We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a great time at Inverglen. The place is barely 8-10 minutes walk for the main tourist area.
A few days before we landed, John was kind enough to actually email and suggest that he make dinner reservations for us as the restaurants were very busy at that time. It was a great idea. They were great and even printed out a few emails for us. The rooms were spotless and had giant windows. There was a litlle common fridge for us to store our personal drinks and the complimentary bottled water was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Akrita

Thank so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you also had a great time during the rest of your trip to Scotland.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our 3 night stay was perfect and our hosts very warm and helpful suggesting local sights and getting some needed supplies in town. Great breakfast. 5-10 minute walk to city center with many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found John's hints and tips were helpful.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland, and hope to see you again if you ever visit the Highlands again.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Absolute perfection. We have stayed in several guest houses and hotels in Inverness over the years and Inverglen is at the very top of the list. Spotlessly clean and John and Susan were attentive far beyond the call of duty. Nothing was too much trouble and even the unofficial greeter (Domino the cat, who does NOT live in the house!!) was welcoming. No hesitation in recommending to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi John

Thanks so much for your kind review - it was great to meet you both! First time we've ever had a Mastermind finalist as a guest - what a treat!! We'll look out for your wife and son on the show in the future - a family full house would be a real coup.

Just after you left, we ended up having to take Domino to the vet - his owner was away, and he was limping really badly. He's all recovered now, but he's giving our chair a miss for a while (I think he's wary of ending up there again!!)

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Perfect guest house - perfect hosts. Everything was 100% from the cleanliness and decor of the room to the hospitality provided by the owners. Made to feel welcome from the outset with cup of tea and cake on arrival. Small fridge on upstairs landing with bottled water and extra milk was an added bonus. Lovely breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Although only stayed one night would definitely be our first choice for future visits to Inverness. {Hope the chair is ok!) The home-baked shortbread was delicious. Many thanks for all your help.
Tony & Eileen Henry

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Eileen &Tony

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - it was so lovely to meet you both, albeit for a flying one night visit! We hope you got to see your neice's new house, and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip without further incident!! Rest assured, the chair is fine!

Look forward to seeing you again if you come back to Inverness.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

There is no other place on this site than to be #1 for the Inverglen Guest House! We have been twice and will definitely be back again and would have no doubt about recommending to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area. Susan and John are very welcoming and have great local knowledge, John's photography is very professional and Susan's cooking is outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for coming back to see us at Inverglen, and for taking the time to write a lovely review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback from our guests, and John will be delighted that you enjoyed his photography! He's really excited that it's coming up to autumn (and fewer guests) so he'll be able to get out and about and bag a few more masterpieces!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Believe all the good things you've heard!!! Susan and John are so friendly and accommodating. The guest house is beautiful with great updates (the shower was better than mine at home!). The room was spacious and clean, the beds and linens were comfy and pretty. Great coffee/tea set up in room as well as delicious homemade shortbread! Breakfasts were delicious. Susan is quite the cook!! They made great recommendations for what to do and see (and the recommendations were spot on!). Great location too - short walk to eveything (including train and bus stations). We hope to be able to stay there again someday. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Susan

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and anytime you come back to the highlands, it would be our pleasure to see you again!

The secret to the showers is having a pressurised storage tank for the hot water! No noisy pumps to disturb the other guests, and it really is very efficient!

Email us if you'd like the shortbread recipe - we're happy to share.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Susan and John are lovely hosts and make you feel right at home from the moment you set foot in the door. After travelling almost 2 days the cup of tea, cake and a chance to unwind and unburden is most welcome.
The room was sweet,spacious, and well fitted, the bed is divine!! The coffee bar is well stocked and theres nothing like home baked shortbread and a cuppa first thing in the morning.
Then there is the breakfast......Wow... delicious is the best word I can think of!! And if you get a chance try the breakfast muffins!!!
The location is handy and a short walk to the high street makes it easy to have a bit of a shop.
All in all wonderful stay with welcoming hosts. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenusM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi Venus

Well after all that planning and preparing, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Scotland to celebrate your milestone birthday, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I hope you got to use the summer clothes that you had to buy for our mini heatwave during the rest of your trip?

Let us know how you got on up in the North and on your tour of the islands - hope you had enough novels with you to keep you going? If you can persuade your sister to come with you next time, we'd be really happy to welcome you both back to our home.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.0 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing