We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inverglen Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
522
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusan and johnhomemade shortbreadwonderful hostsguest housebreakfast was deliciousa quiet residential areadinner reservationsrooms are spaciousresidents loungeon arrivalshort walkstayed longerwarm welcometown centrewonderful staythought of everythingfruit salad
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 8 nights, great place, great people, nothing too much trouble, John and Susan are very knowledgeable on Inverness and surrounding area. Immaculately clean with very comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Lovely touch is fridge on guest landing with fresh milk and bottled water. Don't miss Susan's home made shortbread, make sure you get the recipe. Convenient location, 10 minute walk to city and rail station, but in a quiet area. Would stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi David

Thanks so much for your kind review - it was lovely to meet you both during your train journey holiday in the Highlands.

Hope your take-away breakfast sustained you on the long trip home, and that Gail has made more of those shortbread biscuits for you since you've been home!!

We would love to see you again if you venture back north of the border.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night during a three-day tour of the Highlands. Our hosts welcomed us with tea and fresh goodies; offered tips for for dinner and information on the city. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed; the bed was exceptionally comfortable; and breakfast the next morning was delicious. John and Susan are perfect hosts and comfortable with their guests. It is a very well run establishment! We were sorry we could only stay for one night, and would definitely make a point of visiting again when we next have the opportunity to be in Inverness. Can't imagine anywhere else would be better!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zazzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hello to you both, and thanks so much for writing such a lovely review for us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and hope to see you for longer next time you come to visit Inverness - there is so much to see in this area that I'm sure there will be plenty to keep you occupied if you come back!!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a 3 night stay at Inverglen during our recent Highland tour and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Inverness. John and Susan and very welcoming and are always on hand to provide knowledge and guidance about things to see and do and places to eat. The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed there is also a large guest lounge. Breakfast is very nice with Susan providing daily specials as a nice alternative to the usual fried breakfast (although the full breakfast are lovely.)
The house is conveniently located above the town centre and is only a short 10 minute walk down into Inverness, which I was surprised to find is a lovely town, especially down by the river.
We had a lovely stay at Inverglen and would recommend anyone staying in Inverness to look no further than Inverglen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishbone5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi guys

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your tour of the highlands.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and would be delighted to welcome you back to Inverglen if ever you are up this way again.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights from 4th October 2013 for our honeymoon.

Firstly we were welcomed at the door and taken into the guests living room where we were given a lovely fresh coffee and delicious home made cake.

We were given a detailed map of Inverness centre and John and Susan spent quite a while answering our questions about the local area including recommending days out and restaurants and pubs to visit.

I had planned this honeymoon trip for quite sometime and had requested certain things to be done.

When we entered our room we were greeted by a bunch of beautiful Scottish flowers locally made chocolates and a congratulations card for getting married. What a great start to our honeymoon!

The breakfast choice was extensive everyday with a choice of cereals, fruit salads, yoghurts followed by a choice of 4 breakfasts and the hosts special breakfast which changed daily and are well worth checking out.

At breakfast the hosts were so helpful in plotting our days out and offering recommendations of where to eat. You really are spoiled for choice of eateries in Inverness.

We cannot wait to go back to Inverglen and Inverness!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mrs_Seed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hello to you both, and hope the honeymoon continues even though you are back to reality!

Thanks so much for writing a review for us, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that in some small way we helped you to make the most of your time in Inverness as you start married life together.

We look forward to seeing pictures of your honeymoon scrapbook, and hope to see you both again one day.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for an all-too-short night in the middle of a tour of the Highlands. We were warmly greeted by John and Susan, who immediately offered us coffee, tea, and homemade treats, and chatted with us for awhile, giving us tips about Inverness, where to eat, what tours to take, etc. I must say, I was left very sorry that we were only there one night!

This friendly couple pays attention to all the details, whether it's real flowers in your room, a map to help you around town, a menu the night before for breakfast (so that your choices -- and the choices are great -- are ready for you right away), and a book in your room with all the tips you'll need. This is not to say they are in your face -- not at all, but just enough.

The location is a short 10-minute walk from downtown, close enough to walk and far enough back to avoid the noise of a busy Inverness Saturday night. The room itself was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The food was wonderful. And I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review - we feel very privileged to be the recipients of your first 5 out of 5 review! If you do come back this way again, please come and stay for longer!!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Scotland as much as your stay in Inverness.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews