We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Accommodations & Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Inverglen Guest House was our third B&B that we stayed at on our two week visit to Scotland. Susan and John are the perfect Innkeepers. Their accommodations, breakfasts and information are all first class. We can only echo many of the other reviews, it is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the Highlands. We took advantage of their laundry service and recommendations and were never disappointed. Hats off to a great place and even greater hosts.

Room Tip: We had a back room and never heard any street noise or other guests. Although it is a very quiet ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello Thomas, and thank you so much for your kind review.

We're so happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to assist you whilst you were here by doing some laundry and helping to plan your days! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the UK, and maybe if you return to the Highlands, you will come and stay again.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife & I loved our stay at Inverglen. John & Susan were extremely helpful in all respects, including making two excellent dinner recommendations for us, and they serve an very nice breakfast. The house is in a great location, a short walk to the city centre, and yet in a very quiet residential area.

And if you need a gym, the local public facility is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Robert

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate all the feedback that we get from our guests, and we're delighted that you enjoyed the facilities at Inverness Leisure Centre for your gym trip.

We hope you had a great last few days in Scotland after you left us, and we'd be delighted to see you again if you are ever back in the Highlands for another visit.

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We received the warmest welcome, that was possible. Separate gluten-free pastries and tea. With genuine interest for our trip. With good advices how we at places of entertainment. Everything nice. A nice room, a breakfast for our onward journey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Alette

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Inverglen, and your night out on the town at Hootenany's! We hope you both had an uneventful and pleasant onward journey back to The Netherlands, and that if you are planning a return journey to Inverness in the future, that you will come back and stay with us again!

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This guest house run by John and Sue, could not be better. The rooms are beautifully decorated with excellent attention to detail. The beds are very comfortable and you have all the comforts of home (but with home shortcake biscuits with your tea) They provide you with all the things you need to make your stay the best and have excellent local knowledge on the places to visit and eat. Sue's cooking is brilliant and their breakfast gets you off the a great start everyday. In fact you'll probably want to take her home with you at the end of your stay. Their welcoming nature just makes you feel so relaxed and you know your in capable hands.This was our second stay with John and Sue and we will definitely coming back.
They are located in a central position not fat from the main town with it's shops and restaurants and also within walking distances of the main line railway station. A lovely place to visit and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: They are all fabulous but the triple room is my favourite x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJODel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Erika & Scott

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us, and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as the first! At least the weather this time was much nicer than your first trip - bet no-one believed you had been to the Highlands when you went home with a tan!!!

John says he won't let me go home with any of the guests, so it looks as though the best I will be able to do is share my recipes for people to take home, then they can enjoy a little taste of Inverglen from time to time!

Look forward to seeing you again when you come back, and we're delighted that your trip had you back behind the lens after a wee while - hope there are some competition winners amongst those shots! Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the warm welcome on arrival, the standard & attention to detail in the rooms & all the suggestions for sight seeing & eating out, we couldn't have had any better hosts than Susan & John. Inverglen really does deserve its five star rating. We have been travelling for 5 weeks in the UK & haven't found another property to match it. Susan's cooking is wonderful & the breakfast "special" each day ensured that there was always something to look forward to. We would recommend Inverglen to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Sandra

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for us - we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that the rest of your trip, including your time in the Lake District was as enjoyable.

We trust you had a safe journey back home, and hope you will come and stay again if you ever come back to the Highlands! Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our third visit to Inverglen Guest house in the past four years. Second time with John and Susan as the hosts. We chose to stay at Inverglen again this year for 2 nights prior to our wedding celebrations in the Highlands. In fact, we pretty much took over the guest house for the weekend with our family.

What can I say....from Welcome to leaving the John and Susan are Fab. Such fonts of knowledge on the local area and good places to visit. Many of which we will visit next time we are up in Scotland as we didn't have the time to try them out on our most recent visit.

The welcome cake was to die for. Banana and Pecan - gorgeous. It's lovely to just take a breather and have a cup of tea and a slice of cake before you get settled in your room as sometimes the travelling can be quite tiring.

Rooms are very clean and well decorated. I slept very well which is a miracle seeing as that week I couldn't sleep properly!

There was a wide variety of food and drink for breakfast. I would recommend trying the specials. The best thing about breakfast to my mind, aside the fab food is the fact you don't feel rushed at all. In some places we've stayed in the past it's felt like the hosts want you out as quickly as possible but this is DEFINITELY NOT the case at Inverglen. It felt like you could spend at least an hour just watching the birds in the garden and leisurely having breakfast.

Also, I should mention that Inverglen is less than 5 minutes walk into Inverness City Centre where there are plenty of places to eat during the evening and if you fancy a trip to the cinema, its 5 minutes drive to the nearest Vue.

Definitely the best guest house in Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi Rachel

Thanks so much for writing such a great review for us, and we are so pleased that you chose to stay here, and to recommend us to your family for your wedding weekend. Your aunties shared some of the wedding photos with us, so it was lovely to finally see "the dress", having only had a glimpse of the shape under the duvet cover!!! You looked beautiful, and both you and James looked really happy - congratulations again!

Keep your eyes on the Facebook posts, as I don't think the Banana Pecan loaf has made it onto the recipe log yet! Wishing you many, many years of wedded bliss together, and hope to see you again on your travels to the Highlands,

Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There is not one aspect of our experience at Inverglen that could have been improved on. Susan is right at the top of all the chefs and bakers we have encountered in many stays in guesthouses in the UK and Ireland (wow, the muffins)! John is unsurpassed in his recommendations of restaurants, tourist routes and attractions - what really sets him apart is that he does not just recommend, he goes the next step and makes all reservations, including lining up a taxi service in another town to pick up the spouses who didn't have a car that day. We stayed a week, but we can't wait to stay again.

Among John's recommendations, two attractions stand out - Benromach Distillery and Culloden Battlefield. Castle Tavern and Cawdor Tavern were two of our favorite eating/drinking places. If you go to Castle Tavern on Friday or Saturday night, the bartender upstairs is an IT trainer who bartends just for fun - and he is a whoot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golftraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello and thanks so much for writing such a wonderful review for us - we are both blushing with all those lovely compliments. We both really enjoy helping our guests to get the most out of their trip, and it's great when we get such positive feedback!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that your holiday improved after the unlucky start with the delay of your golf clubs from the flight. You were so lucky with such fantastic weather for your entire stay, so we'll be really happy to see you again in the future, especially if you can bring that sunshine back with you!!!

Hope to see you again back in the Highlands to play all those courses that you missed on this trip! Kind regards, Susan & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.0 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing