We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
730
55
10
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
55
10
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsval and paulthe riverloch nessfriendly couplelittle extrascity centregreat hostsfresh fruitcooked breakfasthome from homebreakfast was excellentroom was spotlessfull scottish breakfastoff street parkingscotlandaccommodationsherry
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Definitely THE place to stay at when visiting Inverness!!! The hosts (Paul and Val) are such nice people and will make you feel very welcomed.The place has its own parking lot, which is very convenient if you are driving. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you can think of. Very complete breakfast buffet also.

Room Tip: Avoid booking room number 1, for it faces the road, which at times (specially early in the mornings), can be a bit noisy. Other than that, this place is a first class guest house.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review although we are sorry you felt room 1 at the front of the house was a bit noisy in the mornings....if you had advised us whilst you were staying here we could have moved you to another room at the back of the house which may have been more peaceful for you....the A82 is a busy road at peak times which is first thing in the morning between 8.80am-9.30am and late afternoon from 4pm-6pm...we hope you will return again in the future and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are on a road trip through the Scottish Highlands and the Lake Country. The Avalon was the first B&B we visited... They set the standard high. Location is conveniently within walking distance to the town and the Avalon has parking so we opted for the exercise. The room was spacious and Val has done a great job of decorating. There was complimentary sherry in the room and all the amenities one could want were available. Bed was comfortable, even for my very tall husband! Breakfast was what we believe to be the typical full Scottish breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, and toast. How do they manage? It was delicious and Paul was a genial host. We thoroughly enjoyed our introduction to Scottish hospitality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon Guest House.
We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in Scotland and hopefully will return again in the future

Kind Regards to you both
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

the guest house avalon was our first stop in scotland... it was a wunderfull start of our journey. we appreciated the great hospitality, the very helpfull tipps about the area and the wunderfull scottish breakfast... thank again to val and paul!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cécile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much Cecile for your kind review Paul and I are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us...we hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Appreciated the off street parking. Very clean, cheerful room. The breakfast was excellent with great coffee. Val recommended a restaurant in town,Cafe 27,and suggested we walk into town along the river Ness. Glad we did. Pleasant 25 minute walk and driving would not have been fun with one way streets and looking for parking.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fdp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review...we are so glad you enjoyed our restaurant recommendation Number 27 we have to agree the food is excellent there.... also the walk along the river into the city is beautiful and much more pleasant than walking the main road....We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope you may return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Val and Paul went out of their way to accommodate us in every way. We highly recommend Avalon Guest house in Inverness. This was the only place that gave us a wash cloth! The breakfast served was excellent. Kudos to Avalon Guest House!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope that you may return again in the future.
Hope the rest of your holiday went well
Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews