We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the Loch Ness River”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathness House
Ranked #19 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A gem on the Loch Ness River”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were on our way to Scotland and found this little gem guest house on our trip advisor search. We called and Joan was very accommodating. She answered all of our questions promptly and knowledgeably. Once we arrived we immediately took in the river that sits along the edge of the road, the quaint atmosphere and the lovely, not to mention, spotless room. We were very impressed. During the evenings the cool breeze and gentle rush of the river's water lulled us off to dreamland. Breakfast in the morning was served in a bright and cheery room along with all the items, hot and cold, that you would enjoy for nourishment at home. The staff on hand was also bright and cheery, as well as helpful The lounge area was inviting and could have been a room in your own home. Overall, our stay in Inverness was made complete by this gem of a guest house. Our plan is to eventually return to Inverness, just as long as Strathness House is available, of course!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annasakellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
223
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I organised a trip to the Highlands for a group of American friends and we took the Strathness House over for a week, all 12 rooms. We had a most enjoyable stay. Everybody without exception in our party was full of praise for the help the owners gave us, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were wonderful hosts. The Guest House had an excellent lounge available to us and the outstanding breakfasts were cooked to perfection. The rooms were clean with very good bathrooms recently refurbished. Room facilities included wifi, tv, tea and coffee with cookies, fresh towels daily and power showers.
The position of Strathness House on the banks of the River Ness is perfect, it sits on the 'strip' that has the towns best restaurants which you can amble to with a lovely walk along the river.
We all had a fantastic stay, thanks Strathness House for making our visit one to remember, it was superb, 10 out of ten!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeN593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped in. The Strathness House is a beautiful, extremely well located building facing the river Ness. The hosts are perfect and do everythiing to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Everything in Inverness is just a short walk away.

We stayed there for 2 nights and found everything to our satisfaction. The room though a bit small ( also because we were three) was comfortable, neat and clean and so was the ensuite. The room had a nice view of the river Ness which was a plus.

The bathroom could do with a small improvement - wash basins could be fixed with mixers so that one can get water of the the right temperature, The shower was perfect and so was the temperature control of the water..

The host was extremely helpful and gave us great advice on pubs and restaurants which we found were just what we wanted. His advice on touring the area and visiting places was spot on and we were able to enjoy the real beauty of Scotland.

Breakfast is just right with a choice of juices, cereals and eggs,
Parking is no issue as the street in front has paid parking and space was always available.

I would definetly recommend Strathness House to anyone visiting Inverness.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the river Ness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pravine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very accomodating staff who gave great advice for things to do / eat in Inverness. Rooms and breakfast were unremarkable. Street parking was no problem. Nice view of the river.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ericnelson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

We had an absolutely fabulous couple of days at Strathness House, the first part of our Highlands tour. We arrived a little early but the owners were happy to take in our bags until the rooms were ready, and gave us the wifi codes so we could catch up in the lounge. We went out for a bit of lunch and when we got back our room was ready. We were checked in by Javed, one of the friendliest people we've ever met! He took the time to welcome us, and then gave us a detailed lowdown on both Inverness itself and some suggestions for some sightseeing the next day. We took his recommendations of the tour north, and didn't regret it!

The room itself was very nice, we had 12 on the top floor, on the corner with a lovely view of the River Ness. The room was comfortable, clean and the ensuite was new and in great condition. Very comfortable, nice and quiet, just what we were looking for!

Breakfast is lovely, there's a good selection of juices, cereal, fruit and plentiful rounds of toast, before your choice of a full breakfast. Very nice indeed, and very filling!! Javed is always around to make sure you've got everything you need, a great host.

All in all I would highly recommend Strathness House, and we will be back if/when we return to Inverness next time!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KDUK1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

On a nine day touring holiday in Scotland, this was one of the best places we stayed. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, either on the premises or very nearby and all of the staff we met were helpful and friendly.

The staff were great when my partner lost her handbag. Joan immediately helped us by phoning the places we had visited and also making the police report for us. On finding that we had left the bag at a cafe far away, Joan suggested what turned out to be a very good place to eat on the way back and thus turned what could have been a very bad day for us back into a good one.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, SA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We have absolutely nothing to complain about. Inverness is a good destination and Strathness House is everything we hoped it would be.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing