We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, friendly place to stay>”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryeford Guest House
Ranked #122 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely, friendly place to stay>”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just returned from our second short stay at Ryeford. The house is large, warm and very welcoming with beautiful furniture and decor. There's a large, friendly lounge with a huge settee and chairs, a chess set , lots of books and magazines etc. The bedrooms warm and comfy with excellent beds and very good en suite facilities. An excellent breakfast is served in a large dining room and there is plenty of choice. The house is adorned with an amazing collection of wonderful teddy bears which are all over! We haven't yet counted them! The owners welcome you and see you on your way as if you were long time friends! SUPERB. We will return all being well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
39
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had a different experience than other reviewers; we would never go back. As we left in the morning, George hit my partner’s backpack with his walking stick, and chased me out of the B+B - he was upset that we had daypacks on. We travel and hike extensively, and are very aware of our packs; we move carefully and did not bump anything, but that was his concern. Also, the room was very small with no room to move around, and the carpet in the hall was damaged and the floor boards exposed in the hall. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Klarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Nice located hotel on the top of the hill looking over the bay. Freindly Landlord, good breakfast and nice rooms

Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BengtO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel, but we traveled with 2 adults, 2 seniors, and 1 11 yr old child. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, en-suite. The 3 bed room was amazing. Difficult to drive to, but easy to walk from to get around town. A very good nights sleep. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCubsDevotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

This was really a great place. I stayed there three days in early June '09 with in a triple. The room wasn't huge but it wasn't small either. Finding the Ryeford was a bit difficult but that was more of in Inverness street sign issue than a Ryeford issue. It's in a great location, just a quick walk to the end of the block and down some stairs to get to the action. It's far enough away that you don't hear the busy street noise, however. Breakfast was quite hearty, but some fresh fruit options would have been nice in my opinion. George and Joan were great folks, quick helpful in getting us acquainted with the area as well as attending to our needs. Parking can be a bit of an issue as there is no specific parking reserved for Ryeford Guests. Guests are, however, provided with a city parking permit so they can park on the street. Just don't return too late or you may have trouble finding a convenient space! Again, not a fault of the Ryeford and they make the best of the situation for you. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Ryeford. They provided a great service, particularly given the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berg1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Joan and George Anderson have made such an effort to make you feel at home. Delicious breakfast, lovely rooms and excellent location. Walking distance from everywhere. An oasis after walking the Great Glen Way!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Just come home from a stay at this excellent 4 star b&b. It was a very well located base as you are only minutes from the high street. The room was quite large as was the en suite off the bedroom. Wonderful view of the Moray Firth from the window. Beds were extremely comfortable. We felt very much at home and the resident's lounge was very good and we were actively encouraged to use it by the owners. Our breakfast was also very good with lots of choice and the produce of very good quality. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Inverness for however long. It has many regulars who return again and again as verified by the comments book. Well done George, Josan and all their staff for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Edsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverness City Suites
Inverness City Suites
#6 of 48 in Inverness
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#43 of 231 in Inverness
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#217 of 231 in Inverness
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Crown Hotel Guesthouse
#151 of 231 in Inverness
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryeford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryeford Guest House

Property: Ryeford Guest House
Address: 21 Ardconnel Terrace, Inverness IV2 3AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ryeford Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing