We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strathness House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redcliffe Hotel(Inverness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
327
113
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
113
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaved and joanthe riverguest houseb bno liftroom was a bit smallinverness castlestreet parkingthird floorfantastic locationcontinental breakfastshort walkbreakfast was excellenteden court theatrestayed one nighta lovely staycity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went to Inverness for a short week-end in the winter. We found this hotel online and we were not at all disappointed. The standard of accommodation lived up to the description and the reviews. The hotel has great views from many bedrooms and the breakfast room. The whole place is spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and there is very little traffic or other noise, even on a Saturday night. The heating system is very good and there is plenty of hot water. Very good shower. Well managed by the husband and wife owners who combine professionalism with genuine friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are very attractive.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandnmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel the end of January. We booked a superior room and were glad we did!

The staff are lovely, and the breakfast (continental this time of year) all you need.

The room was very nice, although the shower was almost too tiny for my husband to get into! The bathroom was quite large, so a larger shower would be nice. The bed was comfy, the room just the right size and temperature, and the view lovely.

All in all, a very nice hotel in Inverness!

Room Tip: A river view is well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casa_tyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This review is long long overdue, since we visited Strathness over a year ago, but if we are ever in Inverness again, we would pick this place in a heartbeat. The most wonderful part of this converted-mansion is its location. Situated right on the banks of River Ness, the hotel is walking distance from the train station, the bus stations, the Inverness Castle and all the famous markets and pubs in Inverness. Just walking along the banks of the river can make for a lovely evening.

The next best thing is how wonderfully pampered you feel when you get there. Joan welcomed us with a warm greeting when we arrived late in the evening and led us up to our room on the second floor. The rooms are quaint, cosy and beautiful. We did not have a room overlooking the river - but the view of the city rooftops was beautiful as well. Javed was a lovely host and helped us plan our trip to nearby Whiskey Breweries.The chef was a dear lady who brightened up our mornings with a lovely breakfast, and even packed us a delicious lunch (complete with a juice box and crisps) one day for us to carry when we were out hiking.

The third best thing are the beds - we have lived in hotels across the world, but rarely have we come across beds as comfortable as the ones in Strathness - we slept like babies!

After 2 days in Strathness, we weren't ready to leave and asked for an extension. Though they were booked out of double rooms, Javed helped us move into a single room with an extra bed- which, also, was very very comfortable.

Strathness still remains one of our favourite places to stay - can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Although we visited Scotland in the winter, the atmosphere and our welcome was warm and friendly at the Strathness House. When we got in that evening, we were met by Joan, a wonderful gal who co-owns the hotel with her spouse Javed, and were made to feel so welcome that we knew immediately that there would be a return trip here. Joan showed us to our room on the second floor of this castle-like structure, and we were treated to an immaculately clean room with a beautiful new en-suite bathroom. Everything was right about the room except that we were in the rear of the hotel but that mattered little as we were just inside to sleep and shower. We went back downstairs and Joan met with us and gave us the low-down on the town, including a number of restaurants which we ate at during our stay. Joan inquired whether we had any dietary or special requests for breakfast, and mentioning that my wife is vegan, she stated that she would whip up a perfect breakfast treat. That was no understatement! Her husband Javed met us in the morning with a splendid Scottish breakfast for me, and a fantastic assortment of greens, fruit and cereal for my wife. They could not do enough for us. They are a first class team and are two very perfect hosts. Brilliant effort and we WILL be back, if there are vacancies! Thank you both!

Room Tip: Because of the location on a quiet street, any room is a hit, if you don't go out much opt for a front suite with a view of Inverness castle.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NY-Hormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Couldn't have been better really. The house is in a good situation close to the river and the centre of town, with welcoming and informative proprietors, a comfy room with recently refurbished shower room and an excellent breakfast. Would certainly go back again and happy to recommend to others.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews