We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief, but enjoyable stay in Inverness”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #18 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brief, but enjoyable stay in Inverness”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Strathness House was a pre-planned one night stay in Inverness during a drive through the northern highlands of Scotland. Our comfortable room looked out over the tree-lined river with views of a castle and cathedral on the other side. A wide selection of restaurants were within a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in a very convenient and scenic area of Inverness with historic buildings, churches, the Ness River, and beautiful scenery, especially at night. The owners, Joan and Javed, were gracious and accommodating with many helpful suggestions about restaurants, shopping, and the local area. We had no trouble parking our car close to the hotel. Breakfast dining was satisfactory with pleasant and efficient service. We would certainly recommend Strathness House based on our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
223
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very nice B&B overlooking the River Ness. Great location to visit the city itself and to go around Lochness Lake.The owner and his wife were very helpful.They gave us tips where to eat & where to go.The room is nicely decorated in a lovely old scottish style and with a very modern shower room, free internet access and T.V. All the rooms are non-smoking, which is great.What to say about breakfast? Just excellent. It consists of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, tea and coffee & a full cooked scottish breakfast. See photos attached. I definitely recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Previous reviews led us to stay here as a convenient intown location. Not quite sure why reviewers were THAT positive. The place suffers from the "Highland Hotel Syndrome".....rooms rendered impossible by the need to squeeze in the now mandatory "en suite". This case a shower stall small enough to ensure feet stay unwashed..but in truth a pleasant bathroom. The room itself??? I think my grandmother did the decor (she would be 140+ by now) Bulbs so dim rendered useless by shades purely from a Victoria era. Heavy quilts of similar vintage. Totally unsuited for business traveller or even the once a day laptop user. Nowhere to sit, internet that crashed every few minutes and room phones that would not work. Lot of posted "rules" reminiscent of miserly Scottish landladies of bygone times. Recent road changes have robbed the place of parking even to offload and all parking is paid during business hours. Room with a river view? Another casualty of the en suite conversion. Great breakfast though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Wow ! what negativity from a man who never stopped asking questions and continually seeking ways to annoy everyone that came in contact with him. I think he failed to see that we were trying to be helpful to all his needs and demands, of which there were many.
What is “Highland Hotel Syndrome “, should I take this as an insult or compliment?
Shower cubicle is of an acceptable size (is larger than the recommended size). The reason that this, difficult to please guest, did not seem to get his feet washed, was that he was touching on the overly obese side.
I am unsure what was wrong with the decor, obviously it was not up to the standard he was expecting. It is perfectly fresh, very clean and unique. What has his “would be 140+ year old grandmother “, got to do with our decor?
Low energy bulbs are used in recognition or our commitment to energy saving targets. It is something that we all have to live with. Some guests will use their common sense and easily remove the “Victorian” shades or ask at reception if they could have a higher wattage bulb.
Quilts/ duvets are definitely not heavy, but are thick and light weighted for warmth and washability.
We have many Business travellers and others that use our internet, all of whom are very happy with the service we provide. Downloading of some unscrupulous websites are certainly blocked and the user will inevitably experience internet crashing. There also can be an issue if the hardware in some of the older laptops that have not been configured. This is a problem that we do come across from our visitors from the US.
In all honesty, our internal telephone system was not working as it should when this guest wanted to make a call to extend his (now 2 day overdue) car hire, from Glasgow airport.
We offered to call on his behalf, which was done for him. He has a cheek, mentioning the word “miserly”. He did not thank or offer to pay for our time and for the call that was done for him using our private telephone line. Our direct dial telephones in the bedrooms are there for the guest’s convenience and as a rule, guest houses do not have to give this service. Nowadays, everyone has mobile phones.
We do not have “Lot of posted rules”, we have a Directory of Services in each room, that informs our guests of some helpful information. Other than this we have mandatory information displayed that is required under Health & Safety and Fire Regulations.
Some form of “rules “are required in every area of our lives. If everyone is informed of boundaries, it leads to a harmonious life.
“Recent road changes”............ as we know it, there has been some diversions in place due to the works being carried out on the Flood Prevention programme, but we have not been robbed of parking. This guest was obviously too lazy to walk 100 metres at the most.
Incidentally parking is not a problem as there is a very good car park next to us and there is a very wide pavement outside our main door for you to drive onto to drop off your luggage.
We are all very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was my second visit to Strathness House, and it was as enjoyable as the first. We received a warm welcome, and lots of local information. The rooms are well equipped and immaculate. The breakfast room is bright and cheery, and the food was nicely served and very tasty. The lounge area is a lovely spacious room. Great location on the river and near the centre of town.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the river are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our second time at Strathness House and we will definitely return here on our next visit.

The hotel is conveniently situated for the city centre and is on the banks of the river with lovely views over the river and of the castle. There are many restaurants and bars nearby. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. There is plenty of drawer space for all your bits and pieces and ample wardrobe space with irong board and iron. Some hairdryers in some hotels can be underpowered but the ones in the rooms at Strathness House are very good.

The owners and staff are very friendly and we were both made very welcome on our arrival and throughout our stay. They are more than happy to suggest places to visit or to eat at and can answer your enquiries on the local areas very

The breakfast is very good with many choices. There is cereal, yogurts, fruit juices, cake, tea, coffee and fresh fruit available on the buffet table whereas toast, porridge, bacon, sausage, eggs etc are ordered at your table and cooked to your liking.

There is free wi-fi in the hotel which works very well.

Although the hotel does not have it's own parking there is penty of street parking near by and approx 50 metres down the road there is a public car park where it only costs £2 for 24 hours of parking. One tip is that if you arrive at the car park after 6 pm and you intend to be on the road again the next morning only put a couple of hours parking on as it is free between 6 pm and 8 am and you only need to cover the charge from 8 am to when you leave the car park.

When we return to Iverness, Strathness House will be our first choice to stay at.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at Strathness House. Our room overlooked the River Ness. Its location in the heart of Inverness is superb. Staff was friendly, accommodating and assisted with restaurant reservations. Room was clean and bathroom looked to be recently renovated. Breakfast was plentiful and good.

The double bed wasn't comfortable and springs could be heard snapping when we turned over in bed. The shower was a bit snug, we were banging elbows everywhere. And we couldn't see ourselves in the mirror over the sink without stooping (only 5'8"!). But these were minor annoyances that didn't affect our one-night stay very much, and are par for the course when staying in older buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaChatNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very friendly staff, gave us lots of tips about enjoying Inverness. Very clean room (should be a given with decent hotels but really isn't) which was a good size and had a great view of the river.

Breakfast the next day was very tasty, sausages in particular were outstanding.

Overal one of the best hotels I've stayed in and very good value for money. We will definitely stay again next time we're in Inverness.

Room Tip: River view us recommended. No lift so obviously bear that in mind but we were on the third floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyEng1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing