outings to take advantage of the best weather!

We'll be delighted to welcome you back to our home whenever you next visit Inverness!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Good location. Excelent room and breakfast. Susan make a very good cake and cookies. John and Susan, the owners, were very nice and helped us with restaurants and other informations that we need. The small garden in front of the house was beautiful. We will came back if ever we go again to Inverness. Tank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Inverglen.

Please do come back and stay with your family if you visit the Highlands again! Susan promises to send you the recipe for her Breakfast Tea Loaf, so that you can try it at home.

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at Inverglen for two nights in August during our week-long trip to Scotland. Of all the places we stayed, this was by far the best. John and Susan were warm, welcoming, gracious, and run a top-notch business. The room was large, very comfortable, and bright. Breakfasts were excellent. And it was a very easy walk into the heart of downtown. But by far the best part of our stay was the excellent recommendations they gave us on places to eat and things to see. One of the top days of our entire trip was a long drive to Shieldaig and Applecross that never would have happened had they not suggested it.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Firstly we're absolutely delighted that you made the trip over to Applecross and enjoyed the fabulous scenery and great drive! We think it should be a "must see" on anybody's list when they come to the Highlands, but so often people travel around from one town to the next and don't take time to really explore the beautiful countryside that is all around us here. We're looking forward to the autumn and having more time to explore it ourselves fairly soon!!!

Secondly, thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Inverness, and your trip to Scotland overall. It was great to meet you both, and we hope that your dogs were pleased to see you when you got home, and quickly got over their depression at your absence!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part as a party of four, we were visiting due to a friends wedding and John and Susan were so accomodating when I called last minute to request an early check in. They rapidly cleaned one of the rooms so that we could get ready. The rooms were immaculate and spacious. Free chilled milk and bottled water were unexpected suprises! Fantastic choice at breakfast, the menu changes daily. It's about 10 minutes walk from inverness. Cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in room one- double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinesefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us when you were up in the Highlands for your friend's wedding, and it was lovely to meet you all! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and to share your positive experiences with others. We do try our best to accommodate our guests requests for early check-ins when it is possible, so we're glad we could help on the day you were here.

Maybe we'll see you again if you fancy a trip up here to explore the sights and countryside around Inverness?

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The highlands are reknowned for their warm and welcoming hospitality and Inverglen lives up to this. John & Susan are excellent hosts providing lovely clean modern rooms, a great introduction of the places to see, best pubs etc. Its in a lovely wee street so close to the town centre but you would never know it and is very easy to find. Breakfast is fantastic, as are Susan's hombaked cakes. If I'm planning a trip to Inverness again, I know where I will be planning to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for your kind review, and we are so pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us whilst you were up here for the Runrig concert. If only we could have supplied better weather to go with the cakes and breakfast!!

We would be delighted to see you again and to welcome you back to our home if ever you are in the area again!

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 247 in Inverness
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#2 of 247 in Inverness
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Property: Inverglen Guest House
Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing