We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There is not one aspect of our experience at Inverglen that could have been improved on. Susan is right at the top of all the chefs and bakers we have encountered in many stays in guesthouses in the UK and Ireland (wow, the muffins)! John is unsurpassed in his recommendations of restaurants, tourist routes and attractions - what really sets him apart is that he does not just recommend, he goes the next step and makes all reservations, including lining up a taxi service in another town to pick up the spouses who didn't have a car that day. We stayed a week, but we can't wait to stay again.

Among John's recommendations, two attractions stand out - Benromach Distillery and Culloden Battlefield. Castle Tavern and Cawdor Tavern were two of our favorite eating/drinking places. If you go to Castle Tavern on Friday or Saturday night, the bartender upstairs is an IT trainer who bartends just for fun - and he is a whoot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golftraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello and thanks so much for writing such a wonderful review for us - we are both blushing with all those lovely compliments. We both really enjoy helping our guests to get the most out of their trip, and it's great when we get such positive feedback!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that your holiday improved after the unlucky start with the delay of your golf clubs from the flight. You were so lucky with such fantastic weather for your entire stay, so we'll be really happy to see you again in the future, especially if you can bring that sunshine back with you!!!

Hope to see you again back in the Highlands to play all those courses that you missed on this trip! Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Inverglen Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

John & Susan are excellent hosts. There are many options for breakfasts, all tasty. The house is located close to city center & train station - about a 10 minute walk. The best part of our 1-week stay at the house was the very knowledgeable travel advice from John & Susan. This included restaurant suggestions & reservations, preferred routes to small towns, things to do & see. We were especially pleased that a taxi was arranged for us for travel from a city 2-hours from Inverness to another location. Susan even did our laundry! I cannot imagine a better place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello Kay - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It was our pleasure to meet you, and we are delighted that you appreciated the help and advice we gave you and that it helped to make your stay even more enjoyable! I'm sure you will have some fabulous memories of your trip, and hope you have some great photos too.

Hope your leg improves soon, and that you'll be fighting fit for another stay in the Highlands in the near future. In the meantime, you'll have to bake those muffins from the recipe I gave you for a little taste of Scotland every now and then!

Kind regards, Susan & John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Inverglen was recommended to us for a 5 day stay in Inverness. It surely is a great find & deserving of TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence winner (for 2013 and 2014) Hosts Susan & John are just a brilliant hosting team in making guests welcome & settled. Loads of extra local advice is on hand where needs be- routes to scenic & off the beaten paths & spots, weather forecasts,where to head to for eating out etc.
Everything the http://www.inverglenguesthouse.co.uk says about what Inverglen offers is absolutely spot on & more ! So near city centre- you can leave the car parked up safely in the rear off road car park.
Good food is definitely guaranteed & served fresh & to order on an individual choice basis from the breakfast menu. One bonus is you can order your exact cooked breakfast food preference the night before & give a preferred time. Susan's cooking & also her baking skills are 2nd to none as she bakes the cakes offered with tea on arrival & then there's her baked shortbread biscuits in the rooms.
The twin room was spotless and there were extras touches - comfortable & well dressed beds with quality linen., A landing fridge with fresh mini jugs of milk & bottled water, linen and the guest lounge which was home from home to relax in at the end of the day. Oh & I can't forget their garden bird feeders whose little feathered visitors offer interesting activity & amusement to look out onto.We shall definitely be recommending Inverglen to anyone who needs top class guest house accomodation in Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheelers0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello Ladies

Wow, thank you so much for such a glowing review! You really did enjoy yourselves!! We are delighted that you did, and thanks for letting us share in all the wedding excitement and seeing you all glammed up for the special day. We hope you had a great visit with your friend on the way back down to Manchester, and if you are ever in this area again, please come back and see us.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A warm welcome by John and Susan to a very clean, tidy and well organised guest house. A desire to satisfy every individual's needs whether it be guidance on local information i.e. restaurants, places to visit or specific dietary/culinary requirements, nothing was too much trouble. Attention to detail - I could not find any fault. Situated about a10 minute walk from the main high street and the railway station (unfortunately uphill). Spacious bedroom with comfortable bed. It made my visit to Inverness a memorable and enjoyable experience. A guest house I would certainly recommend and revisit when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Ian

Thanks so much for writing a review for us, and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you came back again after your trip further north! We hope that you continue to feel better, and look forward to seeing you again if you venture back to the Highlands,

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for two nights as part of a long cycle tour. On our arrival we were greeted like long lost friends and given tea and cake. So welcoming. John and Susan were wonderful hosts throughout our stay and couldn't have done more for us.
We used two of their recommended restaurants during our stay and both were great value for money.
The accommodation was excellent, matched by the choices at breakfast, and the number of small extras provided made it hard to imagine a better place to stop.
Our only disappointment was we couldn't stay longer!
We would recommend, without hesitation, the Inverglen to anyone wanting to stay in or near Inverness.

Room Tip: Just book! The Inverglen is in a quiet residential area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Kev - We hope that you and Ali are making good progress on the journey to Lands End and that the legs are holding up well.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and we love meeting people who have fantastic stories to tell. We are most impressed with your more relaxed approach to the long distance cycling thing and are sure that it is the way to do it.

We hope that you may find your way back to Inverness at some time and we'd be delighted if you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Absolute Pleasure to stay with John and Susan. They are without a doubt two of the most helpful and lovely people we've come across while travelling throughout the UK.
Both of them are so attentive and obviously know the area inside out and are more than willing to share trips and traps with you! We were made to feel so welcome from the outset and it really was like staying with friends.
The location is brilliant, 2 minutes from town and ona quiet street.
On to the breakfasts!! Susan has a special "daily" breakfast that you can order and I have to say - they're amazing. She also makes the best poached eggs in the business.
Highly highly recommend the Inverglen Guest House

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahghL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnF62, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Sarah - Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really like helping people get the most out of their trip to the Scottish Highlands and helping them discover places they may otherwise have missed.

We are indeed lucky to have such a great location. No many places so close to the town centre are so quiet.

Once again Susan's breakfasts have been a hit and we pride ourselves in offering a wide choice that goes beyond the typical offerings.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A wonderful B & B - a beautiful house, excellent facilities, amazing breakfast, and easy walking distance to town. John and Susan's warm welcome and enthusiastic hospitality throughout our stay were beyond expectations. Their hints on what to do and see in the area were reliable and helpful. We highly recommend Inverglen. Thank you John and Susan!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dldmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello there! Thanks for taking time to write a review for us, and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Plockton and then Ireland after you left us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at Inverglen, and anytime you're back in this area, please come and stay again. Safe travels, Susan & John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#7 of 232 in Inverness
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 232 in Inverness
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing