We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Ranked #181 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We recently stayed at the Crown Guest House in Inverness for a couple of nights. When we arrived, there was a note telling us to go down the street to get someone who had the key to let us in. That was a bit disappointing and frustrating after carrying luggage up many steps to Ardconnel Street. After finding the lady to let us in, (turns out she was the mother of the person who owns the Crown Guest House) we found ourselves struggling up many more flights of stairs to the very top floor of the guest house. Our room was clean and large enough, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom, however, was very tiny and the sink was barely large enough to wash your hands in. We only met the owner of the guest house by chance one day for a minute on her way out the dor. Seemed friendly enough. The lady who takes care of the guest house, Sue, was very kind, pleasant and friendly and loved to carry on a conversation. She was so busy, though, with the cleaning, serving breakfast, etc. that she didn't have a lot of time to mingle with the guests. The breakfast area was very nice and the choice was excellent. Enjoy either a full cooked breakfast or just cereal, fruit, etc.- it is your choice and Sue eagerly and happily prepares it for you. The Guest House is only about a three minute walk to the center of the town. However, there are a lot of steps to climb down to get there so if you are not in fairly good physical shape, you might want to call a taxi. Overall, the Guest House was adequate and Sue was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFCDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Crown Hotel Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

The room was clean, only an advice to the close bathroom. All beds, including the spare bed, were comfortable.

Elegant service during breakfast. Breakfast was good.

Reccomended also to the position (3 minutes to the main central street) and possibility to free-park the car just in front of the door!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdivicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We are back from a wonderful week in Scotland. Our favorite stop was Inverness and our favorite B&B was the Crown Guest House on Ardconnel Street. The room was large, comfortable and bright. It was within easy walking distance of the city center and the River Ness walks. The service was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ample and delicious.

Thank shhhwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The woman who greeted us was so friendly and welcoming even though we arrived later than expected. The rooms were beautiful, clean and fresh. Breakfast was good too.

Minor downsides: on-street parking was difficult to find; no counter space in bathroom.

Overall, a really great place that I would go back to. It is up on a hill so walking down to Inverness city center might not be something you want to plan to do but it is a short drive down there. It seems like there are zillions of B&B in Inverness, but this one was perhaps the best we visited in Scotland on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jatex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

My wife, son and I had never been to Inverness before, and of course were a little apprehensive about finding the Crown Hotel Guesthouse. We flew Easyjet (highly recommend) from London to Inverness Intl. Airport and took the bus (very convenient and cheap) to downtown Inverness (bus stops close to the train station). From there it was less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel, where we received a friendly welcome from our host Gordon. The hotel is on Ardconnel St. which is right above the main business district. Inverness itself is bisected by the river Ness, and you can walk to most places within 10-15 minutes.

Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was more than we could eat, but we tried. I would remind travelers that UK bathrooms are smallish compared to the US, but they are functional. Also, the sun rises around 4 am and doesn't set until around 11 pm in the summertime in Inverness.

We stayed only 2 days (wish we would have stayed longer) and Gordon recommended restaurants and things to see and do. We did the Jacobite Boat Tour of Loch Ness (very nice), shopped on the High St., and walked around the town seeing the sights.

I would not hesitate to stay with Gordon and his family at The Crown Hotel Guesthouse in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmsmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We spent two nights at the Crown and we felt very good. The room was very big and the breakfast was huge and well cooked (my wife says that it was the best porridge we had in Scotland). The only negative remarks was the lack of a real wardrobe in our room (there was one but very small and thin) and the bathroom that was quite small and with the washing basin outside it and close to the beds (but the bathroom was indeed vey clean). The people were extremely friendly and helpful (probably the most we have seen in Scotland, that has an average of friendlyness and helpfulness superior than the average in the world). The location was great (less than five minutes from the castle and the town center with the walking area). We will be back for sure in a next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We travelled to Inverness during the last week of July 2008 and stayed in 2 separate rooms (2 adults in each room at the rate of Stg28pppn). The rooms are not large, but they are very comfortable with ensuite amenities and fitted carpets. The twin room I stayed in has a shower and WC, but the sink is in the bedroom itself, next to the door of the bathroom. The other double bedroom has a fairly large ensuite bathroom with a bath (which still has a showerhead). Each room has coffee/tea making facilities with biscuits and good sweets! A hairdryer is also provided.

The building does not include a lift so it is advised to keep your luggage size to a minimum if you are staying on the second floor...but after all, it is only the arrival day and the departure day that you would need to handle your luggage! The location of the B&B is within easy walk from the bus/coach station and the train station. But again, you would need to carry your luggage a flight of public steps or else one could take a longer route (but you would only learn that route after a couple of days you are there!). Alternatively, if you have a heavy luggage a taxi ride is value for money! We didn't have huge luggage and we made it on foot perfectly well. For the rest of the holiday the location of the B&B is great for walks to the city or along the River Ness.

The breakfast is served between 8am and 9am. It is abundant but still delicious, with a full Scottish breakfast, fresh fruits, yoghurts, juices, etc. The food products are really chosen well: the sausages and the bacon are really good, and I haven't seen for ages an egg yolk which is so orange in colour! If the breakfast is taken at around 9am, one is likely to skip lunch altogether or else be happy with a light snack.

Overall the stay was great and the weather was fantastic. Inverness is a good location for visiting Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands. I drove in a foreign country for the first time and I found it easy. Cars could be rented from an Office within the train station, just on the LHS when you enter from Academy Street. Since we rented the car for 1 day only, we didn't have any parking problems. But there is a parking area (against payment) just opposite the B&B. You would need to ask the owner directly as he might have a parking permit available for direct parking on the street in front of B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RaphaelGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkhill Guest House
Parkhill Guest House
#147 of 232 in Inverness
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fraser House
Fraser House
#75 of 232 in Inverness
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#13 of 232 in Inverness
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#218 of 232 in Inverness
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel Guesthouse

Address: 19 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Hotel Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful guesthouse just 5 minutes walk from Inverness city centre. Set in a quiet neighbourhood. Ideal for guests who want a quiet night's sleep, but also want to be close to Inverness castle and bus and train station. The guesthouse has a gorgeous dining room, where a fully cooked breakfast is served along with a continental buffet. During winter, we will only be serving a continental breakfast. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and excellent customer service, so you know that you are in for a great experience. Our rooms are clean, and fresh towels and linen are provided to all new guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing