We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Inverness”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #19 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Inverness”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Strathness House during our honeymoon on our last night in Inverness and wish we could have stayed longer. The hospitality was fantastic as was the room and view (fantastic view overlooking the river). We had to leave for the airport very early in the morning so missed breakfast, but the owner graciously packed us a sack lunch to take with us. Next trip to Inverness we will definitely book with Strathness House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    109
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
218
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed a week ago at the Strathness house in Inverness and this hotel was one the best value during our tour of Scotland. We have been warmly greeted by the owner and our room was spotless, very quiet with a great view on the river Ness and the castle. The continental breakfast was plentiful. We could not ask for a better location nor a better room. We still hardly believe that we stayed in a such a nice hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It is a B&B, so of course don't have all service a bigger hotel full of stars would have, but the hospitality of the owners will make you forget it. In fact I enjoyed small hotels and B&Bs in Europe much more than bigger, branded hotels.

The rooms are good sized and have confortable beds, the decoration matches the style of the building, the location is great. My wife felt the heat insulation not as good as other hotels we visited in Europe, but it was perfect for me and my kids.

They don't have dinner, but I accepted their suggestion and loved "The Kitchen", in the same street.

The breakfast was delicious.

We loved Inverness and the surroundings, so we're sure we will return to Inverness ASAP, and will stay in Strathness House again, but for a few days next time to enjoy the city and the surroundings.

Room Tip: It seems any room is good, the street is very quiet at night, most rooms have view to the river or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettyhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Strathness House Guest House, for just one night, last weekend. A very warm welcome greeted us (after a long day shopping); our room (5) on the first floor was lovely, the bathrooms look very new (shower was great) and overall everything was spotless. A special mention for the bed - soooo very comfortable (as good as a Marriott), had a great night sleep. The room overlooks the river and is above the road but this didn't disturb us at all. Breakfast was good - mix of cereals, yoghurts and hot selection. The lady serving was very welcoming and efficient. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a double and a single bed, so great for a family. Lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivvy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We decided on an extra night away from home, after falling out over "diversions" we were on the point of going home when we popped in to see if there were any vacancies! Thankfully there was and we enjoyed a very comfortable night. The room was small but had great facilities so we were more than happy! Continental breakfast was perfect, with attentive staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRuncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night to visit relations. It was a good sized twin room with ensuite shower room. Very clean and well decorated. A lovely view of the river. Excellent location. Quiet but really handy for Even Court theatre and the city centre. Only £60 for two B&B. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDollive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went to Inverness for a short week-end in the winter. We found this hotel online and we were not at all disappointed. The standard of accommodation lived up to the description and the reviews. The hotel has great views from many bedrooms and the breakfast room. The whole place is spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and there is very little traffic or other noise, even on a Saturday night. The heating system is very good and there is plenty of hot water. Very good shower. Well managed by the husband and wife owners who combine professionalism with genuine friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandnmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing