We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverglen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Bedrooms were warm and cozy. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious!! The guest house is close to downtown Inverness and John and Susan are the friendliest people ever. We had a wonderful stay and we will definitely recommend this guest house to our friends!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Emily

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - it was great to meet you all when you stayed with us, and we're really happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and that your trip to the Highlands was such fun for you all. You were very lucky with the weather mind!!!

Hope to see you again if you come back to Scotland, Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
290
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Let me start out by saying John and Susan were THE BEST host and hostess. If all our guest house experiences could have been this pleasant we would have been thrilled! They made us feel so at home for the two nights we spent with them. They offer tea each afternoon though we didn’t partake, Susan posted the “special” for breakfast the night before. She is a baker and shows it off well. Both John and Susan were very helpful with directions and other general questions we had as visitors to Scotland.

The room with twin beds was spacious enough and offered a medium sized bathroom. Washcloths were provided with the other towels. Two pillows per bed with poofy comforters. A hairdryer was also in the dresser drawer. The password for wi-fi was provided on a laminated card in the room.

Located within 10 minutes of walking to the town for dinner and shopping.

Room Tip: Any of them would suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Deborah

Thanks so much for posting your kind review of Inverglen, and both John & I are so happy that you and your friends all enjoyed your "retirement" trip to Scotland so much, including your stay with us!

We hope the rest of your trip was fun too, and that you took home some wonderful memories and photos with you. Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If Inverness is your destination then Inverglen Guesthouse is definitely the place to stay. Superb accommodation, excelent food all put together by Susan and John who give the warmest welcome you could wish for. A short walk to the town ,( a leisurely 15 mins,), Susan and John know all the good places to eat and all the places to visit while in Inverness. This was our second stay at Inverglen.
Thank you to you both and we hope to see you again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Julie

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us - it was great to see you both again, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay as much as the first time!

I'm sure there's still more to do and see in the area to bring you back up to the tropical north! So until next time...

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Totally agree with all reviews of this first class guest house. Susan and John could not be more welcoming at their lovely home. Key points are quality, cleanliness, and friendliness..Delightful room with lots of thoughtful touches., delicious breakfasts and home baking, all accompanied by helpful information, warmth, and humour. We would recommend Inverglen wholeheartedly, and look forward to hopefully a return in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large, and quiet at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Sandra
Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review for us - we really appreciate getting feedback from our guests, as it helps us to know when we're getting things right, as well as areas that we might need to improve! You were so lucky with the weather for your train trip across to Kyle of Lochalsh - you must have waited so many years to do the trip to get the most perfect day that you could wish for!!!
We look forward to seeing you and John again in the autumn when you come back!
Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

John and Susan really took care of us from John giving great directions to various points to Susan's delicious breakfasts. The location can't be beat. On a quiet street that's a 5 minute walk to the center of town or a short drive to the main drag out of town. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Our 3 day stay was the most enjoyable of any of the B & B's that we stayed at during our 10 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Paul

Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review for us - we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Inverglen as part of your trip to celebrate your birthday. You both certainly packed a lot into your 3 day stay, what with the golf at Dornoch and the cycle ride around Loch Ness! We'll have to give the cycling tour a try once we come to the end of the summer season.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and if you come back to the Highlands again, we'd be delighted to see you next time. Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely guesthouse with delicious breakfast and gracious hosts. We enjoyed our stay and especially enjoyed talking to our hosts. They were very helpful and knowledgable about the area.they helped us plan a hike. We would stay again and recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rusty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi guys - thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Inverglen, and found our hints and tips helpful in getting the most out of your holiday.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the UK, and hope to see you again if you decide to come back to the Highlands,

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at John and Susan's guest house for 5 days and loved every minute. They take care in every detail and we were totally spoiled by the soft bed and fabulous breakfasts - as well as the careful attention to us as guests. Susan loves to cook and her breakfasts are incredible. She loves to try new things but even her standard breakfast items (the cheesy scrambled eggs were fabulous!) are miles above anything we've ever experienced while travelling. She has one special item on the menu which changes every day and by the 5th day, we were adding that special item (usually home-baked muffins or waffles) to our regular eggs or porridge (and didn't need to eat again until late in the day). She family-tests these new items before they are offered to guests but my guess is that everything passes the test because she just knows what's going to be good. John, on the other hand, is the quieter one but with a great sense of humour and he is also a great photographer. His many pictures line the walls of their guest rooms and I now have one in my own living room. Inverness is such a great central place to use as a home base and we highly recommend this guest house to everyone who visits this great city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Quotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverSue, Owner at Inverglen Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello Kris

Thanks so much for writing such a lovely review - we do indeed love what we do, and it's so different from our old lives that it doesn't always feel like "work"!!! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will continue to have fond memories of Scotland when you look at your photograph.

(Susan is still laughing about John being the quiet one - if only you knew!!!)

Kind regards, Susan & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverglen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverglen Guest House

Property: Inverglen Guest House
Address: 7 Abertarff Road, Inverness IV2 3NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverglen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverglen is a Victorian stone villa built in 1894 with many traditional features as well as modern comforts. Our B&B is situated in the quiet residential Crown area, which is only five minutes walk to the centre of Inverness. Therefore, the range of shops, restaurants & pubs are easily visited, while leaving your car in our private car park.The Inverness Railway Station and Inverness Bus Station are also only 5 to 10 minutes walk away or, if your cases are heavy, a very short and inexpensive taxi ride. Inverness Airport is only 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inverglen Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing