We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #18 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very friendly staff, nice and clean, good breakfast. Comfortable room.
Javed was VERY helpful and kind. He has a great empathy with guests (like us) who arrive with the blank faces of Strangers in a Strange Land, and explained the workings of the shower (a first for us in the Kingdom of Weird (to us) Plumbing!). He gave directions to several good pubs and restaurants, and was all around the definitive good inn-keeper, unobstrusive but available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraughtfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
223
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two night with Javed and Joan last week. They are fabulous hosts. Went well out of the way to help me and my daughters feel welcomed and comfortable. We spent 4 night in Inverness and wished we could have stayed there all 4 nights, unfortunately they were full and we had to move the last two nights. My daughters even spoke up about missing Javed and his hospitality. Highly recommended !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to reveiw your stay with us. We are also sorry that we were not able to accommodate you for 4 nights in Inverness. I do hope that you will return some day to the Highlands and especially Inverness. We would be delighted to welcome you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Spent one night during a quick trip through Scotland. Our room faced the river and it was peaceful, and beautiful. The staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was nice with several choices. Several good places to eat within walking distance. Was sad to only stay there one night. I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TexanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to review your short stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that maybe one day you can return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Springfield, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The best thing about this place was the staff. Joan and Javed (?) were very friendly and helpful. They made you feel looked after and cared about. I felt like I was visiting distant relatives, not staying at some stuffy hotel. Parking was no hassle -- we were very fortunate to always find a spot around the corner on the road even though there was a parking lot available that was close by. You could walk everywhere from the hotel. Although as an American, I was off-put by the name, The Hootenanny was a great place to have drinks and hear some Scottish music. We dined at the Mustard Seed -- also recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a less-expensive room and it was a little cramped, but it was fine for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your time for writing a review of your stay with us at Strathness House. We are pleased that you had a good experience during your stay.
A lot of potential guests can be a little worried about parking, but as you stated there was no problem. There are numerous options for parking and we are always here to help and advice.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

After checking out the options on TripAdvisor, we decided to try Strathness House. Wanting to economize on budget and yet stay in a nice place, we took one of their family rooms and asked for an extra foldable bed to house our family of four. The owner, Joan was very helpful to accommodate our needs including a last minute change of schedule. On our arrival, her husband, Javed was very warm and gave us an excellent run-down on all the best places to see and eat; we went to some of them and were not disappointed both on value and on cost. Besides all the high quality furniture, bedding and pillows, we had a room with a fantastic view of the Ness River. It's excellent location meant only a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go. I would definitely come back here again the next time I visit Inverness.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words and your time for reviewing your stay. We are delighted that your whole experience was good and that maybe one day you might return.
We are only pleased to advice and explain to guests on where to eat and what to see whilst they are in Inverness. It is important that your time here is spent well and that you leave with the good and happy memories. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Our room faced the river. It was so quiet, we could leave the window open at night. Joan, the innkeeper, was very nice and very helpful regarding dinner reservations. Many nice eating establishments within walking distance. The river has a lovely walking path on both sides.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivodina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and the lovely river walk. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely river and an especially lovely walk around it.
Altough the street is vibrant and busy during the day, in the evening it is peaceful and tranquil. Guests are always pleasantly surprised at the trasformation in the evening. It is especially nice that we can open the windows at night and hear the river ripple by.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night to have a quick look at Inverness. The hotel was a nice little place although upon arrival I was personally greeted by a very rude lady called Janet, I don't think she was a fan of Australians/Tourists? Although the manager made up for that by being a really nice guy. The room was spacious with a nice en-suite and comfy bed. The location was great really close to the city centre. Would recommend it although avoid the grumpy lady at reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LACHY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texavilla, Owner at Strathness House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Personally I found this reviewer to also be rude and demanding. At no time am I rude to my guests …unless they are rude to me and then it is not rudeness but being directive and standing my ground. I will not stand down if I feel that people are directly rude to me for no reason.
Firstly, these guests were exactly doing what they stated “a quick look “. This quick look was so quick that they did not listen for my correct name, nor did they take any attention to Javed being my husband and co-owner (they were not interested).
You only have to read at other reviewer’s comments and come to your own conclusions! All guests are welcomed, no matter what part of the world they are from.
Written by The Grumpy Lady at Reception!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing