We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #17 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First class experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked in advance and weren't disappointed. The owners made us feel really welcome and were very helpful throughout our 3 night stay. They even put perishable goods in their fridge for us to preserve it properly! Although the cathedral is right next door, we weren't disturbed by any bells even on the Sunday morning.

The location is great, overlooking the river, and a short walk into the town (shoud that be city?) and well place for a quick circuit along one side of the river and back up the other.

This is a lovely old Victorian building which has been carefully restored. There are limitations as to what can be done with such properties, so we didn't mind that the bathroom was rather limited for space. Plenty of space in the bedroom, lots of storage space, comfy beds, an excellent guest lounge overlooking the river, good breakfastsand staff who really did try to please. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank romper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    111
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
90
225
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Probably one of the best views from a Inverness hotel room, amazing river view.

Breakfast was excellent and cooked just as asked (like my bacon crispy). Rooms very clean, and service first rate.

The hotel is in a quiet location, but only a short walk into the town centre. Good location to be based if you want to drive to Loch Ness (about 20/25 minutes away).

My stay was 3 days late April/early May 2014.

Highly recommended. Do not think you will be able to find better in Inverness.

Room Tip: As for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMW1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The location is excelent, the rooms are very spacious and clean. Warm welcome from the owner, he is very eager to help and can give many tips on Scotland. The breakfast was also excelent. The only thing we didn't like very much was the shower, took us some time to figure out how to get a good flow, but did not diminish our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lygia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We found the guest house welcoming and in a nice location: it overlooks the river and is only a short walk into the town, but is far enough out of town to feel relaxed. We found the rooms and house nicely decorated and very comfortable, clean and homely. It was nice to have a guest lounge, which meant that you not limited to your room. The breakfast had a good choice of quality food.
The hosts work very hard to make the house welcoming and of a high quality.
Noting some previous reviews, I get the impression that some negative comments are due to some clients mistaking a guest house for a hotel eg lack of a lift, smaller rooms etc and to not having read the information available before booking: factors such as there being no lift or not accepting children under five, There's nothing wrong with that policy either, some guests want a quiet stay and those with chidren under five have plenty of choice for booking elsewhere.
We look forward to staying again and the guest house deserves a 5 star rating

Room Tip: Choose a river room as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here during a 4 day northern Scotland excursion as part of a 2 week jaunt around London, Ireland and Scotland. Strathness House was the nicest of all our stays, which included several Marriott stays. The property is impeccably kept, host very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area with great suggestions for dining. The breakfasts were plentiful and beds very comfortable. Couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: Ask for dining suggestions. The Kitchen and the Castle Tavern were just what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our third time at the Strathness - and never fails to impress!! Joan and Javed are the perfect hosts - nothing too much trouble! Rooms are spotlessly clean - great en-suites with shower you don't want to come out of!! Room overlooked the river - could sit all day and watch the world go by! Breakfast excellent - just waiting to book our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carola22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Strathness House for 2 nights this week, and we absolutely loved it! The room was very comfortable, quiet, beautifully decorated, and had a lovely view of the River Ness! Breakfast was wonderful, and Joan & Javed were extremely helpful with giving advice on where to visit in Scotland (we had a couple of days with flexible plans).

Joan was incredibly nice and welcoming upon arrival, even though we were a bit later than normal check-in hours (latest check in is at 2000 unless you've made other arrangements), and our GPS had routed us on the "Highland Tourist Route" from Stonehaven to Inverness (gorgeous drive, but a little hairy at times!).

Give yourself time to do the "Ness Walk" right outside of the B&B (we did the 3 mile loop, but there's a longer one too), it is seriously like walking in a Thomas Kinkade painting!

Check out time is at 10:30am, and the day we left we planned on taking a sleeper train from Inverness to London (9pm to 8am). Joan and Javed held our luggage while we explored for a few more hours, then let us hang out in their lounge room (gorgeously decorated, by the way!) until it was time to catch our train! We definitely appreciated that! We can't wait to come back some day. Loved it!!

Jeff and Jocelyn

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the River Ness. One of the most beautiful sights in Scotland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing