We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Personal Touch”
Review of St Ann's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Ann's House
Ranked #9 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great attention to detail by warm hosts Mary Anne and Bob Kenyon. An enjoyable and excellent place in which to stay. Of special note was: the welcome with local information; breakfast; the light and airy breakfast room looking out onto a beautiful garden; excellent free Wi-Fi; quiet position within walking distance of town.

Room Tip: My single room was small but comfortable and has its own separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit and I am pleased that we were able to help you make the most of your short time in Inverness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Bob and Mary Ann are really the best hosts ever, really real friendly and they where always happy to help us, giving us tips of what to do and see around town. I travel with my family and 4 years old son. The is free parking place and is a 7-8 minutes walking distance from the downtown, where Bob give us some recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast is superb, and is served in a room with a view of the beautiful garden. The rooms are nice and clean, there is a communal room where you can enjoy and meet the other guest of the house or simply sit in one of the cozy sofas and read your book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay . It is always pleasing to help families enjoy their vacation and we find that they return again and again. Some who have travelled originally with their parents have come back in later years with their friends. It will be some time before your son is in that position but I do hope and you will visit in the future. It was a real pleasure having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

St Annes is a home away from home. Warm, comfortable and clean, with wifi and TV. Bob and Mary Anne were lovely. Kind, helpful and full of good information. There was a much-needed cup of tea on arrival which means a lot to this traveller. Mary Anne's breakfast was absolutely delicious and eaten while overlooking their beautiful garden - what more could you want?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areyounot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

When you are on a journey it's always comforting to find a location where you feel at home and I am glad that we were able to do that for you. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Bob and Mary Ann are really the best hosts ever, really real friendly and they where always happy to help us, giving us tips of what to do and see around town.
I travel with my family and 2 years old son, so Bob offer to us warm the milk for the baby in the evenings.
The is free parking place and is a walking distance from the downtown, where Bob give us some recommendations for restaurants.
The breakfast is superb, and is served in a room with a view of the beautiful garden. The rooms are nice and clean, there is a communal room where you can enjoy a sherry liqueur and meet the other guest of the house or simply sit in one of the cozy sofas and read your book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay and I am pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. St Ann's is a child friendly house with travel cot supplied if necessary, baby food prepared when required and with ideas and recommendations to make your holiday special. Thank you and bring back your family anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In St. Ann's House I have enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere. My room and bathroom were really nice and the breakfast delicious, served in a room with a view to a lovely garden. Peaceful neighbourhood and walking distance to the city center as well as nearby resteaurants and folk music venue. Bob and Mary Anne were a great help to make my stay successful, I would like to come back again many times.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for response. We like to keep in touch with what is happening locally to give guests the best opportunity to experience the area. Inverness is one of the top cities for live music in its pubs, enhancing the visitor experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On arrival received a warm welcome. My room was comfortable and had good tv and wi-fi reception. Breakfast was excellent with a great variety of choices. Free parking and great location near city centre. Excellent hosts, I will be back next time I'm in Inverness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. St Ann's is a great location, as you say, with only a fifteen minute walk to the city centre and easy access for car drivers coming from the A9 or A82.Free unrestricted parking on the street is a bonus and in addition there a number of off-road parking bays at the house. The residents' lounge is an ideal place to catch up on e-mail or why not take your work into our conservatory area, where we can make a table available looking onto a stunning garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

In an industry as competitive as hospitality and catering its always extremely satisfying when you find something that exceeds expectations and rewards you with a real sense of value for money. After spending the summer traveling and working in various luxury villas in the south of France as a private chef, naturally expectations were high. I stayed for one night before completing my journey home to the west coast and after a long stressful day in various airports and buses I received a very warm welcome late at night. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated, the power shower was perfect for massaging my aches and pains after a very long day. Breakfast the next morning was simply perfect. Having stayed in various hotels throughout my summer around the £100 mark (single room), I have noticed breakfast seems to be somewhat forgotten about. We all know it's the most important meal of the day, emphasis on this is clearly delivered by Mary Anne and Bob. I was welcomed with a stunning view of the immaculate garden on a glorious day with the sunshine reflecting of the pond. The birds in the garden provided the perfect background music! As for the food, there is a wonderful display of seasonal fruit, washed, peeled, cut as required. A wide selection of cereals, muesli and porridge cooked to order (not left in a pan all morning!) also fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee. An interesting selection of breads, pancakes and wonderful homemade jam along with various yoghurts. Bob's wonderful Scottish smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and full Scottish breakfast add another sense of exceptional hospitality at a very reasonable price. All this begs the question why would you stay in a hotel and be treated as a number and not as a friend? Thanks again for the perfect stay to end my wonderful summer, see you soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chef231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anns H, Owner at St Ann's House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

It is always extra satisfying when we receive such a complimentary review from a highly experienced person in the hospitality industry. In my many and varied travels, staying in accommodation ranging from some of the world's top hotels to local guest houses I have always felt that they way you are treated at breakfast lays down a marker for the guest. We have tried to replicate some of the best elements of some fabulous breakfasts. we have experienced.
Local produce is always high on the agenda with eggs from a west coast croft and black pudding from the artisan producer Ritchies of Aultbea . Our continental buffet of cheeses and meats along with various breads are well appreciated as are the ever changing fruit platters. There is such a wide choice of breakfasts I am sure we will see you again when you can try something different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#10 of 232 in Inverness
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's House

Address: 37 Harrowden Road, Inverness IV3 5QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £84 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ann's House, in Inverness, the capital of the Scottish Highlands is ideally placed to explore historic and scenic sites. It is five minutes walk from the River Ness with its restaurants and pubs. The house is a twenty minute drive from legendary Loch Ness. The owners are delighted to help you plan your trips, making the most of your holiday. Relax in the residents' lounge, catch up with home using free w-fi. Breakfast is served in a bright dining room looking onto the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your St Ann's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann's House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing