We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strathness House
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Inverness(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathmount Hotel(Inverness)
US$217
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redcliffe Hotel(Inverness)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Inverness Fairways(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
327
113
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
113
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaved and joanthe riverguest houseb bno liftroom was a bit smallinverness castlestreet parkingthird floorfantastic locationcontinental breakfastshort walkbreakfast was excellenteden court theatrestayed one nighta lovely staycity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

By far the best place we stayed in this whole trip. We loved this place. Joan was very helpful. Food was great, we were vegetarians and they tried to send us out happy. Room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WajSankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Beautiful room, beautiful location by the river Ness. But thats not it, the best is that the couple that runs this place are awesome. They are very friendly, courteous and helpful. We had a nice chat with them, and they were ready to help with anything. The lounge is beautiful, and breakfast is very good, especially the potato scones. You should definitely stay here if you are in Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I were very fortunate to have booked a room at the Strathness House. What a great location! Strathness is located right on the river Ness just across the river from Inverness Castle and the town center. We must say that it was the best location for any place we stayed in Scotland. All of Inverness was within walking distance and the view from the room was simply spectacular. Joan was a wonderful hostess, and the Strathness is an amazing place to stay while in Inverness. A little note that we only had one day in Inverness but would have loved at least two as it was a great little city.

The room had a spectacular view with comfortable beds and plenty of room to get about. Free wifi, coffee service and an en suite bathroom really made the place complete. I will say that the shower is very small. So for guys it can be a little tricky to get clean without getting banged up a little. It should not deter you from staying here - just know before you step in. We would definitely recommend Strathness as the place to stay in Inverness. You really cannot beat the view, accommodations, and location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I was travelling with a small touring group, using single night accommodation stops along the way. We chose Strathness House due to the already excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disaapointed. Very clean and tidy, very nice room with all necessary facilities, very comfortable residents lounge with views of the River Ness, very nice 'cooked to order' breakfast, very pleasant staff, and a most welcoming and attentive host - and all this for less than the price of 'room only' in a Premier Inn !! - need I say more ..........

Room Tip: Ask for a front room - have views of River Ness
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HondaSP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I recently stayed at the Strathness with a group of friends.
A fantastic location, close to town and overlooking the river Ness.
The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, chatting about our trip to the Highlands before showing us up to our rooms.
My room at the back of the hotel was plenty big enough, and spotlessly clean.
At the back, it was silent and I slept very well.
Breakfast the following morning was good. All the normal stuff, but well presented and hot.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews