We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality/price in a nice placed B&B”
Review of Strathness House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathness House
Ranked #17 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best quality/price in a nice placed B&B”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Wonderfully placed in front of the river, this beautiful house has a charming service/owners who made our stay very nice. The room weren't very big and luxurious, but they were confortable, very clean and had great views. They served a good breakfast, and despite they had no restaurant, they recommended us very good places to have dinner. I found some great details: the free wi-fi connection and the many games (scrabble, monopoly...) they had in the living-room, something perfect for families like ours.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    110
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
90
225
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were backpacking through Scotland and I booked this hotel beforehand. We arrived around noon, only to ask if we could drop off our bags in order to explore Inverness. Our room was already cleaned so we could settle in immediately. Our room was a bit small but more than comfortable for 2 persons. Everything was well cleaned and in order, including the bathroom.

We also spent some time in the ground floor lounge, where you'll find books in several languages and newspapers. Nice and comfy chairs and benches complete the picture.

Free wifi is also available throughout the hotel, even though I had connection problems on the top floor (using a mobile phone).

Breakfast was top-notch, serial and coffee/tea/juice are provided and if wanted you can order English breakfast and toast (included in price).

Propietors are very friendly, spent some time talking with both. Genuinely interested in where you're from and what you do. Even allowed us to leave our bags after checkout so we could visit the Inverness court.

In short: next time in Inverness, we'll also stay here !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jer0en_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

A super hotel right in the heart of Inverness, in a location very close to other much more expensive hotels. The building is hugely characterful, with a lovely shared lounge. The room was very clean with a modern shower room and views of the river. We found the owners to be very helpful and accommodating - would definitely go back if we were in Inverness again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellochristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolkersdorf im Weinviertel, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I had choosen this guesthouse for my group of 21 people and it was absolutely the right decision in every way. The location is ideal and the view out of most rooms onto the river Ness is magnificent. Joan and Javed are very caring, helpful and offer their help at any time.
Their breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very clean. Everyone of the group enjoyed our stay at Strathness House very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFF-Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolkersdorf im Weinviertel, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We (a group of 21) stayed for four nights. The rooms are very cozy. The brakfast is very nice. The people are very friendly. The nights are restful - no traffic noise etc. AND ist near the center with it's shops and pups with live music (Gellions, Hootananny ...).
We made trips to Loch Ness, Dornoch, Dunrobin Castle, Glenfiddich Distillery, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield and saw Highland Games...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaWi_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Me and my girlfriend had the pleasure of staying at Strathness House for three nights 26th-29th of july. The hotel is situated right on the river bank and in the city centre. We had a great view of the river and castle from our room. The room was spotless and looked very nice. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and served with a smile.

Overall this is a very nice and professional run place. The owners always welcomes you and ask how your day has been. It´s that sort of place were you feel welcome and right at home. They served us early breakfast and even printed out our flight tickets for us. Great place with a wonderful host and hostess!

Thomas & Gry

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Firstly the rating system is inadequate when it comes to this beautiful old tastefully decorated townhouse on the banks of the river ness. When it comes to Strathness you simply do not know where to begin. The hospitality is first class being introduced by the charming husband and wife couple 'Joan and Javed' whom own the guest house, you are made to feel most welcome in what feels like someones personal home. As mentioned the decor throughout the house and rooms are first class and feel that this is what royal highland aspire to be but still not quite got it right. My room (10) is a single and although small has been fitted out well to maximise space. One small downside is that there are no lifts and the stairs are steeper than you think. However if it were possible i would give this charming b&b the rate it really deserves ten out of ten on all areas. I was apprehensive choosing a test house as have been use to using royal highland but i am so glad i have chosen Strathness. When I return for my next break in Inverness this quaint charming and peaceful guest house will be my first choice. Thank you thank you thank you joan and javed for making my stay the most pleasurable time i have had out of my 3 visits so far to inverness.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanarkshiresBrettney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathness House

Property: Strathness House
Address: Ness Walk 4 Ardross Terrace | Next to St Andrew's Cathedral, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland (Formerly Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathness House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian terraced townhouse, set on the banks of the river Ness and overlooking the Inverness Castle. Strathness House is a family-run guest house with all the facilities of a small hotel. Of the twelve rooms, eight have beautiful river and castle views. Situated in a prime area of the city centre, it is the ideal place to stay in Inverness where emphasis is placed on the guest with the personal service that is given by the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Strathness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathness House Hotel Inverness
Strathness House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing