We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #17 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a reservation at the last minute. We were extremely happy with the whole experience. The cleanliness of this hotel is exceptional as was the friendliness of the staff and quality of the breakfasts. The hotel is in an excellent location overlooking the river Ness, very close to the city centre, across the road from Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre. The hotel doesn't have a car park but next to the Cathedral is a pay and display car park where up to 24 hours stay only costs £2 if you cannot get parked on the street. We are keen to return to visit our family in Inverness and will definitely be lookng to book here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beastie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    110
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
219
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kirkwall
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Loved everything about Strathness. Location perfect - peaceful setting - central - not much traffic noise - late night revellers none existent. Perfect for two senior citizens from the islands. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikingislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We loved this hotel. It's right on the river Ness & is in easy walking distance over the bridge for the town & the Castle. The room we had was on the corner of the hotel so we had views of the river, the castle & the cathedral. What more could we wish for?
The room was nice & spacious & the bathroom was like brand new with a superb shower.
The hotel allowed us to park our motorbike at the rear of the hotel for peace of mind, which is always a nice touch.
The breakfast in the morning was great with a large selection of choice too.
I'll be back to this place again, with the same room too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubbytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We were two families from India who stayed at Strathness House recently. We enjoyed our stay immensely on account of the following:
1. The warmth and friendliness of the owners. They made us feel like we were in a home away from home!
2. Joan and Javed helped us plan our tour in and around Inverness so as to make the most of our time in this beautiful place.
3. Quaint atmosphere of the hotel with a great view of the River Ness.
4. Located close to the railway/bus station.

Thanks, Joan and Javed and keep up the great work you are doing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saugata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I must admit that I approached Strathness House with some trepidation. I wasn't sure what we were getting into by booking there, though they were highly rated on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to report that other travelers were correct, though. While this hotel is very basic in terms of appointments, it was absolutely wonderful.

We stayed in Room 2, with a view of the River Ness right outside our window. The room features an adequate double bed and a twin bed that was great for piling things on. The sheets and such are Holiday Inn type hotel fare. Clean and tidy. The wireless internet was fast and free.

The morning breakfast, included, was served up efficiently. Again, it was very basic, but everything was prepared to perfection. It was great to be able to order something hot off a menu instead of grazing from a buffet.

The biggest downer about the room was the tiny bathroom shower that faced a tall window. Luckily, there was a full window shade, but I almost forgot to lower it once. People standing on the sidewalk right outside would have no difficulty seeing in. Plus, there were really no toiletries provided, other than some dubious shampoo and soap, and no hair dryer in the room. I recommend bringing those things if that matters to you.

We were able to walk easily from the train station to this hotel, and we even walked to the EuropeCar rental establishment on the fringe of town in about 15 minutes.

The staff couldn't have been lovelier, greeting us warmly every time we came in or went out, and inquiring about our explorations around the Highlands. They were both helpful and inquisitive without seeming nosy.

Strathness House is a great base from which to see the Scottish Highlands. We were minutes from exceptional hiking and other things to see and do. I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed here for work in June and couldn't fault it. The service was great as was the breakfast & the facilities were spotless. A lot better value than the two big hotels next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

A warm, caring and effusive welcome began our stay here. We were expected and greeted by name without introducing ourselves. We were offered a corner room with a view across the Ness River. It was one flight up (no lift). For anyone with difficulty walking, it's 20 steps to the first floor. We booked dinner that evening and had a delicious home cooked meal that pleased us both.
Our room had en suite stall shower and loo, very modern in this ancient building and sparkling clean. We had an unobstructed view of the river and the lovely buildings and castle on the other side of the river.
Service was great. We expressed a desire to have some real Aberdeenshire Angus Beef steaks for dinner and I had seen a place. The proprietor telephoned the restaurant (The Steak Academy) and was assured that they had the real thing. It was a great dinner.
Strathness House made our stay in Inverness comfortable and easy. We'll stay there again if we return.
Howard and Don

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing