We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful - couldn't have asked for more...”
Review of Lynver Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynver Guest House
Ranked #2 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful - couldn't have asked for more...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at Lynver Guest House during our stopover in Inverness during our tour of Scotland. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the beds were huge! I also appreciated such personal touches as the fresh milk in the room's private fridge and the fresh flowers. Our group had 3 rooms and each was equally as nice. I stayed in the upstairs room overlooking the road and had been concerned about noise as there was a loud crowd across the street that evening. Once I had closed the window it was completely quiet so I was able to get a great night’s sleep.

In the morning, Michelle provided a generous breakfast – and even brought in more when one of our travelers had even requested a particular item she had enjoyed.

I would definitely recommend Lynver Guest House to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
280
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed on the room on the ground floor, overlooking the road. We feared it might be noisy but the insulation is good so it was more than OK.
The room was very very nice, lots of space, a great choice of hot beverages, and a mini fridge into the bargain!
The bathroom was also very nice and spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect, within 10 minutes walk of the tiny but lovely Inverness city center.
Breakfast was very very good, with a lot of options.
And last but not least: the staff was very welcoming, and very helpful (they made several call to book a restaurant for us in the evening).
I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is a bit cheaper but still very very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goostrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We only stayed one night but will happily return again - loved everything about this guest house. . MIchelle and Brian provide everything you could possibly need and nothing is too much trouble for them - brilliant service all round. The bedroom was beautifully furnished, comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean with everything you could need, the en suite was also beautiful, and spotless. The breakfast was amazing, there is a huge variety of buffet breakfast, also traditional cooked fare. The house is situated just out of the town centre, which is within easy walking distance to all the shops/restaurants/pubs etc and of course the castle. I cannot praise the Lynver highly enough and would highly recommend it everyone. It is really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10dave52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I plus another couple stayed for two nights at this bed and breakfast, and we all rated it as a perfect experience. The house is spotless, and the breakfast was more than satisfying. Parking is off-street, and the house is within ten minutes walking distance from the downtown area. We are light sleepers, and the house is quiet, even by our standards. The hosts have thought of everything: an array of toiletries, magazines and books to read, and ready information, such as the nearest laundry that is within easy walking distance. We especially enjoyed long scenic walks, studying the beautiful river, historic buildings, and colorful gardens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here one night (which really wasnt long enough) while on a tour of the West coast. This guest house is better than most hotels we have stayed in. It is spotlessly clean throughout and beautifully furnished. Our bed was huge and very comfortable. The room also large, had everthing you could possibly need including iron and ironing board. There was a large selection of tea, coffee and biscuits. Even a small pouch of home made toffee that was a treat.
Our en suite was also large and very well stocked. Lots of attention to little details which make the house feel very luxurious and much more expensive than it is. Very good value for money.
There was something for everyone on the breakfast menu, buffet and cooked. The fruit bread topped with banana, cinnamon and maple syrup is the best breakfast I have had. My husband had the full scottish which he thoroughly enjoyed and as much coffee and toast as we wanted.
Michelle and Brian were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble for them. So well done to you both keep up the good work and we will definately be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our group of four stayed at Lynver Guest House in early June this year. The rooms were beautiful and so very comfortable while the hosts, Michelle and Brian, were most accommodating, particularly with their advice about where to go for dinner. The breakfast menu was extensive and the food when it arrived was well cooked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1667BUMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I spent a night at Lynver Guest House and it was without doubt the best night during our 3 week trip to the UK. Michelle and Brian were such kind hosts who were extremely kind and accomodating.

The rooms were unbelievably clean and well-furnished, not to mention spacious. The room was also so well decorated - the curtains and lamps gave the room such a posh feel. But the best part of the room had to be the bathroom, which was super clean and had a spacious bathroom. The beds were also big and comfy and my family I could not have enjoyed our stay there more. To top it all off, we had a scrumptious breakfast the next morning with an amazing spread! And it was definitely the most "value-for-money" compared to the other places we had stayed at throughout the 3 weeks.

I will definitely be making another trip to Inverness, and when I do, there's absolutely no doubt about the fact that I will choose to stay at Lynver again! Thank you so much Michelle and Brian for making our stay such a pleasant one!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynver Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynver Guest House

Property: Lynver Guest House
Address: 30 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynver Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynver is an individually designed spacious detached villa situated in a quiet residential area of Inverness. The guest house is within a 5 minute walk of the city centre and many popular restaurants and bars. 3 superking en-suite rooms are available, equipped with TV/DVD, wi-fi, hairdryer, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Off-street parking and secure garage for bikes/motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lynver Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynver Guest House Hotel Inverness
Lynver Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing