We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely First Class”
Review of The Gatehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gatehouse
Ranked #47 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Could not possibly ask more of a bed and breakfast - I have stayed in hotels, paying a lot more and received much poorer service and facilities.
Stayed 2 nights in the twin room - spacious, sparkling clean and VERY comfortable. En-suite was a pleasure to use - beautifully fitted out. Good hospitality tray and always an offer of fresh milk.
The room was large and warm - wonderful on a cold, May weekend and the beds were superb - even facing on to the street we both slept like logs - traffic noise no problem..
The breakfast was delicious - nice choice of juices, yogurts, fruit and cereals; followed by the tastiest cooked option I have been served in a long time - the sausages are to die for! You can pre-order a croissant option - we didn't - the cooked breakfast was too good to miss. My Mum had the scrambled eggs and they were 'cooked to perfection'.
Our hosts were friendly and more than helpful without being too pushy - advised on eating places, parking in town and researched a day out option for us on their computer. We did not ask for any further assistance but were well aware it was available if we wanted it.
Ignore negative comments - this is easily the best B&B I have stayed in and I would recommend it 100%. Caroline also has a job outside the house and therefore has to be organised - a big difference to the unfriendly / too quick to clean comment - that is just nonsense.
Less than 5 min, easy drive into town - I would imagine it would be about a 10-15 min walk
The Gatehouse may be rated 4 * - but it is definitely a 5* experience at a very reasonable price. While the pictures on- line look good they do not do the standard of finish justice - try The Gatehouse out you will not be disappointed. I will definitely be back
Thank you for a wonderful break

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    28
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
66
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Nice, cosy and large bedroom. Mrs Caroline,very friendly and kind served everything we asked for. short walking distance to center of the city. Quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at quite short notice and were blown away with the overall standard, everything was fabulous. Ranald and Caroline are very friendly and welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. The room was one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in - we were both so impressed. The decor was lovely, the bathroom was very modern and clearly just renovated. My husband said the bed was one of the comfiest he'd ever slept in! I loved the 'homely' feel in the guest house and everything was spotless. Breakfast was perfect, exactly what we wanted and I would recommend The Gate House to anyone visiting Inverness. I wouldn't fault Ranald and Caroline for anything and will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This guest house was an absolute pleasure to stay at. Impeccably clean throughout, a great hostess, comfortable bed, great bathroom and superb breakfast. A true delight and would not think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Gatehouse is a very attractive stone built villa approx 15m walk from Inverness Town Centre.
We were in room 2 which was spotless & luxurious, (although the en suite was a little small). The bed was very comfortable with lovely clean bedding.
Caroline & Ranold were friendly without being too 'in your face'. The breakfast was very nice, freshly prepared and a nice portion.
Overall, one of the nicest B&B we have visited and one we would definately re-visit when back up in Inverness.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Beautiful house; real friendly welcome; top quality accommodation; glorious food!
10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This place is outstanding! So clean and friendly. We were lucky enough to get a room by just turning up but I think that's rare. Great location, lovely owners, fantastic breakfast, great value for money. Ignore the negative nonsense others have put about this place. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#37 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furan Guest House
Furan Guest House
#38 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
#64 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#49 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gatehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatehouse

Property: The Gatehouse
Address: 80 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gatehouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gatehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gatehouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing