We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunhallin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunhallin House
Ranked #6 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here and from the minute of our arrival to leaving we were made to feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble. The room was ckean spacious and everything you could need. Breakfast was excellent more than you could want . The little extra touches like the whiskey in the hall for your bedtime drink was very welcome. Thank you Margaret and Sandy we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flirtyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your bedtime dram, we find this is very popular with our guests !!!!
With our best wishes
Sandy and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    40
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
222
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

What an absolute joy Margaret is, a most welcome cup of tea on arrival and nothing at all is a bother, especially for a couple of wet Aussies.Beautiful spacious and well set up B & B that everyone should endeavour to stay at.Our score 11 out of 10

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both , and would have been lovely if you could have stayed with us a bit longer. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Many thanks for taking the time to send a review. Sandy and I really appreciate it.
With best wishes
Margaret & Sandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent two nights here at B&B. Sandy made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. It is a fantastic place with spacious rooms, beautiful stairs, nice common area with plenty of books. Great breakfast with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try to make guests feel at home here at Dunhallin so hopefully you left feeling we had achieved just that. Glad you enjoyed breakfast, and had some time to relax with books in the lounge. If you ever make a return visit, it would be great to welcome you back to Dunhallin..
Many thanks
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Dunhallin House. We were warmly welcomed by Margaret and shown to our bright spacious room which was immaculately clean. Breakfast was excellent with good selection to suit all tastes and cooked to order. Location good, about 30 mins walk to city centre, under £5 for a taxi. Short drives to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle and Culloden Battlefield. We would definitely stay again if ever visiting the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Sandy and I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review on you time spent with us at Dunhallin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully may see you sometime again.
Thanking you,
Sandy and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wow is the best way to start this review. Dunhallin house is simply one of the best b&b's we have ever stayed in. Set in a quite location in Inverness- yet not too far from the town centre, we arrived to a very warm welcome from Margaret. She showed us our room and explained about breakfast. Had the impression nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was HUGE. A double bed and a single, two chairs, tv, DVD player, 3 wardrobes- real home from home. The en suite was spotless. No noise and had a perfect nights sleep.

Breakfast was delicious and had a range of fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cooked breakfast and porridge, have the porridge-the best I've ever had.

We were only disappointed with one thing...that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Sandy and I would like to thank you for the very generous review which you gave us. It means a lot to us that guests take the time to review Dunhallin.. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us . If you ever manage to come back hopefully you would be able to stay a bit longer and see more of our lovely country.
Thank you both again
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We loved our stay at the Dunhallin. The room was very clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast was delicious with more than you can eat. Margaret is the "picture of hospitality" and will make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceD975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Sandy and I are happy that you both enjoyed you stay with us here at Dunhallin . Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we try to offer guests a variety so there is something for everyone. Thank you again for your kind review.
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at Dunhallin Guest House for a week, it was the best guest house we have ever stayed in! The room was beautiful and a massive comfortable bed. The room was modern and very clean, all those little touches to make it a good stay like little complimentary shower gels, shampoo and soaps etc. Tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and soft fluffy pure white towels. Breakfast choice wide and all the food very tasty! Margaret was so warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble whenever we asked for help or information! I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Inverness and will be going back myself! Thank you Margaret and Sandy, and for all the laughs we had!

Room Tip: Ask for room one, it is the biggest room, with a TV area and sofa and the only room with a bath, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review. We are happy the you enjoyed your stay here with us at Dunhallin. I enjoyed our little chats each morning they always put a smile on my face. Sandy and I really appreciate people taking the time to write reviews. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhallin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhallin House

Property: Dunhallin House
Address: 164 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunhallin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunhallin House is a newly refurbished, child-free, 4-star guest house set in the heart of the city of Inverness. Our aim is to deliver exceptional service in comfortable and relaxing surroundings and to ensure our guests feel they are visiting a 'home from home'. Rooms are en-suite with TV, DVD player & hair dryer. Free internet access. A comfortable lounge is available with books, games and magazines. Ample off-street parking, drying facilities, locked cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunhallin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhallin House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing